The Ministry of Foreign Affairs issued an announcement that as from the 16th March 2020, 06.00pm Cyprus Time (GMT+2), up to and including the 30th April 2020, Citizens of the Republic of Cyprus who are temporarily out of the country or permanently reside abroad should undertake caution and abide by the advice of the relevant countries as well as inform the relevant Diplomatic Mission of the Republic of Cyprus (High Commission, Embassy or Consulate) of their presence in the country.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs launched a new online platform and has appealed to all Cypriot citizens abroad to register on to the platform the soonest possible thereby providing the Foreign Ministry with the information required to be able to make available consular assistance where necessary , through the network of Diplomatic Missions of the Republic of Cyprus abroad. The National Crisis Management Centre at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is available around the clock on (00357) 22 801000.

Cypriots abroad who require essential medication which is not available to them locally, may make an application request for assistance by either e-mailing or calling the above National Crisis Management Centre number. Medication will be forwarded to them if circumstances permit. According to a Bilateral Agreement with the UK, Cypriot Citizens who are located in the UK, including students, are permitted to make use of the National Health Service (NHS) to obtain their medication. In addition, students who are in the UK and need to contact a doctor can e-mail or call the UK hotline 0044-207 124 4090.

Cypriot citizens located in Greece can contact directly the below participating Doctors:


Dr. Nikos Ioannou - Cardiologist 0030 6932275185

Dr. Antonis Polydorou - Cardiologist 0030 6946825858

Dr. Costas Christodoulou - Gynaecologist 0030 6944541571

Dr. Michalis Papademetriou - Urological Surgeon 0030 6977998088

Dr. Michael Kymises - Pathologist 0030 6932967771

Dr. Andreas Zambas - Gynaecologist 0030 6972910006

Dr. Savvas Ioannides - Surgeon General 0030 6944528132


Dr. Charalambos Charalambous - Pathologist 0030 6944601449

Dr. Demetris Efstathiou - Surgeon 0030 6945466070

Dr. Charis Phokas - Cardiologist 0030 6944845244

Dr. Lambros Razis - Ophthalmic Surgeon 0030 6979110033


Dr. Nikos Nikolaides - Gynaecologist 0030 6945383881

Cypriot citizens located in other countries can obtain a list of the Diplomatic Missions of the Republic on the Ministry's website at:

to find, where possible, contact details of Doctors with whom arrangements have been made for this purpose.

On the 29th March 2020, the UK National Federation of Cypriots introduced a programme under the auspices of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the delivery of a free package of basic foodstuffs, including Cypriot products to students in the UK. Therefore, any students who are located in the UK and wish to receive the package at their address can submit the required information through

Students not returning from abroad for the Easter break are permitted to apply for a €750 Government grant until the 22nd April 2020 through the Education Ministry's website

The Student Support Services contact numbers are:

  • (00357) 22 804002, 22 804050, 22 804053 and 22 804055.

Furthermore, it has been noted that between 06.00pm on 16th March 2020 and 30th April 2020, entry to the Republic of Cyprus will only be granted to individuals who fall under the categories listed below, provided that, upon arrival, they are able to submit a medical certificate, issued no more than 4 days before, showing that they have been tested for Coronavirus by certified medical centres in their country of origin. The categories are as follows

  • Cypriot citizens.
  • Legal residents in the Republic of Cyprus.
  • European nationals or third-country nationals working in the Republic.
  • Nationals of countries who are in a designated diplomatic service or mission under bilateral or international Conventions.
  • European or third country nationals attending educational institutions in the Republic of Cyprus.
  • Individual cases of European nationals or third-country nationals for unavoidable professional obligations, provided that the relevant permit has been obtained from the competent Ministry.

All travellers returning to Cyprus from abroad, regardless of their country of origin, will be placed under a 14-day compulsory quarantine at accommodation facilities designated by the Republic of Cyprus.

The Health Minister, Mr Constantinos Ioannou issued a new Decree on the 30th March 2020 under the Quarantine Law Act on the basis of the Decision of the Council of Ministers dated 10th March 2020 stating that the right of entry into Cyprus without a presentation of a medical examination certificate for Coronavirus applies to:

  1. Persons who have travelled abroad for medical reasons. This includes the persons who have accompanied them at their departure or hospitalization.
    • Instead of presenting a medical certificate, these persons should have in their possession a certificate from the local Diplomatic Missions of the Republic of Cyprus.
  2. Students who belong to 'vulnerable groups' associated with the Coronavirus, in accordance with the Press release issued by the Ministry of Health, dated 16th March 2020.
    • These students should be in possession of a special certificate which will be issued only after an evaluation of the pre-required medical certificates by a three-member Medical Council.

Applications should be submitted to the e-mail address of the Pancyprian Medical Association at .

If required, the Republic of Cyprus will contract special flights from Athens and London enabling the return of the above categorized passengers. The State will assign these passengers to areas in which they will remain quarantined for 14 days after their arrival. Passengers exempted are those who were abroad for medical purposes under Category 1 as indicated above. It is understood, however, that a compulsory examination for the Coronavirus disease (Covid-19) will be carried out before these persons will remain in self-isolation so that they are able to carry on with their medical treatment.

On the 04th April 2020, the Minister of Communications and Works, Mr Yiannis Karousos, issued a Decree for a period of 14 days concerning the prevention of flights. Flights exempted from the Decree related to the transport of cargo, departure of passengers from the Republic of Cyprus and flights for humanitarian purposes.

Below is a list of 9 Emergency numbers which Cypriot citizens may contact:

Diplomatic Missions of the Republic of Cyprus abroad:

Their contact details can be accessed at the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs: under Cyprus Diplomatic Missions Abroad.

  • Consular Affairs Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs:
  • (00357) 22-651113 (08:30 - 15:00, Monday - Friday)
  • Duty Officer of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs:
  • (00357) 99660129 (outside working hours*)
  • Crisis Management Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs:
  • (00357) 22-801000 (24/7)

* The Duty Officer's line is reachable outside office hours and is intended to provide assistance in emergency situations. For non-urgent questions, please contact the relevant Department of the Ministry during normal office hours via the switchboard number (00357) 22-651000.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.