Australia: An ongoing review of the consolidation regime - Adjusting Consolidation, Again

Tax Brief
Last Updated: 1 November 2012
Article by Richard Hendriks

The Board of Taxation has released another Discussion Paper in its ongoing review of the consolidation regime. One special focus of this paper is the way liabilities are handled on entry into, and exit from, a consolidated group. This Tax Brief outlines the issues that the Board is examining and some of the implications of the Board's reform proposals for the future.

1. Background

During the last 3 years, work on reforms to consolidation has been happening in several projects.

In 2009, the government asked the Board of Taxation to undertake a postimplementation review of the consolidation system. The Board decided to focus on three issues: the single entity rule, the entry history rule and the interaction between consolidation and the rest of the tax law. The Board circulated a Discussion Paper in late 2009 and held consultation meetings in early 2010. A Position Paper was released in late 2010 and further consultations occurred. The Board's report on these topics was delivered to the government in June 2012 but has not yet been released to the public.

Meanwhile, in March 2011, the government asked the Board to revisit the rights to future income amendments which had been enacted in June 2010 (without the benefit of any prior review by the Board). The Board's report in May 2011 led to changes to the rights to future income rules which were enacted in June 2012 (see our Tax Briefs at and

The Board's May 2011 report also recommended that the government examine further the treatment of liabilities and caps on the cost setting process. In November 2011, the government announced it would proceed with those recommendations. The current Discussion Paper arises from that project and deals principally with the treatment of liabilities on entry into, and exit from, a consolidated group, and some other aspects of the tax cost setting process.

The Assistant Treasurer's Press Release in November 2011 announced a third proposal – this time for 'changes to the operation of the taxation of financial arrangements (TOFA) rules for consolidated groups ... [to ensure] that, for consolidated groups, the TOFA Stages 3 & 4 provisions operate as intended and that the tax treatment of financial arrangements that are liabilities is appropriate.' Those amendments were enacted in June 2012 (see our Tax Briefs at and It was not clear at the time just how this third project – about liabilities that were also TOFA financial arrangements – related to the wider review of all liabilities, which was being announced at the same time.

2. The problems

The Discussion Paper examines a collection of discrete problems. Most of the Paper focuses on the treatment of liabilities on entering a group although some other issues are also addressed.

2.1 Deductible liabilities that enter a group

According to the Board's Paper, the current rules for handling the liabilities of subsidiary members that join a consolidated group disclose a number of problems. The Paper notes that the tax cost of liabilities owed by a subsidiary member is not generally reset at the time of entry, and this can lead to doublecounting and to an inaccurate tax outcome, when compared to the commercial result. Liabilities raise two problems that have to be managed: ensuring symmetry of treatment between sellers and buyers, and preventing doublecounting by buyers – ie, ensuring that the same amount is not both added to the cost of assets and then separately claimed as a tax deduction on settlement. Although the demonstration of these points in the Paper leaves something to be desired, it is indisputable that the relevant rules are difficult and obscure.

The Paper proposes four possible alternative ways of remedying the problems:

  • deeming all deductible liabilities to be assumed by the head entity at their accounting value, at the time a subsidiary member joins a consolidated group;
  • denying a deduction for deductible liabilities after the subsidiary member has joined the consolidated group;
  • disregarding deductible liabilities in calculating the tax cost of assets on entering a group; or
  • deeming the acquiring consolidated group to have realised a capital gain at the joining time equal to the amount of deductible liabilities entering the group.

2.2 Non-deductible liabilities that enter a group

The Paper then examines the special case of a deferred tax liability entering a group with a subsidiary member. Again, the Board takes the view that the current rules can lead to double-counting and in this case pose an integrity risk.

The solution proposed by the Board is to remove deferred tax liabilities as a component in the tax cost setting process for exit cases and entry cases.

2.3 Differing tax cost for liabilities

The Paper notes a third problem under the legislation. Where the amount of a liability would have to be recorded at a different figure when it appears in the accounts of the head entity, rather than those of the joining entity, the rules employ the revised amount in determining the tax cost setting amount.

The Paper proposes removing this adjustment largely on the basis that its original intent was to deal with deferred tax liabilities, and this issue would be dealt with by removing a deferred tax liability from the tax cost setting process.

2.4 Adjusting liabilities for timing differences

Another problem in the legislation arises from the attempt to handle the differing times at which an item might be recorded for tax and accounting purposes. Complex adjustments are required when a liability is taken into account earlier in the financial accounts than it is for tax purposes, and the impact of the timing difference is to change other elements in the cost setting calculation (typically, the entries dealing with pre-acquisition profits and losses).

Again, the Paper proposes removing this adjustment, but only in cases where the head entity is acquiring 100% of the subsidiary member. In staged acquisition cases, the adjustment may survive.

2.5 Which rules decide whether an asset or liability exists?

Under the current rules, the existence of a liability is determined by the requirements of the accounting standards – a liability is 'each thing that, in accordance with the joining entity's accounting principles for tax cost setting, is a liability of the joining entity.' On the other hand, as a result of amendments made in June this year, the tax cost is reset for anything that is an asset for tax law purposes. The ATO had previously issued a Ruling that an 'asset' was anything of commercial value, and would include both assets for tax purposes and assets recognised under accounting standards. The June 2012 amendments which confine 'asset' just to tax assets were made as a result of a recommendation in the Board's 2011 Report but it now appears that this has created, or at least exacerbated, the disjunction between the concepts of 'asset' and 'liability' in the consolidation context.

Some rules in consolidation link liabilities and assets, but the Paper is concerned about potential problems arising from the broader disjunction – that the liability may be recognised but not the associated asset and vice versa, because law and accounting differ in what they recognise. This kind of problem is, perhaps, to be expected given the equivocal reliance by tax law on using accounting standards.

The Paper proposes a tentative solution to this issue – to create a liability for tax purposes where an asset exists but no accounting liability, and to disregard the liability for tax purposes where no asset exists but an accounting liability does. The Paper asks for comments on this proposal.

2.6 Capping the tax cost setting amount

Under the current cost setting rules, when a subsidiary member joins a group, the cost of some of its assets is not reset, the cost of other assets is reset but capped (generally to the higher of cost and market value), and the cost of other assets is reset without an upper limit.

The Board had proposed in its 2011 Report that the tax cost of all reset assets should be capped at the higher of cost and market value, and where the head entity has paid a premium (ie, the available allocable cost exceeds the market value of the reset cost assets) the surplus should be treated as paid for goodwill, or else give rise to an immediate capital loss. The 2012 Paper repeats that proposal and solicits comments on it. (Not surprisingly, there is no proposal to remove CGT event L5 which happens where the converse situation arises).

2.7 Rollovers and other provisions

The last topic addressed in the Paper is the perennial problem of making the rest of the legislation work properly when one party to a transaction is a consolidated group. Rules that make sense in isolation will often not give full effect to the outcome that consolidation would imply.

The examples used in the Paper involve the CGT rollover rules which dictate that an acquirer inherits as its cost in shares the transferor's cost in the shares. While these provisions preserve the deferred tax not collected from the transferor and make it the acquirer's liability, the prescriptive nature of the rules means they will sometimes omit some of the other elements which the acquirer should be entitled to add when calculating its allocable cost amount. Similar problems can arise when the acquirer's cost is derived from the target's costs in its assets. A circular process seems to result – the acquirer uses the cost of the assets to derive the cost in the shares which is then pushed down as the cost of the assets.

The Paper proposes a range of discrete solutions to the miscellaneous problems identified but the discussion is principally directed at soliciting suggestions about how to handle the issue.

3. Some comments

Two taxpayers handling one liability asymmetrically. The issues surrounding the treatment of deductible liabilities on entering consolidation are not intractable, but the discussion of them in the Paper is confused and confusing.

Outside consolidation, when liabilities pass with an asset they are treated as additional proceeds for a seller (making any gain higher), and additional cost for a buyer (which will matter when the asset is sold). This treatment makes sense in a tax system where the seller's cost in an asset includes amounts it borrowed to acquire the asset, even though the seller hasn't yet repaid the debt.

The logic of the consolidation entry and exit calculations is intended to get to the same result, albeit in a different manner. When a seller sells a company with a liability in its accounts the seller is required to reduce its cost in the company by an amount representing the liability (ie, Step 4 in the exit calculation) (which has the same effect as adding an amount for the liability to the seller's proceeds) and the buyer acquires cost of an amount representing the liability (step 2 in the entry calculation) (which will matter when the asset is sold).

In the long term it should not matter to the government if the liability in the company is handled in this way or is simply disregarded for both parties, although the decision will clearly affect the time at which tax is collected (ie, more tax at time of sale of the company v. more tax at the time of the sale of the company's assets) and the division of the total tax debt between the parties.

Unfortunately, the discussion of how best to handle liabilities in the Paper is confused. The Paper uses a prolonged Example which is said to show a number of problems – 'the value of liabilities ... are not reset' and there is 'double recognition of liabilities' first by the vendor and then in the hands of the target. The Example does not demonstrate this. It shows – and is driven entirely by – asymmetrical treatment. In the Board's interpretation of the relevant provisions (provisions which are very difficult and may not always lead to the asserted treatment), the seller does not trigger a higher gain by being relieved of the liability, but the buyer does increase its costs by an amount for the liability arriving in the company. So it is not surprising that the Example shows a problem, but that problem is not a structural one – the problem is that the legislation does not execute a clear, consistent policy.

Double-counting liabilities, by the same taxpayer. On the other hand, there is a real 'double-counting' problem which requires a solution, but it is a problem that arises where the same amount is for the buyer both (i) cost in an asset and (ii) an allowable deduction. (Unfortunately, when the Paper talks about 'doublecounting' it is often describing the previous problem where both the buyer and seller are benefiting from the same liability.) But the real double-counting problem which requires a structural solution is the double counting that would happen if the same amount were treated for the buyer as both cost and a deduction.

The four solutions to this problem in the Paper are all complex and come at the issue rather obliquely. One would require tracking liabilities over time and another could trigger capital gains at the time of buying a company.

But the most obvious solution to the issue is a rule which, at the moment of consolidation, makes a demarcation and determines which parts of the amount paid by the buyer are to be treated as deduction and which go to cost. Again, this is not canvassed in the Paper.

Which liabilities will be affected? The Paper does not discuss how its proposals would fit with the very significant amendments made in June 2012 by Tax Laws Amendment (2012 Measures No 2) Act 2012. This Act introduced highly elaborate amendments adjusting the tax cost of liabilities that are financial arrangements governed by TOFA. Since most groups that have elected to consolidate will probably also be sufficiently large that they are obliged to apply TOFA to their financial arrangements, it is not obvious how the proposals in the Paper and the recent amendments are intended to fit.

4. Next steps

There is no indication in the Paper about the likely start date for the measures being canvassed – whether they will be back-dated or will be prospective only.

This is an important project and could well have significant impacts in merger and acquisition transactions. Greenwoods & Freehills has been engaged by the Board of Taxation to help its work on this project.

The Board is seeking submissions on the Paper by 12 October 2012. Greenwoods & Freehills is available to assist clients who wish to make a submission.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

Greenwoods & Freehills are the winners of the 2011 BRW Client Choice Awards.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.