Australia: Courts Must Beware When Medical Opinions Are Split

Insurance & Health
Last Updated: 2 December 2010
Article by Robert Samut and Madeline O'Connor

Hawkesbury District Health Service Limited & Anor v Patricia Chaker [2010] NSWCA 320 (25 November 2010)

The Facts

In early 2003, Patricia Chaker was having problems with varicose veins in both legs. On 3 February 2003, she saw Dr Elizabeth Tompsett, general surgeon, who recommended surgery to treat the varicose veins.

Ms Chaker attended a second consultation with Dr Tompsett on 17 February 2003, bringing with her the results of a pre-operative ultrasound. The ultrasound revealed that she had saphenous disease affecting her left leg and pelvic venous reflux. [Pelvic venous reflux creates a veil or screen of veins across the area where a surgeon performs standard varicose vein surgery. When such veins are encountered during surgery, extensive dissections and ligations of veins are necessary for the surgeon to reach the major vein.]

On 13 May 2003, Dr Tompsett performed the operation at the Hawkesbury District Hospital.

On 15 September 2003, Ms Chaker attended a post-operative review with Dr Tompsett. She had suffered from a swollen and painful left leg for 4 weeks. Dr Tompsett referred her for an ultrasound of the leg. After a review on 29 September 2003, Dr Tompsett wrote to the respondent's GP and expressed concern about the claimant's swollen leg.

Ms Chaker's condition failed to improve. Dr Tompsett referred her to Dr Malouf, a general surgeon who specialised in vein problems and venous surgery. On 9 December 2003, Dr Malouf diagnosed the respondent with severe lymphoedema in the left leg. [Lymphoedema is a rare condition caused by a deficiency of the lymphatic drainage system, which results in tissue swelling. There is no known cure for this condition.]

The Issues

The trial judge identified the following issues to be resolved:

  1. The cause of Ms Chaker's lymphoedema and its relationship to the operation on 13 May 2003 (factual causation);
  2. Whether Dr Tompsett had breached her duty of care to the patient;
  3. If Dr Tompsett had breached her duty of care, whether this breach caused or materially contributed to Ms Chaker's lymphoedema (legal causation); and
  4. The appropriate award of damages under the Civil Liability Act 2002 (NSW).

The Decision at Trial

  1. His Honour rejected the defendant's expert evidence that Ms Chaker's lymphoedema had developed only 4 weeks before the consultation on 15 September 2003, and instead found that the condition had developed as a consequence of the operation. His Honour accordingly found that factual causation had been made out.
  2. His Honour held that Dr Tompsett had breached her duty of care – Dr Tompsett should have undertaken a full physical examination, which would have enabled her to diagnose pelvic venous reflux, and should have recommended that the patient obtain a second opinion.
    His Honour did not acknowledge Dr Tompsett's evidence that she had diagnosed Ms Chaker's pelvic venous reflux, but she did not consider that an operation on her legs – as opposed to her pelvic area – should be postponed, or that she should send Ms Chaker for a second opinion.
  3. His Honour held that Dr Tompsett's failure to diagnose Ms Chaker's pelvic venous reflux caused her to give incorrect advice about her treatment and meant that Ms Chaker was not referred for a second opinion – this led to Dr Tompsett performing an operation that was long and complicated and which increased the risk of damage to the respondent's deep lymphatic system. His Honour was satisfied that Dr Tompsett's breach of duty caused or materially contributed to Ms Chaker's lymphoedema.
  4. Judge Delaney found for Ms Chaker against Dr Tompsett in the sum of $345,690 plus costs.
    Dr Tompsett appealed.

The Decision of the New South Wales Court of Appeal

  1. The Court of Appeal held that the trial judge had made generalised conclusions on important factual issues without reference to actual evidence. These factual issues included when the onset of the swelling occurred, and whether it was likely, as a matter of science, that the operation caused the lymphoedema. The defendant's experts argued that it was extremely unlikely that the operation could have damaged the deep lymphatic system in Ms Chaker's legs at all, let alone to the extent necessary to cause lymphoedema. They thought the more likely cause to be a congenital condition known as Milroy's disease.
    The Court held that the trial judge should not have accepted the plaintiff's expert opinion without resolving the controversies raised by the evidence of the other experts. A retrial was ordered.
  2. The Court held that there was a considerable body of evidence that supported Dr Tompsett's treatment approach, i.e. proceeding with the surgery even where pelvic venous reflux was present.
    There were 2 schools of thought – the first school of thought was that the pelvic veins should be operated on first; the second school of thought was that the legs should be dealt with first and then pelvic vein surgery could be undertaken if it was still necessary.
    The Court found that the trial judge had not acknowledged the existence of the body of opinion that supported Dr Tompsett's approach. The Court held that the trial judge could not therefore conclude that Dr Tompsett had breached her duty of care.
  3. On the issue of legal causation, the Court of Appeal accepted that the operation Dr Tompsett performed was recognised by a substantial body of medical opinion as appropriate, even where pelvic venous reflux was present. Several experts agreed that they would have proceeded with the operation performed by Dr Tompsett.
    The trial judge also did not identify what advice or options would have been given to Ms Chaker had she been referred for a second opinion. Legal causation was therefore not made out. The Court concluded that the matter of legal causation also needed to be considered at a retrial.
  4. The Court highlighted that there is to be a spirit of co-operation between medical professionals and the courts. This is exemplified by the expert code of conduct, which has the primary purpose of ensuring evidence is given in a way that provides the judge with relevant expert material to enable him or her to properly decide a case. The Court criticised the trial judge's treatment of certain defendant witnesses as being contrary to the rationale and spirit of the expert code of conduct.
  5. The Court did not alter the trial judge's findings on quantum and held that when the matter proceeded to a retrial, the issue of damages should not be re-litigated.

The Claim Against the Hospital

  1. When the proceedings were commenced, the hospital was joined on the basis of a reference in the clinical notes to a person named "Drew". The claim referred to "Drew" as a doctor who assisted in the operation, when in actual fact "Drew" turned out to be a nurse. This reality did not come out until Dr Tompsett gave evidence at trial on 11 March 2008.
  2. The trial was then adjourned for the parties to make written submissions. Closing oral submissions were made on 20 October 2008. At that time, Ms Chaker's legal team accepted that given the true identity of "Drew", there was no evidence of negligence against the hospital. Ms Chaker discontinued the proceedings against it.
  3. The trial judge found that Ms Chaker should pay the hospital's costs until 14 March 2007 because she had not made proper enquiries as to the identify of "Drew".
  4. Ms Chaker's legal team sent a fax requesting details of "Drew's" identity on 13 March 2007. The hospital refused to provide these details. The trial judge considered that parties to litigation should take steps to ensure that all relevant parties to the dispute are aware of what the issues are and are to ensure that other parties are not proceeding on a misconception or a false assumption. Failure to clarify such issues is evidence of misconduct in the context of an order as to costs. Because of this, his Honour held that the hospital was not entitled to costs from 15 March 2007 to 11 March 2008.
  5. His Honour ordered Ms Chaker to pay the hospital's costs for the period 11 March 2008 to 20 October 2008, since there was no good reason for her to have maintained proceedings against the hospital after she became aware of "Drew's" identity on 11 March 2008.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.