Nigeria: Nigeria Employment Law Review

Last Updated: 20 January 2017
Article by Olawale Adebambo, Folabi Kuti and Ifedayo Iroche

I INTRODUCTION

Employment law in Nigeria is not founded on the provisions of a single statute. Rather, it is dispersed in different legislation that together provides the framework. While there is an unsettled discussion as to whether the Labour Act (LA) extends beyond unskilled and manual workers, it nonetheless remains the governing law for labour matters.

Nigerian law allows freedom of contract in upholding and binding employers and employees to their agreements. There are also various statutory provisions of which parties must take cognisance when contracting; the laws regulating pensions and tax for instance, are not within the scope of contractual freedom.

Section 20 of the Trade Dispute Act (TDA)1 establishes a specialised court, the National Industrial Court (NICN), with exclusive responsibility for handling employment-related disputes; the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999, as amended (CFRN)2 further endorses the NICN's authority and jurisdiction. The Industrial Arbitration Panel (IAP) also set up by the TDA is responsible for settling any dispute referred to it by the Minister of Labour and Productivity (the Minister). Any objection to an IAP award is taken before the NICN. Appeals from the NICN lie as of right to the Court of Appeal on questions of fundamental rights contained in Chapter IV of the CFRN in relation to matters under its jurisdiction.3

II YEAR IN REVIEW

Sole proprietorship remains attractive to the Nigerian populace in view of the mismatch between the rate of unemployment and availability of paid employment. Statistics reveal that, in terms of the age distribution of owners of such enterprises, 93.3 per cent are aged 36 and above, while the 15–35 age group accounts for 6.67 per cent.4 An analysis of some 5,000 enterprises (4,615 with legal status) in a Report of the Nigerian Social Statistics Report produced by the National Bureau of Statistics in the year to end 2012, show the dominant business structures in Nigeria:5

The 2012 Report also presents a rundown of industrial disputes between 2004 and 2008. In 2004, there were 36 disputes; this increased to 189 in 2006 and almost 300 in 2008. In 2004, 26 of the disputes led to strike actions, compared with 93 in 2008. A total of 127,377 workers were involved in the disputes of 2004 whereas in 2008, 868,907 workers went on strike. Overall, 2.63 million man-days were lost in 2004, compared with 8.97 million in 2008. Community, social and personal services recorded the highest number of disputes at 231,067.6 A number of employment-related disputes relate to trade unions and collective bargaining agreements (CBAs); whether these are a mandatory requirement and their enforcement.

III SIGNIFICANT CASES

With the mandate given to the NICN to consider and apply best international labour practice when adjudicating on matters within its jurisdictional competence,7 2014 saw a significant number of cases handed down by it highlighting the need for a constant interplay of equity and fair play in the workplace.

i Protection of employees in cases of unfair labour practices

The facts of Mr Shittu Habib v. Coral International Limited8 and Abel Abel v. Trevi Foundation Nigeria Limited9 present interesting examples of the NICN intervening to afford equity to workers injured in the course of their work where the employers, in an apparent bid to avoid liability for compensatory damages, contended that the workers were not under their employment as at the time of the accident. The court, in both cases, noted that even though the claimant did not show any letter of employment, a contract of employment could be properly inferred from the conduct of the parties; in the Abel case, the fact that the claimant had been doing some work for the defendant for which the defendant paid an 'allowance', coupled with the issuance of a work identity card.

The court further invoked its equitable jurisdiction to assist the hapless employee in the Habib case by awarding monetary compensation to enable him obtain surgery to remove metal from his leg.

Also worthy of note is the commendable effort of the NICN at expanding the hitherto seemingly inflexible principles of common law (deeply engrained in the nation's labour jurisprudence) to accommodate far-reaching results for the aggrieved employee. Where it was established that an employer, without just and established cause, impugned the integrity of an employee and based on this impugnment, went ahead to peremptorily terminate his employment,10 the NICN not only condemned the act as an unfair labour practice, but also held that such a detestable practice cannot be adequately compensated by the right to payment of a month's salary in lieu of notice which the wrongfully terminated employee would ordinarily have been entitled. Relying on applicable provisions of the CFRN and the National Industrial Court Act 200611 that enable the Court to award damages as a relief for the unfair labour practice of unfair dismissal and further stating that the Court can take guidance from the more elaborate provisions of foreign statutes as to appropriate remedies when a proof of unfair dismissal is established, the court awarded the claimant five months' salary as general damages, in addition to one month's salary in lieu of notice.

In The Registered Trustees of Union Bank & Anor v. Union Bank Of Nigeria &Ors,12 the court held that as the practice of payment of a 13th month (ex gratia) salary had carried on uninterrupted for 23 years, it had become a custom between the parties, such that a party could seek its enforcement through judicial process.

Giving lucid conceptual clarifications on the power of the employer to suspend or dismiss an employee; the legal consequences of 'suspension'; and when an allegation of conflict of interest can be made against an employee, and the corresponding duty on the employer to establish the allegation of conflict against the dismissed employee, the court in Mr Peter Olasunkanmi Atoki v. Ecobank Nigeria Ltd13 held that the defendant bank failed to establish the conflict of interest and professional misconduct against the claimant to its satisfaction.

Despite the excitement of a new process for settling labour grievances that is arguably pro-employee, it is instructive to mention that the cases of Awodusi Gbenga & Ors v. Total Data Limited14 and Mr Osamota Macaulay Adekunle v. United Bank for Africa Plc15 do not necessarily support this position.

In the former case, the claimants were employed under individual and separable contracts with, inter alia, differing salaries and emoluments and conditions of service. Only the first claimant was called to testify. The court had to invoke its equitable jurisdiction to rely on the documents 'front loaded' but never tendered in evidence16 to avail the fourth claimant of the relief sought on the substantive suit. There was no such document before the court to avail the remaining 142 claimants of any relief. The court held that: 'Failure of the other Claimants except 1st and 4th to lead evidence in proof of their claims has fatally damaged same [...]. The claims of the 1st and 4th Claimants succeed in part while those of the other claimants fail and are dismissed accordingly.'

In the Osamota case, the claimant only sought declaratory reliefs, which by law, cannot be executed, being merely declaratory as to the rights and obligations of parties. But that was not the only pitfall. The specifics were not clearly stated or established. The Court noted disapprovingly that even though the claimant sought a declaration that he was entitled to 'all his entitlements, salaries, allowances, bonuses, emoluments and other perquisites of office' from 17 September 2009, when he was suspended, to the date of the judgment, those were not shown in specific terms: 'I must stress that since the claimant's "entitlements, salaries, allowances, bonuses, emoluments and other perquisites of office" have not been proved before this Court, this Court cannot make any order in their regard.'

ii Jurisdiction

The circumscribed jurisdiction of the NICN as an exclusive labour dispute resolution forum came up for consideration in a few cases in the year under review. In many decisions on this point, the NICN reiterated that its prescribed jurisdiction does not extend to matters with claims dealing with tax, pensions and allied issues that the aggrieved employee often claims as ancillary to his principal claims. In Miss Odiette Hope v. Jopa Energy Ltd,17 the court declined the invitation to exercise jurisdiction over a tax related relief contained in the claim before the court.

In Sir HUC Chukwudire & Ors v. Governor of Imo State & Ors,18 the NICN also had an opportunity to affirm its inelastic jurisdiction as not extending to tenancy-related issues. The NICN has similarly refused to adjudicate over matters involving contractual relationships between an independent contractor and the hirer.19

Non-compliance with a condition precedent to the court exercising jurisdiction on a relief conferred on an employee under the Employee's Compensation Act 2010 was successfully raised and argued in Mr Mashood Ilupeju v. PZ Cussons Nigeria Plc.20

iii The final instance court

A litigant who is not satisfied with the decision of the NICN can only appeal as of right where the decision relates to questions of fundamental rights as contained in Chapter IV of the CFRN or in criminal cases where they relate to matters upon which the NICN has jurisdiction. Appeal in other matters shall only lie from decisions of the NICN to the Court of Appeal as may be prescribed by an act of the National Assembly and with leave of the Court of Appeal.

Click here to view the full article

Footnotes

1 Chapter T8, LFN 2004.

2 Section 254C (2).

3 Section 243 (2) of the CFRN. 4 National Bureau of Statistics website: Job Creation Survey Report (www.nigerianstat.gov.ng/ pages/download/186).

5 Ibid.

6 National Bureau of Statistics website: Social Statistics Report in 2012 (www.nigerianstat.gov. ng/pages/download/170).

7 Section 245C (1) (f ) of the CFRN 1999, as amended.

8 Unreported suit No: NIC/PHC/79/2013 delivered on 26 June 2014 (http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=625); The NICN held that an employee need not necessarily prove his employment by a written employment letter to maintain a claim against an employer.

9 Unreported suit No: NIC/PHC/55/2013 delivered on 26 June 2014 (http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=626).

10 Unreported suit No: NICN/AB/03/2012 Godwin Okosi Omoudu v. Prof Aize Obayan & anor, judgment delivered on 10 October 2014 (http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl. php?contC=694).

11 Section 254D [2] of the 1999 Constitution [as altered] and Sections 14 and 19 [d] of the National Industrial Court Act, 2006.

12 Unreported suit No.NICN/LA/555/2012, judgment delivered on 17 October 2014 (http:// judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=702).

13 Unreported suit No. NIC/LA/103/2011, delivered on 12 June 2014 (http://judgment.nicn. 13 Unreported suit No. NIC/LA/103/2011, delivered on 12 June 2014 (http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=651).

14 Unreported suit No: NICN/LA/490/2013, judgment delivered on 24 August 2014 (http:// judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=677).

15 Unreported suit No: NICN/IB/20/2012 judgment delivered on 21 May 2014 (http:// judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=616).

16 The front-loading system is a requirement under the High Court Rules designed to ensure full research and knowledge of the facts of a case, with processes relating thereto and full preparation of evidence being brought to the attention of the court before the hearing of a suit. Both parties are required to file alongside the pleadings certain supporting items, ensuring full and upfront disclosure of their respective cases.

17 Unreported suit No: NICN/LA/408/2012, judgment delivered on 31 March 2014 (can be accessed at http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=579). Similar decisions were handed down in Ganiyu Kolapo Rafiu v. Sara Foods Ltd, Unreported suit No: NICN/ LA/388/2012, judgment delivered on 30 September 2014 (http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=579); Mr Henry Nwosisi v. Bridgeways Global Projects Ltd, Unreported suit No: NICN/LA/147/2013, judgment delivered on 9 October 2014 (http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=641); and Ms Edith Ejiogu v. Mainstreet Bank Estate Company Ltd, Unreported suit No: NICN/LA/48/2013, judgment delivered on 9 June 2014 (http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=579).

18 Unreported suit No. NIC/OW/07/2013, judgment delivered on 30 June 2014 (http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=635).

19 Unreported suit No: NIC/LA/294/2012, judgment delivered on 6 May 2014, (http:// judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=618).

20 Unreported suit No: NICN/LA/406/2012, judgment delivered on 29 April 2014 (http://judgment.nicn.gov.ng/cont-dtl.php?contC=592).

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.