Australia: You'll (Still) Feel Better on Swisse (Unless and Until the Complaints Resolution Panel Says Otherwise) - Health and Food Products – To What Extent Are Puffery and Claims About Health Benefits Permitted in Australian Advertisements?

Last Updated: 9 June 2012
Article by Jamie Nettleton


On Friday 25 May 2012, Tracey J of the Federal Court in Melbourne delivered his judgment in Swisse Vitamins Pty Ltd v The Complaints Resolution Panel1. The proceedings related to a decision by the Complaints Resolution Panel (the Panel) that advertisements published by Swisse Vitamins (Swisse) were in contravention of the Therapeutic Goods Administration Code (the Code).

In a decision dated 5 March 2012, the Panel had made requests that, first, Swisse withdraw these advertisements and, secondly, that Swisse withdraw a number of specific representations about its products (the Panel's Decision).

Whilst the Panel's Decision has been unavailable to the public since Swisse's successful application to the Federal Court on 9 March 2012 to have it removed from the Panel's website (and it has since been set aside by Tracey J), it is clear that the Panel has strong concerns in respect of advertisements which include claims which relate to:

  • the efficacy of a product;
  • comparisons of the use of the advertised product with use of a competing product;
  • the benefits of using the advertised product (when compared with no use of the product);
  • scientific testing of a product; or
  • research undertaken by the product's manufacturer.


The relevance of these proceedings is twofold. First, the Panel's Decision, although set aside, gives an indication as to how the Panel views claims made in advertisements for therapeutic products. Given the size and growth of the supplementary health products industry in Australia, worth an estimated $1.4bn after growing 7% in 2011 with Swisse itself reporting a 131% rise in net profit for the year ended June 20112, it is likely that the Panel's concerns about claims made in therapeutic goods advertisements will be of interest to the health and wellness industry, consumers and regulators alike.

Accordingly, the Panel's future consideration of complaints in respect of therapeutic goods advertisements has the potential to change the manner in which Swisse and any other company whose products are regulated by the Therapeutic Goods Act 1989 (Cth) (the Act) advertise their products.

It is also likely that regulators who deal with complaints relating to the advertisement of health related products which do not fall under the Panel's jurisdiction, for example, health foods, will also be interested in these proceedings and the Panel's Decision. This is particularly relevant given the growing enthusiasm of Australian consumers for health products generally and the often high-profile marketing campaigns used to promote such products.

Further, the strength of the Panel's concerns is emphasised by the fact that the Panel not only requested certain advertisements be withdrawn, but also that certain representations which are not necessarily specific to any particular advertisement, be withdrawn. Consideration of specific representations is likely to add an additional burden for marketers targeting health conscious consumers.


Two complaints were received by the Panel in late 2011. They related to a number of advertisements relating to Swisse's products (the Complaints). The Complaints were focused on:

  • Swisse's slogan "You'll feel better on Swisse" (the Slogan); and
  • Swisse's representations that its products had "proven results".

The Complaints alleged that Swisse had breached the following Code requirements:

  • an advertisement must only contain correct and balanced statements which the publisher has already verified3;
  • an advertisement must not be likely to arouse unwarranted and unrealistic expectations of product effectiveness4;
  • an advertisement must not be likely to mislead, directly or by implication through emphasis, comparisons, contrasts or omissions5;
  • an advertisement must not contain the claim that it is effective in all cases6; and
  • a comparative advertisement must be balanced and must not be misleading or likely to be misleading7.

The Therapeutic Goods Regulations 1990 (Cth) (the Regulations) required the Panel to consider the Complaints and decide whether they were justified. The Panel was also required to give notice of the complaints to the person allegedly responsible, and to invite this person to send written submissions to the Panel, along with any supporting documentation.

The Panel sent Swisse a copy of the Complaints, in addition to a letter setting out the Panel's powers under the Code. Swisse was invited to respond by making submissions.

Swisse sent the Panel a submission in which it "provided a detailed response to each of allegations contained in the complaints"8. Swisse's submission included:

  • a defence of its Slogan, submitting that the statement was branding or marketing speak. Swisse also denied any connection between the Slogan and the efficacy of the products;
  • a defence of its claim that some of its products were "clinically proven" by producing a series of reports on clinical trials; and
  • justification of its claim that its products were "based on over 25 years of research".

The Panel's Decision

The Panel found each of the advertisements which were subject of the Complaints breached one or more of the Code's provisions. The Panel requested that Swisse withdraw these advertisements and that Swisse withdraw specific representations in respect of 11 different products.

However, the Panel found that these breaches existed predominately due to specific representations not mentioned in the complaints. (It was these representations which the Panel requested be withdrawn.)

They included9:

  • the Women's Ulitvite product can improve the symptoms associated with PMS by 50 percent, in the absence of disclosure that a placebo reduced the same symptoms by 28.6% percent;
  • the Ultiboost Inner Balance product can maintain the balance of friendly flora in the body, help maintain a healthy digestive system, enhances the body's natural immune defence or is "scientifically shown to" do so, or is "one of the most potent probiotics products you can buy"; and
  • the Ultiboost Liver Detox can relieve feelings of "sluggishness", offer benefits to consumers who have drunk alcohol and support a healthy liver, detoxify, or relieve indigestion or bloating.

The Panel's responses to the main allegations in the Complaints are set out below.

"You'll feel better on Swisse"

The Panel found that the Slogan would be interpreted as "mere puffery" by a reasonable consumer where it was used in isolation and not in connection with individual products or specific claims of health benefits.

Importantly, however, the Panel considered that the Slogan was likely to cause a different impression if it were used in an advertisement alongside claims about product benefits which were unsubstantiated or misleading. In this context, the Slogan would also likely be unsubstantiated or misleading10. However, the Panel's reasoning in respect of this finding is unclear. We would suggest that the Slogan itself would not cease being puffery simply because it is used in the same advertisement as a claim about product benefits.

"Proven results"/ "Clinically proven"

The Panel found that Swisse had breached the requirement that an advertisement must only contain correct and balanced statements which the publisher has already verified in respect of its use of the term "clinically proven" in the advertisements for the Ultivite products. The Panel held that, whilst the study which Swisse had referred to could be regarded as evidence for claims about the Men's Ulitive product, the Panel noted that the small size of this study meant that it could not support claims as strong as "clinically proven"11.

However, it is unclear from the extracts of the Panel's Decision in Tracey J's judgement what size of a study is required to support claims such as "clinically proven".

Swisse initiated proceedings in the Federal Court to appeal the Panel's Decision.

The Federal Court Decision

Before the Federal Court, Swisse submitted that the Panel had made a series of adverse findings against Swisse without first giving Swisse the opportunity to respond to the relevant matters. Swisse submitted that this had occurred because the terms of the Complaints were not sufficiently clear to alert Swisse to the matters which the Panel was considering, or because the Panel had made adverse findings despite the relevant allegations not being made in the Complaints.12

Tracey J held that the Panel was required both by the Code and at common law to provide Swisse with notice of any critical issue on which Panel's decisions may turn13. Whilst the Panel has the power to deal with a matter that is not mentioned in a complaint if it is satisfied that the advertisement or generic information to which the complaint relates may contravene the Act, the Regulations or the Code in some other way, the Regulations require that the Panel gives written notice of its decision to do so to the person apparently responsible.14

Whilst the Panel had provided Swisse with copies of the complaints, Tracey J came to the view that the Panel's Decision in its entirety would have to be set aside, including the requests that Swisse withdraw the advertisements it had been provided with copies of, as the terms the Panel used to frame its requests inextricably linked all the requests, and the decisions antecedent to these requests, together.

To illustrate this linkage, Tracey J referred to the Panel's view that, whilst claims relating to the Slogan were not substantiated, the Slogan was likely to be misleading if used in conjunction with specific claims relating to the efficacy of a particular product. Accordingly, Tracey J held that all the requests made by the Panel should be set aside.


Whilst Swisse continued to advertise in a high profile manner throughout the proceedings, including in the period during which Tracey J's judgement was reserved (and Swisse emphasised this in a media release issued the day Tracey J's judgement was delivered15), Swisse's much published recent TV commercials featuring Delta Goodrem16, filmed in early May 201217, make few claims in respect of the Swisse Body range they are promoting. Instead, Swisse appears to be relying on little more than its product's association with Goodrem – a complete departure from the style of the claim-heavy, celebrity endorsed advertisements which are the subjects of the Complaints.18

It is unclear whether this departure is in response to the Panel's Decision. The fact that Swisse otherwise continued its advertising campaign in the same manner as it did prior to the proceedings suggest that this departure is not in response to the Panel's Decision.

However, the Panel's Decision can be taken as an indication of the Panel's future consideration of complaints as well as the Panel's attitude towards the advertisement of therapeutic products generally. Accordingly, Swisse, and any other company targeting health conscious consumers, may have to alter the manner in which they advertise by, for example:

  • ensuring that any claims about products are verified and are not misleading;
  • investing in further research to provide stronger support for their claims;
  • ensuring that any slogans they use would be considered mere marketing speak by consumers; and/or
  • relying on celebrity endorsements to market their products, without the celebrity voicing any claims about products, unless the claims are verified and are not misleading (or the claims are truthfully the personal opinion of the celebrity and are marketed as such).


1 2012] FCA 536 (Swisse).
2 Rebecca Urban, 'Swisse in the pink as vitamin group's profit sours', The Australian, 22 March 2012. Accessed via: on 7 June 2012.
3 S 4(1)(b) of the Therapeutic Goods Code (the Code).
4 S 4(2)(a) of the Code.
5 S 4(2)(c) of the Code.
6 S 4(2)(h) of the Code.
7 S 4(5) of the Code.
8 Swisse at 22.
9 Id at 31.
10 Id at 27.
11 Id at 28.
12 Id at 63.
13 Swisse, above n 14.
14 Reg 42ZCAH of the Regulations .
15 Swisse Vitamins Pty Ltd, "A welcome decision", 25 May 2012. Accessed via on 3 June 2012.
16 For example: Accessed on 3 June 2012.
17 Amy Christie and Joel Harris, "Delta Goodrem films new commercial for Swisse Vitamins at Sydney's Little Bay", The Daily Telegraph, 8 May 2012. Accessed via on 3 June 2012.
18 For example: Swisse at 39.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.