The Isle of Man's Double Taxation Agreement (DTA) with Bahrain entered into force on 8 March 2012 and the Island's Tax Information Exchange Agreement (TIEA) with Mexico entered into force on 4 March 2012.

The DTA with Bahrain was signed in Bahrain on 3 February 2011 by HE Sheikh Ahmed bin Mohammed Al-Khalifa, Bahrain's Minister of Finance, and the then Treasury Minister, Anne Craine MHK.

The TIEA with Mexico was signed by Mexico's Minister of Finance and Public Credit, Ernesto Javier Cordero Arroyo, in Mexico City on 18 March 2011 and by Mrs Craine, in Douglas on 11 April 2011.

The Isle of Man ratified both agreements in 2011. The Mexico TIEA was ratified at the June 2011 sitting of Tynwald and the DTA with Bahrain at the December 2011 sitting.

The Bahrain Ministry of Finance and the Mexican Ministry of Foreign Affairs have now confirmed that they have completed their own ratification procedures and the agreements have therefore entered into force.

The text of both agreements can be viewed here.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.