United States: Copyright And Trademark Case Review: The Slants, The Sims And SCAR Rifles

Supreme Court Agrees to Review Bar on Registration of Disparaging Marks, Denies Washington Redskins' Petition to Join Proceedings

Supreme Court Agrees to Review Bar on Registration of Disparaging Marks, Denies Washington Redskins' Petition to Join Proceedings Lee v. Tam, No. 15-1293 (Sept. 29, 2016); Pro-Football, Inc. v. Blackhorse, No. 15-1311 (Oct. 3, 2016)
The Supreme Court granted the USPTO's petition for certiorari on appeal from the Federal Circuit's en banc decision holding that Section 2(a) of the Lanham Act—which bars registration of marks "which may disparage . . . persons, living or dead, institutions, beliefs, or national symbols, or bring them into contempt, or disrepute"—is facially unconstitutional under the First Amendment. In re Tam, No. 2014-1203 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 22, 2015). In a divided opinion, the Federal Circuit had vacated a TTAB ruling that upheld the PTO's refusal to register the rock band name THE SLANTS as a trademark on the ground that the mark is disparaging to persons of Asian descent in violation of Section 2(a). After granting certiorari in Lee v. Tam, the Supreme Court denied without comment an extraordinary petition for certiorari before judgment from the Washington Redskins, whose case challenging Section 2(a) is currently pending before the Fourth Circuit as Pro-Football, Inc. v. Blackhorse, No. 1:14-cv-01043, and who sought to join the proceedings before the Court. The question presented for review in Lee v. Tam is "whether the disparagement provision in 15 U.S.C. 1052(a) is facially invalid under the Free Speech Clause of the First Amendment."

Copyright Opinions

Ninth Circuit Affirms Summary Judgment for Defendant Based on Access Prong: Loomis v. Cornish, No. 13-57093 (9th Cir. Sept. 2, 2016)
Clifton, J. In a copyright dispute alleging that the defendants' song "Domino" infringed the plaintiff's song "Bright Red Chords," the Ninth Circuit affirmed the district court's grant of summary judgment for the defendants, holding that the plaintiff had not raised a triable issue of the defendants' access to "Bright Red Chords" so as to support a finding of copying. With respect to the plaintiff's access-through-intermediaries theory, the court held there was no admissible evidence of a nexus between the specific "work unit" that created "Domino" and any of the plaintiff's proposed intermediaries, including an Artists & Repertoire representative at defendant Universal Music Group who had requested a copy of "Bright Red Chords." The Ninth Circuit further rejected the plaintiff's widespread-dissemination arguments; the fact that the "Domino" songwriters spent 10 days in a town whose local market was "saturated" with "Bright Red Chords" did not raise a triable issue of access, as there was no evidence that the songwriters participated in the local music scene. The court acknowledged that the plaintiff's case told a story that, if substantiated with admissible evidence, might have survived summary judgment.

3-D USB Drive Based on 2-D Computer Game Icon Not Unoriginal as a Matter of Law: Direct Technologies, LLC v. Electronic Arts, Inc., Nos. 14-56266, 14-56745 (9th Cir. Sept. 6, 2016)
Gould, J. In a case involving alleged copyright infringement of a 3-D USB drive prototype modeled after the "PlumbBob" icon from the computer game The Sims, the Ninth Circuit reversed the district court's holding on summary judgment that the USB drive was not copyrightable as a derivative work because it was insufficiently original when compared to the 2-D icon. Where the plaintiff asserted that it designed the USB drive to have a "futuristic cut away look . . . at a unique angle" for aesthetic reasons, the Ninth Circuit held there were genuine issues of material fact regarding both (a) whether that design feature was "truly 'artistic'" rather than functional and (b) whether that feature rendered the drive sufficiently original to merit copyright protection. The Ninth Circuit further reversed the district court's alternative holding that the plaintiff was not a joint author of the claimed derivative work, holding there was a triable issue as to whether the plaintiff "was sufficiently in control of its artistic contribution to qualify as a joint author in the . . . prototype" and whether the plaintiff's contributions to the drive design contributed to the "audience appeal" of the drive. However, the Ninth Circuit affirmed the district court's grant of summary judgment on the plaintiff's California state law claim of trade secret misappropriation, holding that the plaintiff had failed to present evidence that there was any economic value in the secrecy of its design.

Common Law Trade Secret Misappropriation Claim Not Preempted by Copyright Act: GlobeRanger Corp. v. Software AG United States of America, Inc., No. 15-10121 (5th Cir. Sept. 7, 2016)
Costa, J. The Fifth Circuit upheld a $15 million jury verdict finding that the defendant had misappropriated the plaintiff's trade secrets. The defendant had appealed the judgment on several grounds, including that federal copyright law preempted the plaintiff's common law trade secret misappropriation claim or, if preemption did not apply, the district court lacked subject matter jurisdiction because there was no federal cause of action. In a case of first impression, the Fifth Circuit held that because Texas trade secret law requires establishing an element additional to what is required to make a copyright violation—namely, that the defendant obtained the protected information "through a breach of a confidential relationship or . . . improper means"—the plaintiff's common law trade secret misappropriation claim was not preempted by the Copyright Act under the extra-element test. The Fifth Circuit rejected the defendant's alternative contention that the district court lacked subject matter jurisdiction, holding that the Copyright Act did preempt the plaintiff's additional claim for conversion of intangible property and thus federal question jurisdiction existed at the time of removal, even though the plaintiff later voluntarily dismissed the conversion claim.

Trademark Opinions

Injunction Provisions Vacated as Overbroad Based on Concession at Trial: Diageo North America, Inc. v. Mexcor, Inc., No. 15-20630 (5th Cir. Sept. 2, 2016) (non-precedential)
Per curiam. After a jury verdict finding infringement of Diageo's "purple bag" trade dress used in connection with its Crown Royal whisky, the district court entered a permanent injunction that, among other things, prohibited the defendant from using the word "crown" in combination with cloth bags for whisky. THe defendant argued that the injunction was overbroad because Diageo effectively had conceded earlier in the litigation that the defendant's use of an unlabeled cloth bag as packaging was not infringing. The Fifth Circuit agreed, and directed the district court to revise its order so as not to "bar[] admittedly lawful activities." The Fifth Circuit declined to vacate the portion of the order that prohibited the defendant from "[u]sing any name or trade dress that is confusingly similar to or dilutes the Crown Royal trade dress," but "suggest[ed] the district court reconsider whether the provision is insufficiently specific." The Fifth Circuit otherwise affirmed the district court's denial of motions to amend the judgment and for judgment as a matter of law.

Second Circuit Questions Its Deferential Review of District Court's Likelihood of Confusion Analysis on Summary Judgment: Kelly-Brown v. Winfrey, No. 15-697-cv (2d Cir. Sept. 16, 2016) (non-precedential)
Summary order. In an unpublished opinion, the Second Circuit affirmed the district court's summary judgment for defendants in a dispute over Oprah Winfrey's use of the phrase "own your power"—a particular stylized form of which the plaintiffs had registered as a trademark. The Second Circuit declined to decide whether registration of the composite mark entitled the plaintiffs to a rebuttable presumption of inherent distinctiveness for the literal phrase alone. Assuming arguendo that the plaintiffs were entitled to a rebuttable presumption, the court held that the defendants had successfully rebutted the presumption with evidence demonstrating, as a matter of law, that the phrase is merely descriptive as applied to the plaintiffs' business of life coaching and motivational events, and that no reasonable jury could find the phrase had acquired secondary meaning. Having thus held that the literal element of the plaintiffs' mark was not entitled to protection, the Second Circuit held that the plaintiffs failed to present sufficient evidence to raise a triable issue of likelihood of confusion. Although the opinion contains no detailed analysis of the Polaroid likelihood-of-confusion factors, in a footnote the Second Circuit noted that its own precedent calling for "considerable deference" to a district court's factual findings under the Polaroid analysis does not obviously "comport[] with the general standard of review at summary judgment." 

Sales to Government Entity May Be "Sufficiently Public" to Establish Use in Commerce: FN Herstal SA v. Clyde Armory Inc., No. 15-14040 (11th Cir. Sept. 27, 2016)
Coogler, J. In a trademark dispute between two firearms companies, the Eleventh Circuit affirmed the district court's finding of trademark infringement following a bench trial. The plaintiff had won a heavily publicized US military contract competition for design and manufacture of a rifle dubbed the "SCAR," and shortly thereafter began extensive promotion of a "civilian version" of the SCAR rifle to law enforcement and civilians. The Eleventh Circuit upheld the district court's conclusion that the plaintiff's sales of SCAR-branded rifles to the US military alone were "sufficiently public" to establish use in commerce of the mark prior to the defendant's first sale of rifle stocks marked "SCAR-Stock." The court also affirmed the district court's alternative holding that the plaintiff's "open and notorious" marketing efforts to law enforcement and civilians were sufficient to establish priority under the "analogous use" doctrine—even though the civilian version of the rifle was not available for actual purchase until after the defendant's first sale. Based on evidence of extensive media attention and marketing efforts, the court further upheld the district court's finding that the plaintiff's SCAR mark had acquired secondary meaning prior to the defendant's use of the mark. Finally, the Eleventh Circuit rejected the defendant's "unlawful use" defense to infringement—based on the plaintiff's alleged violation of regulations and statutes prohibiting unauthorized disclosure of information pertaining to military contracts and unauthorized use of certain military emblems—noting that it had never adopted the unlawful use doctrine and that, even if the doctrine were applicable, the plaintiff's conduct was not a per se violation of the relevant regulation or was not so significant as to prevent it from acquiring trademark rights in the mark.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.