On October 8, 2021, President Biden officially set an annual ceiling of 125,000 for refugee admissions to the United States during Fiscal Year (FY) 2022. This number represents the maximum number of refugees that may be admitted to the United States through September 30, 2022. The President set the annual refugee ceiling after consulting with members of the Senate and House Judiciary Committees.

The President allocated the admission numbers among the following regions:

Region Allocation
Africa 40,000
Near East, South Asia 35,000
East Asia 15,000
Latin America/Caribbean 15,000
Europe and Central Asia 10,000
Unallocated Reserve 10,000

U.S. immigration law defines refugees as people outside of their country of nationality who are unable or unwilling to return because of persecution or a well-founded fear of persecution on account of race, religion, nationality, membership in a particular social group, or political opinion.1 Individuals outside of the United States seeking admission as refugees are processed through the U.S. Refugee Admissions Program which is managed by the Department of State in cooperation with the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and Department of Health and Human Services.

Congress also plays a critical role in the refugee process through the annual appropriations process by funding resettlement and integration programs for refugees. The President's announcement signals government agencies and humanitarian organizations involved in identifying, processing and resettling refugees on how to scale resources and operations for the fiscal year.

Refugee resettlement in the United States decreased significantly over the past few years due to a shift in the last Administration's priorities and due to the coronavirus pandemic. In FY 2021 and in FY 2020, less than 12,000 refugees were admitted annually.

This summer, approximately 50,000 Afghans were evacuated to the United States. According to DHS, most of these Afghan nationals are being paroled into the United States, on a case-by-case basis, for a period of two years. (Once paroled, these Afghans may be eligible to apply for an immigration status, such as asylum.2) The parole process is distinct from the refugee admissions process.


1 The President stated that individuals in the following areas may be processed for refugee status within their respective countries (referred to as 'in-country processing'): Cuba; Eurasia and the Baltics; Iraq; El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras; and persons identified by a U.S. Embassy in any location.

2 An asylee is defined as a person who meets the definition of a refugee but is already present in the United States or is seeking admission at a U.S. port of entry.

Visit us at mayerbrown.com

Mayer Brown is a global legal services provider comprising legal practices that are separate entities (the "Mayer Brown Practices"). The Mayer Brown Practices are: Mayer Brown LLP and Mayer Brown Europe - Brussels LLP, both limited liability partnerships established in Illinois USA; Mayer Brown International LLP, a limited liability partnership incorporated in England and Wales (authorized and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority and registered in England and Wales number OC 303359); Mayer Brown, a SELAS established in France; Mayer Brown JSM, a Hong Kong partnership and its associated entities in Asia; and Tauil & Chequer Advogados, a Brazilian law partnership with which Mayer Brown is associated. "Mayer Brown" and the Mayer Brown logo are the trademarks of the Mayer Brown Practices in their respective jurisdictions.

© Copyright 2020. The Mayer Brown Practices. All rights reserved.

This Mayer Brown article provides information and comments on legal issues and developments of interest. The foregoing is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject matter covered and is not intended to provide legal advice. Readers should seek specific legal advice before taking any action with respect to the matters discussed herein.