United States: Survey Of 2016 Cases Under New York State Environmental Quality Review Act

The courts decided 46 cases in 2016 under the New York State Environ­mental Quality Review Act (SEQRA), which requires the preparation of an environmen­tal impact statement (EIS) for state or local governmental actions that could have a significant impact.

For only the second time since this annual survey began in 1991, no court overturned any agency decision where an EIS had been prepared. Eight challenges involved an EIS—all failed. In circumstances where there was no EIS, challeng­ers won four and lost 20. In sum, 2016 was a bad year for plaintiffs in SEQRA cases.

Proposed Changes

The most important SEQRA development of the year was probably the proposal by the state Department of Environmen­tal Conservation (DEC) to signifi­cantly amend its SEQRA regulations (commonly known as the 617 regu­lations) for the first time since 1995. DEC has been considering revisions for several years, and in January 2016 it finally issued proposed rules. All in all, the proposed revi­sions do not amount to the com­prehensive streamlining that some had hoped for, but there are some important revisions.

First, scoping—a public process of announcing and soliciting com­ment on the overall contents of EISs before their preparation—would become mandatory. It already is required for EISs prepared by the city of New York, but it is not con­sistently done outside of the city.

Second, there would be an expan­sion of the Type II list—the list of kinds of actions that never require an EIS. Among the new items on the list:

  • Green infrastructure upgrades and retrofits;
  • Installing 5 MW or less of solar arrays on landfills, cleaned-up brownfield sites, sites zoned for industrial use, and residential and commercial parking facilities;
  • Sustainable development of disturbed sites;
  • Brownfield cleanup agreements that do not commit to specific future uses of the property;
  • Land transfers for affordable housing.

Expanding the Type II list should reduce the number of EISs that are needed. However, the number of EISs would be increased by a proposed lowering of the numeri­cal thresholds for some Type I actions—the actions that are more likely than others to require an EIS. For example the Type I parking space threshold would be lowered from 1,000 vehicles to 500 vehicles in municipalities with 150,000 resi­dents or less.

The revisions would also require that when an EIS is prepared, there must be a discussion of "measures to avoid or reduce both an action's environmental impacts and vulner­ability from the effects of climate change such as sea level rise and flooding." This will enhance the importance of DEC's new sea level rise projections (discussed in this column on March 9, 2017).

The public comment period on these proposed regulations expired on May 19. DEC is now consider­ing the comments, but has not announced a schedule for when the regulations will be finalized.

Timing of Litigation

The New York Court of Appeals issued one decision under SEQRA in 2016. (SEQRA was also relevant to a decision about the relicensing of the Indian Point nuclear power plant, Entergy Nuclear Operations v. N.Y. State Dept. of State, 28 N.Y.3d 279 (2016), but the decision did not apply or construe SEQRA.) In Ranco Sand & Stone Corp. v. Vec­chio, 27 N.Y.3d 92 (2016), the Court of Appeals affirmed the dismissal of a challenge to a positive declaration (a decision that an EIS is needed), holding that the positive declara­tion was not ripe for judicial review. The Town Board of Smithtown had issued the positive declaration in connection with an application to rezone a parcel from residential to heavy industrial. Though the parcel had been leased for several years to a school bus company and used as a bus yard and trucking station—a nonconforming use—the town had never enforced the residential zon­ing. The possibility of challenging a positive declaration had been largely opened up by a 2003 deci­sion of the Court of Appeals, Gor­don v. Rush, 100 N.Y.2d 236 (2003), and much confusion had ensued about the size of this opening. In this new case the court clarified that the expense of having to go through the EIS process was not enough of a hardship to warrant piecemeal judi­cial review of the SEQRA process.

Several other cases were also dis­missed because they were brought too early. A developer's allegations that town officials were conspiring to impede its land development plans were found not ripe. Roe v. Town of Mamakating, 2016 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 75665 (S.D.N.Y. June 9, 2016). Likewise, the designation by the DEC commissioner of the lead agency for a project was declared not reviewable. Vill. of Islandia v. Martens, Index No. 5874/15 (Sup. Ct. Suffolk County Oct. 31, 2016). When a lead agency had rescinded its neg­ative declaration (its decision that no EIS was needed), one court found this was not final agency action and plaintiffs' due process claims were not ripe. Leonard v. Planning Bd. of Town of Union Vale, 65 F. App'x 35 (2d Cir. 2016). Another lead agency waited too long to rescind a nega­tive declaration; since the agency had already taken its final action on the project, it could not go back and require an EIS. Pittsford Canalside Properties v. Vill. of Pittsford, 137 A.D.3d 1566 (4th Dept. 2016).

One village did not bother to rescind its negative declaration; it rejected the project anyway. The court found this determination was improperly based on general­ized community objections rather than specific legitimate bases, and it overturned the village's rejection of the project. Ramapo Pinnacle Prop­erties v. Vill. of Airmont Planning Bd., 145 A.D.3d 729 (2d Dept. 2016)

Overturning Declarations

Four decisions found that agen­cies had improperly decided not to prepare EISs.

The approval of a Wal-Mart Super­center was annulled after citizens reported sightings of threatened bird species at the site, but the town board never undertook or required on-site surveys. The town also failed to consider the impact of the big-box development on the community character of the neighboring village, which might suffer business dis­placement. Furthermore, the town did not look at the surface water impact of the reconstruction of four golf course holes on an adjacent golf course, a central part of the project. Wellsville Citizens for Responsible Devt. v. Wal-Mart Stores, 140 A.D.3d 1767 (4th Dept. 2016).

A city's attempt to annex property in an adjoining town failed because no EIS had been prepared. City of Johnstown v. Town of Johnstown, 135 A.D.3d 1081 (3d Dept. 2016). A residential subdivision was blocked when there had been no environ­mental assessment form, a nec­essary prerequisite for negative declarations for certain kinds of actions. 24 Franklin Ave. R.E. Corp. v. Heaship, 139 A.D.3d 742 (2d Dept. 2016). Approval of a cell tower was struck down when it was found that there was no record to support the negative declaration. Falco v. Zoning Bd. of Appeals of Town of Pomfret, 52 Misc.3d 1223(A) (Sup. Ct. Chau­tauqua County Aug. 2016).

Standing

Ten cases were dismissed because the plaintiffs were found to lack standing—more than for any other procedural flaw. A real estate group lost its challenge to a moratorium on conversion of hotel space to non-hotel space because economic injury is not a basis for standing under SEQRA. Real Estate Bd. of N.Y. v. City of N.Y., Index Nos. 160081/2015, 101798/2015 (Sup. Ct. New York County June 20, 2016). Two cases were dismissed because the plaintiffs did not live close enough to the challenged project or its impacts. Turner v. County of Erie, 136 A.D.3d 1297 (4th Dept. 2016); Azulay v. City of New York, 36 N.Y.S.3d 406 (Sup. Ct. Richmond County 2016). In two cases the plain­tiffs' alleged injuries did not differ from those of the public at large. CPD NY Energy v. Town of Pough­keepsie Planning Bd., 139 A.D.3d 942 (2d Dept. 2016); Ten Towns to Pre­serve Main Street v. Planning Bd. of Town of North East, 139 A.D.3d 740 (2d Dept. 2016). One plaintiff's inju­ries were "conclusory and specula­tive." Stewart Park & Reserve Coal v. Town of New Windsor Zoning Bd. of Appeals, 137 A.D.3d 924 (2d Dept. 2016).

Several residents complained about installation of an "air strip­per" in a park to remove a chemi­cal from groundwater, but they did not establish that they used the portion of the park near the pro­posed location of the air stripper more than most other members of the public, and also their alleged injuries were "too speculative and conjectural to determine an actual and specific injury-in-fact." Brummel v. Town of N. Hempstead Town Bd., 145 A.D.3d 880 (2d Dept. 2016).

An environmental group was unable to challenge DEC's designa­tion of a lead agency because only other agencies have standing to mount such a challenge. Preserve Hudson Valley v. DEC, Index No. 1707/2015 (Sup. Ct. Orange County Oct. 11, 2016). Finally, a person—named Person—challenged the New York City's initiatives to reduce traf­fic congestion, claiming they "will result in greater risk of adverse health consequences (through addi­tional air pollution), delayed ambu­lance times, and delayed access to toilet facilities (while sitting in traf­fic)." The court found these allega­tions to be "purely speculative," and no different from that suffered by the public at large. Person v. NYC Dept. of Transp., 143 A.D.3d 424 (1st Dept. 2016).

Previously published in New York Law Journal, July 13, 2017.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.