UK: Not Just A Matter Of Opinion The UK IPO Opinions Service

Last Updated: 21 July 2016
Article by Matthew Fletcher

Since October 2014 the scope of the UK IPO's Opinion Service has been expanded to give it more "teeth". Nearly two years on, it is time to reconsider the effects of those changes and why many are embracing the expanded service with enthusiasm.

Overview of UK IPO Opinions

Key features of the current Opinions Service are as follows:

  • *NEW* A route to revocation – If an opinion finds that a patent is "clearly invalid" and it is "clear-cut" that the patent lacks novelty or inventive step, then the UK IPO may initiate revocation proceedings of its own motion. Thus, the Opinions service provides a useful mechanism to clear the way of a clearly invalid patent without resorting to court proceedings.
  • Streamlined and cost effective – The opinions procedure is rapid and paper-based in which the parties' entire case is set out at a very early stage. Following a reply to the request for an opinion, and counter reply, an opinion is issued on the paper file without an oral hearing. Overall costs can be kept low (to a few thousand pounds or so) and are predictable. Parties bear their own costs.
  • Speed - An opinion is issued within three months of a request being filed. The rapidity of the procedure allows parties to better understand the merits of a case at an early stage of negotiations, e.g. within the 9 month window for an EPO Opposition.
  • Impartiality – The Opinions Service provides an impartial view from a patent examiner on questions of validity and infringement having considered arguments submitted by both sides. Thus, the Opinion may carry greater weight than a one-sided legal opinion.
  • *NEW* Range of attacks – It is now possible to request an opinion on all major grounds of invalidity, including novelty and inventive step (both over published documents and prior use), excluded subject matter, industrial applicability, sufficiency of disclosure and added matter. Multiple grounds can be raised in a single request.
  • New Grounds – An opinion will not be provided on issues already considered in earlier proceedings and will be confined to new matters. In Opinion 11/16, the Examiner declined to provide an opinion on issues that had previously been considered in EPO Opposition proceedings, but did issue an opinion on attacks based on new documents. In Opinion 3/16 the question of added matter was considered a new ground. Despite the allowability of amendments having been examined during prosecution; it was confirmed that the question of whether the granted claim extended beyond the disclosure of the application could be reviewed.
  • Non-binding – A UK IPO opinion is just that, a non-binding opinion. There is nothing to stop the parties from seeking relief through the court on the same grounds as put forward in a request for an opinion, regardless of the findings of the opinion, nor is there any Following a finding that a patent lacks novelty in Opinion 12/14 a revocation action was launched at the UK IPO (case BL O/183/16). The hearing office confirmed that the previous opinion was not binding nor were its findings given weight in these subsequent proceedings.
  • Public – All documents submitted in connection with an opinion are made public as is the final written opinion. Thus, while the Opinion may be non-binding, a published Opinion may be a powerful tool in dealings with third parties.
  • GB & EP patents and *NEW* SPCs – The UK IPO will provide an opinion on the validity and/or infringement of all granted patents covering the UK and also on Supplementary Protection Certificates (SPCs) relating to a patented medicinal product for which a marketing authorisation had been obtained. In Opinion 9&10/16 the validity of an SPC directed to a patented medicinal product was considered.
  • Anonymity - Any person can request an opinion, there being no need to declare an interest. Accordingly, an opinion on validity can be obtained without revealing the interested party.
Case Study - Opinion 5/15

On 9 March 2015, Dyson requested an Opinion on the validity of patent GB2487996 directed to a hairdryer. Following a response from the Patentee and further comments from Dyson, an Opinion was issued on 4 June 2015 (i.e. within 3 months of the request). Although the main document cited had been considered in prosecution, attacks based on that document were considered a new ground as the document was reinterpreted in the light of passages from a newly cited text book. The IPO Examiner found the claims novel but lacking an inventive step.

On 18 September 2015 the UK IPO launched revocation proceedings. The Patentee argued that the claimed subject matter is inventive and, in December 2015, UK IPO decided not to make an order for revocation. Dyson is not estopped from commencing revocation action before the UK courts on the same grounds as put forward in their request for an opinion or on new grounds.

Route to Revocation

The possibility of being able to clear the way and have a competitor's patent revoked following a negative opinion on patentability without having to go through full court proceedings is a key attraction of the revised service.

Since October 2014, seven final opinions have found a patent to be invalid and eight have found a patent novel and inventive. Of the seven instances in which a patent was found invalid, the IPO has launched revocation proceedings in four instances, demonstrating that there is a readiness to exercise its power to revoke "clearly invalid" patents. The sample size is too small to draw any firm conclusions about when the IPO considers a patent to be "clearly invalid". In three out of the four cases in which the patent was found to lack novelty, revocation proceedings were launched suggesting that a finding of lack of novelty is likely, but not certain, to result in a revocation action. Following Opinion 5/15 in which the patent was found novel but lacking in inventive step, revocation proceedings were commenced showing that lack of inventive step alone can meet the "clearly invalid" requirement. However, following Opinion 7/15 and 10/15, in which it was found that patents lack an inventive step over a single document, revocation actions were not commenced after the patentee took action to respond to the findings in the Opinions.

The decision not to launch revocation proceedings following Opinion 7/15 indicates that lack of inventive step alone may only result in revocation proceedings in exceptional circumstances. In that case, it was concluded in the Opinion that an independent claim to a method of marking a product with a coating lacked novelty. After the Opinion was issued, the patent was limited to claims that specified the substrate on which a coating is applied, which had been found novel but lacking an inventive step. Somewhat surprisingly, given the Examiner had found that "there is nothing inventive in specifying a substrate", the UK IPO did not then commence revocation proceedings on the grounds that the revised claims were no longer "clearly invalid".

27 final opinions have been issued since the changes came into effect on 1 October 2014:

Once a revocation action has been launched by the IPO there are indications that it will see the matter through. In the revocation action following Opinion 25/14 the IPO is continuing to insist that the patent is invalid despite the patentee arguing for the patent to be maintained. If a request for an opinion is withdrawn before the opinion is issued, the UK IPO will continue to issue the opinion or initiate revocation proceedings. Accordingly, the filing of a request for an opinion might be a way of bringing a reluctant patentee to the negotiating table.

A downside of the Opinions Service is that a third party who requests an opinion on validity is not a party to subsequent revocation action and cannot contest a decision by the IPO not to initiate revocation proceedings. However, as illustrated in Opinion 12/14 there is no barrier to the requester launching revocation action at any point, regardless of the outcome of the opinion, and a UK IPO opinion may help settle disputes at an early stage.

Summary

To conclude, while revocation of a patent following a finding of invalidity in an IPO opinion is far from guaranteed, the requesting of an opinion is a viable alternative to court proceedings as a first step in challenging the validity of a patent.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.