The Malta Permanent Residency Agency periodically issues a list of ineligible countries whose nationals are ineligible to apply under the Malta Permanent Residence Programme. Countries may be added or removed from this list upon consultation with the Sanctions Monitoring Board.

Applicants who either have the following nationalities, or have close business or familial ties to the countries listed below are ineligible to apply:

  • Afghanistan
  • North Korea
  • Iran
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Yemen
  • Venezuela

The Malta Permanent Residency Agency reserves the right to update the list of ineligible countries at any time.

Malta Permanent Residence Programme - Requirements

Eligible applicants under the MPRP must fulfill all of the following requirements:

  1. Pay a one-time application fee to the Government of ?98,000 when renting a property or ?68,000 if purchasing a property, and
  2. Rent a property in Malta for ?10K/?12K per year OR purchase a property for ?300,000/?350,000, and
  3. Pay a donation of ?2,000 to a local registered philanthropic, cultural, sport, scientific, animal welfare or artistic NGO

In addition, the applicant needs to declare and provide evidence that he is in possession of assets having a value of not less than ?500,000 out of which a minimum of ?150,000 shall be in the form of financial assets.

How can we Assist

The firm is a leader in residence by investment programmes and advises international investors and business families on all aspects of residence law. The firm's Maltese Residency & Citizenship law practice is lead by senior immigration lawyers Dr Jean-Philippe Chetcuti and Dr Priscilla Mifsud Partner. Our team can guide applicants who are on the Malta Permanent Residence Programme exclusion list in suggesting various residence & citizenship by investment programmes around the world which would facilitate international access and provide mobility, education, business and investment opportunities.

This publication will be kept updated with any amendments made to the list of ineligible countries.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.