President Donald J. Trump  named Neil Chatterjee as Chair of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission ("FERC"). Kevin McIntyre, President Trump's pick to head the agency, will become FERC Chair once confirmed by the Senate.

The U.S. Senate confirmed Mr. Chatterjee to serve as FERC Commissioner on August 4, 2017 (see  previous coverage). The swearing in of Neil Chatterjee (August 8, 2017) and Robert F. Powelson (August 10, 2017) as FERC Commissioners restored a working quorum for the Commission.

Prior to joining the Commission, Mr. Chaterjee was energy policy advisor to U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY).

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.