United States: 2016 New York Employment Law Year In Review

Over the next two weeks we will release our Year in Review segment, which will look at the key labor & employment law developments from 2016 in New York, the DC Metro Area, Massachusetts, and California while offering our thoughts about 2017. Today we kick off this segment with New York. In addition, please join us in NYC on April 6, 2017 for Mintz Levin's Third Annual Employment Law Summit as we address some of the key labor & employment issues impacting employers in 2017. Register here.

2016 brought big changes for New York State and City employers, including expansive new discrimination protections and substantial increases in the minimum wage and exempt salary thresholds. While New York employers who successfully navigated 2016's rush of legislative, regulatory and judicial obstacles might feel they've earned the right to shift their focus back from compliance issues to running their businesses, they should not lose sight of the additional challenges expected in 2017.

New York State Women's Equality Agenda

Governor Cuomo signed a series of bills entitled the "Women's Equality Agenda," which took effect in January 2016 and significantly amended the State's equal pay, sex discrimination, harassment and other laws. In a post published shortly after the amendments passed, we described in detail some of the sweeping changes the law ushered in, including:

  • broadening the definition of "equal work" for equal pay;
  • adding "familial" status as a protected class;
  • requiring additional accommodations for pregnant workers;
  • authorizing treble damages for willful violations;
  • providing sex discrimination plaintiffs with a new right to attorneys' fees; and
  • applying the law's prohibition on sexual harassment to all employers regardless of size.

Additionally, while New York law still permits pay differentials between men and women for seniority, merit and factors "other than sex," it limits this last requirement to "a bona fide factor other than sex, such as education, training or experience," and requires any differential to be job related and consistent with business necessity. Moreover, the law requires pay equity among women and men working in the "same establishment" – defined as a geographical region no larger than a county – and, therefore, employers with multiple operations in Manhattan or other counties should ensure that pay practices are fair and equitable not just within, but across, each location in these respective regions.

Finally, the law imposes restrictions on employer policies that limit the discussion of wages in the workplace. Further, as we discuss here, the New York DOL recently issued regulations clarifying that such policies may not be overly restrictive and that employees who are subject to them must receive written notice.

Establishment of New York City Office of Labor Policy and Standards

Last year New York City also established an Office of Labor Policy and Standards (OLPS) tasked with enforcing the City's paid sick leave and transit benefits laws and promoting worker education and safety programs. As we discussed on the blog, the transition of enforcement responsibilities from the Department of Consumer of Affairs to the OLPS is a significant development given the OLPS' singular focus on protecting workers' rights.

Mintz Levin is especially honored to have OLPS Deputy Commissioner Liz Vladeck as the keynote speaker at our Third Annual Employment Law Summit coming up on April 6. This year's summit promises to be an exceptional event, including a wide range of compelling speakers and important topics and we encourage our readers to attend.

New York State Minimum Wage and Exempt Salary Threshold Increases

Effective December 31, 2016, the New York Department of Labor amended the State's Wage Orders to significantly increase the minimum wage and the minimum salary thresholds for exempt workers. In addition, as we noted in a post when the amendments took effect, the amendments also provide for automatic annual increases of the minimum wage and exempt salary thresholds in future years and establish different minimum pay requirements depending on whether the employees are located in New York City, downstate or the remainder of the state.

Further, the amendments affected other wage-related items, such as the Hospitality Wage Order's schedule for cash wages and tip credit thresholds for tipped food service employees, and changes to meal and lodging credits and uniform allowances. At a minimum, employers should update their wage statements to reflect the new rates and other required information and update their minimum wage posters. Further, employer should review their exempt executive and administrative employees' weekly salaries to determine whether they need to be increased to meet the new thresholds.

Second Circuit Rejects Double Liquidated Damages Awards for FLSA/NYLL Claims

In December 2016, the Second Circuit issued a welcome decision for employers when it held that employees who recover back wages under the FLSA and the New York Labor Law are not entitled to separate liquidated damages awards under each statute. Both the FLSA and the NYLL permit employees to recover liquidated damages in an amount equal to their unpaid wages. New York district courts were previously divided as to whether employees who sue under both statutes can recover double the amount of their unpaid wages as liquidated damages based on the separate liquidated damages provisions.

Fortunately for employers the Second Circuit rejected the plaintiff's claim for double liquidated damages, explaining that the legislative history of the 2009 amendment to the NYLL demonstrated that the New York State Legislature intended to "conform" the NYLL's liquidated damages provision to the FLSA's provision rather than to provide for recovery of 200 percent liquidated damages in addition to the underlying wage liability. The court noted that double recovery is generally disfavored when another source of damages already remedies the same injury for the same purpose and concluded "[h]ad the New York State legislature intended to provide a cumulative liquidated damages award under the NYLL, we think it would have done so explicitly." While New York employers should breathe a sigh of relief that they will not be on the hook for double liquidated damages in the event of a wage and hour violation, they should not lose sight of the fact that the damages in these matters can still be quite substantial.

New York City Freelance Workers Protection Act

In November 2016, Mayor de Blasio signed the Freelance Isn't Free Act, which provides protections for individuals who enter into agreements to provide freelance services after May 15, 2017. The Act defines "freelancer" as "any natural person or any organization composed of no more than one natural person, whether or not incorporated or employing a trade name, that is hired or retained as an independent contractor by a hiring party to provide services in exchange for compensation." However, it excludes certain sales representatives, lawyers, and licensed medical professionals.

As discussed on the blog, under the new law contracts with freelancers for services in excess of $800 must be in writing and must contain: (i) the names and mailing addresses of the parties; (ii) an itemized listing of all services contracted for; (iii) the value of the services to be provided; (iv) the rate and method of compensation; and (v) the date on which the hiring party must pay the contracted amount of compensation or the mechanism by which such date will be determined. Significantly, the Act also protects freelancers from retaliation by prohibiting hiring parties from intimidating, denying work opportunities to or discriminating against freelancers who seek to exercise their rights under the Act and authorizes the recently-established Office of Labor Standards to enforce these protections.

New York City Caregiver Protections

In May 2016, amendments to the New York City Human Rights Law took effect adding "caregiver" as a protected class under the law. The law defines "caregiver" as a "person who provides direct and ongoing care for a minor child or a care recipient" and prohibits discrimination against such individuals.

As we previously discussed, notwithstanding the New York City Commission on Human Rights' guidance on the new law, the specific accommodations City employers may be required to make for caregivers are not entirely clear and will likely be developed on a case-by-case basis. However, the Commission has indicated that employers are not required to change an employee's shift or allow the employee to leave work early just because they have caregiving responsibilities, unless the employer offers these benefits to employees who do not have caregiving responsibilities.

New York State Paid Family Leave Law

New York's Paid Family Leave Act, which becomes effective January 1, 2018, will provide employees with paid leave for up to 12 weeks to: (i) care for a family member with a serious health condition; (ii) bond with the employee's newborn or newly adopted child; and (iii) address any qualifying exigency related to a spouse, domestic partner, child, or parent who is serving on active military duty. Additionally, employees are entitled to return to the same or similar position upon returning from leave. The Paid Family Leave Act's protections track closely with the Federal FMLA, but cover a broader group of employees than the FMLA. This will largely impact employers with fewer than 50 employees who are not subject to the FMLA, but will be required to provide benefits under the Paid Family Leave Act. As we discussed here, however, the Paid Family Leave Act does not require any new financial contributions from employers; instead, it will be funded entirely through employee taxes.

On February 22, 2017, proposed regulations implementing the Paid Family Leave Act were published clarifying certain aspects of the law and how it will be implemented. Some key takeaways of the proposed regulations are discussed here. The full text of the regulations can be fund here.

New York City Legislation to Prohibit Inquiries Into Salary History

In August 2016, the New York City Council introduced a bill which would prohibit employers from making inquiries with regard to a prospective employee's salary history, which is similar to the law New York State passed earlier in 2016. This prohibition would apply during all stages of the employment process. Additionally, if the employer is already aware of the applicant's salary history, under the proposed law the employer cannot rely on that information to determine the applicant's salary going forward.

New York City Legislation to Ban On-Call Scheduling For Retailers

In December 2016, the New York City Council introduced Int. No. 1387, which would ban the practice of "on-call scheduling" for retail employees, meaning, that employers would be prohibited from: (i) scheduling a retail employee for "on-call" hours; (ii) canceling any scheduled hours of work for a retail employee within 72 hours of the start time; and (iii) requiring a retail employee to contact an employer to confirm whether or not the employee should report for work fewer than 72 hours before their start time. Additionally, an employer may not provide a retail employee less than 20 hours of work during any 14-day period (offset by hours an employee elects to take as leave). This bill continues the trend towards protecting retail workers' rights as several large retailers have already announced they have stopped the on-call scheduling practice. Similar legislation was introduced for fast food workers, which we discuss further below.

New York State Payroll and Debit Card Rules

In August 2016, the New York State Department of Labor issued new regulations, which were scheduled to take effect in March 2017, that created new notice and consent requirements for employers who use payroll debit cards and direct deposit to pay wages. As we discussed in this blog entry, under the proposed regulations employers who utilize payroll debit cards would have been required to provide local access to ATMs that offer free withdrawals, provide a method for employees to withdraw all wages without incurring a fee and avoid charging employees for items such as point of sale transactions, overdrafts, account inactivity, customer service and card replacement. The rules also prohibited linking payroll debit cards to any form of credit, including a loan or cash advance against future pay.

Although the rules did not apply to employees working in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity with earnings in excess of $900 per week, they included several notice requirements for covered workers. These included the obligation to notify employees at least 30 days before the effective date of any changes in the terms and conditions of payroll debit cards, such as changes in the itemized list of fees. We discussed the DOL's template notice forms and other details in a recent post here.

Notwithstanding this comprehensive new regime for protecting low wage workers from costly fees that reduce net pay, the New York State Industrial Board of Appeals has invalidated and revoked the new payroll and debit card regulations, as we explained in a recent post. According to the Board, the DOL exceeded its authority by devising regulations that extend beyond employment and occupational safety and health into banking law, and unnecessarily sought to address concerns for which Section 192 of the Labor Law already provides protections. While employers do not need to implement changes to comply with the regulations at the present time, they should stay tuned to the blog for any new developments, such as an appeal reversing the Board's decision.

New York City Legislation to Protect Fast Food Workers

In December 2016, the New York City Council introduced several bills which would expand the rights of fast food workers. These bills propose several new protections for fast food workers, including:

  • No. 1388 would prohibit fast food employers (without written consent) from requiring fast food employees to work back-to-back shifts when the first shift closes and the second shift opens the restaurant the next day with fewer than 11 hours in between.
  • No. 1395 would require fast food employers with available work hours to offer shifts to existing employee before hiring new employees.
  • No. 1399 would provide an interactive process which would allow fast employees to request modification of work arrangements without fear of retaliation.
  • No. 1396 would require fast food employers to provide employees with an estimate of their work schedules upon hire and 14 days in advance. A premium would need to be paid for schedule changes made by the employer on less than 14 days' notice.
  • No. 1384 would allow fast food employees to designate part of their salary to a not-for-profit of their choice.

We continue to monitor this legislation.

New York State Legislation to Prohibit Discrimination Against Domestic Violence Victims

Finally, just after the New Year, on January 4, 2017, the New York State Senate introduced a bill which would make it an unlawful discriminatory practice for an employer or licensing agency, because of an individual's status as a victim of domestic violence, to refuse to hire, employ or license the individual, to bar or discharge the individual from employment or to discriminate against the individual in compensation or terms, conditions or privileges of employment. Additionally, the bill provides that it shall be an unlawful discriminatory practice for an employer to refuse to provide reasonable accommodations to an employee who is known to be a victim of domestic violence. Similar versions of the bill have been introduced in previous legislative sessions and New York City has already enacted similar protections.

Takeaways

Employers in New York and New York City, like those in California and other areas with highly active and progressive state and local legislatures, typically face a more heavily regulated environment than employers in other U.S. regions. Although the constantly evolving patchwork of new laws and regulations can seem burdensome, many New York and New York City employers have become more accepting of the need to remain current on changes in the law and to be flexible in adapting to new compliance challenges. If the developments of 2016 and early 2017 are any indication, this need for flexibility will only increase as the benefits of doing business in one of the nation's most commercially attractive regions continues to come with the cost of adjusting to new governmental and regulatory burdens.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.