Following the United States presidential election in November 2016 and President Donald Trump's decision not to participate in the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), representatives of the remaining 11 states (Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam) convened with the intention of bringing the TPP into force, albeit in an amended form.

Those 11 states, reportedly led by Japan, Australia and New Zealand, sought publicly to reaffirm the strategic and economic significance of the TPP.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

Chambers Asia Pacific Awards 2016 Winner – Australia
Client Service Award
Employer of Choice for Gender Equality (WGEA)