On 2 October 2018 the committee of European Union finance ministers agreed to remove the Pacific island of Palau from the EU list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions not meeting required standards of transparency and good practice. When it was issued in December 2017 the EU blacklist included 17 jurisdictions, but several have been removed after giving formal commitments to rectify their deficiencies.

Following the removal of Palau, six jurisdictions remain on the blacklist, namely American Samoa, Guam, Namibia, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago and the US Virgin Islands.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.