United States: Copyright And Trademark Case Review: RunDMC, Stem Cells And Pirates

Copyright Opinions

Unauthorized Copying Not an Element of Prima Facie Infringement Case: Ali v. Final Call, Inc., No 15-2963 (7th Cir. Aug. 10, 2016)
Wood, J. In a suit alleging copyright infringement through the distribution of lithographs of plaintiff's portrait of Louis Farrakhan, the Seventh Circuit held that the district court erroneously required plaintiff to prove that defendant's (admitted) copying was unauthorized. The court attributed the error in part to the district court's reliance on Hobbs v. John, 722 F.3d 1089, 1094 (7th Cir. 2013), in which the Seventh Circuit misquoted its own precedent as requiring "unauthorized copying," rather than mere "copying," as an element of the prima facie case for infringement. Because the true prima facie elements were satisfied (ownership of valid copyright and copying), and defendant had failed to present any affirmative defense, the Seventh Circuit reversed and remanded the case for determination of damages.

Ninth Circuit Finds Triable Issue on Willfulness, Limits Statutory Damages to Named Defendants: Friedman v. Live Nation Merchandise, Inc., No. 14-55302 (9th Cir. Aug. 18, 2016)
Berzon, J. In a dispute over defendant's concededly infringing use of plaintiff's copyrighted photographs of rap group RunDMC on merchandise, the Ninth Circuit reversed the district court's summary judgment for defendant on the issues of willful infringement and knowing removal of copyright management information (CMI), explaining that issues involving a state-of-mind determination are generally inappropriate for resolution by summary judgment. With respect to the willfulness claim, the court found that the jury could reasonably conclude that Live Nation's reliance on artists who were the subject of photographs to clear photographic rights (rather than on the photographers who took the photos) amounted to recklessness or willful blindness with respect to plaintiff's intellectual property rights. With respect to the alleged CMI violation, the Ninth Circuit clarified that plaintiff could prevail upon showing that defendant distributed his works knowing that CMI had been removed, even if defendant did not remove it, and that there was a triable issue of fact with respect to this knowledge. However, the Ninth Circuit affirmed the district court in rejecting plaintiff's claim to 104 separate statutory damages awards—based on the number of retailers to which defendant had sold the infringing merchandise—holding that plaintiff was entitled to only one award for each infringed work because he had not joined the downstream retailers as defendants.

Third Circuit Affirms $1.6M Award, Including Multipliers for Rarity and Market Impact: Leonard v. Stemtech International Inc., Nos. 15-3198, 15-3247 (3d Cir. Aug. 24, 2016)
Shwartz, J. In a case involving unauthorized use of plaintiff's stem cell photographs by defendant and its distributors, the Third Circuit found sufficient evidence to uphold the jury's $1.6 million verdict of infringement, as well as its contributory infringement and vicarious infringement verdicts. With respect to contributory infringement, the court held that by creating the materials containing the infringing images, providing the materials to its distributors and requiring its distributors to use the materials, defendant took "'steps that we[re] substantially certain to result in such direct infringement.'" With respect to vicarious liability, the court found that plaintiff's contractual right to impose disciplinary sanctions on distributors and its practical ability to withhold compensation and support provided sufficient evidence for the jury to conclude that plaintiff had satisfied the right and ability to supervise or control element. As for the damages award, the court held that the jury could reasonably have relied upon expert testimony applying multipliers—accounting for the rarity of stem cell images and the impact of defendant's widespread use on the market for plaintiff's work—to a "benchmark" fair market value estimate of approximately $216,000, so as to arrive at the $1.6 million figure. The Third Circuit further held that the district court had abused its discretion by denying prejudgment interest to plaintiff based on a view that the jury verdict "sufficiently compensated" plaintiff. However, the court upheld the district court's summary judgment for defendant on plaintiff's request for infringer's profits, as plaintiff provided insufficient evidence linking the infringement to defendant's profits.

Trademark Opinions

District Court Lacks Jurisdiction to Cancel Fraudulent Registration Where Plaintiff Not Entitled to Damages or Injunction: East Iowa Plastics, Inc. v. PI, Inc., No. 15-2757 (8th Cir. Aug. 11, 2016)
Kelly, J. In an appeal involving fraudulent procurement of trademark registrations, the Eighth Circuit vacated the district court's cancellation of defendant's trademark registrations and reversed an award of attorneys' fees, finding that plaintiff lacked standing because there was no evidence of either damages or nonmonetary injury to plaintiff. The court further held that plaintiff was not a "prevailing party" by virtue of successfully defending against infringement and unfair competition counterclaims, because "[e]ach party brought virtually identical claims with respect to the same trademark, and neither was successful." However, the Eighth Circuit directed the district court on remand to determine whether attorneys' fees are available based on plaintiff's claim for declaratory judgment of trademark ownership, and noted that plaintiff may be able to seek cancellation of defendant's registrations by filing a petition with the PTO.

Seventh Circuit Rejects Post-Trial Argument Regarding Lack of Continuous Use: S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc. v. Nutraceutical Corp., No. 15-33337 (7th Cir. Aug. 25, 2016)
Wood, CJ. In a dispute involving two companies using the mark BUG OFF over a 20-year period, where defendant Nutraceutical adopted the mark over 35 years ago but never registered it and plaintiff S.C. Johnson acquired the rights of a third party who registered the mark in 1998, the district court rejected the prior use defense based on a failure by defendant to demonstrate continuous use and found trademark infringement. The Seventh Circuit reversed, finding that plaintiff was estopped from raising the continuous use defense for the first time at the post-trial stage, and that even if the continuous argument was considered, defendant had established continuous use.

Ninth Circuit Holds Sufficient Nexus Between Sales in Canada and American Commerce to Warrant Extraterritorial Application of the Lanham Act: Trader Joe's Co. v. Hallatt, No. 14-35035 (9th Cir. Aug. 26, 2016)
Christen, J. In a case involving a purchaser of Trader Joe's products in Washington state who distributed the goods in Canada under the business name Pirate Joe's, the Ninth Circuit reversed the district court's dismissal of Trader Joe's Lanham Act claims for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, concluding that: (1) extraterritorial reach of the Lanham Act is a non-jurisdictional merits question, and the statute's "use in commerce" element gives it extraterritorial reach; and (2) there was a sufficient nexus between defendant's activities and Trader Joe's American commerce due to the reputational harm defendant's activities could cause to Trader Joe's trademarks, which would diminish the value of the marks. Alternatively, the court also found that the defendant operated in American commerce when he purchased goods in Washington and hired locals to assist him. Finally, the court found that there was not sufficient "interference with other nations' sovereign authority" to prevent application of the Lanham Act.

Tenth Circuit Holds That Color in Product Packaging Can Be Inherently Distinctive Only When Specific Colors Are Used With a Shape, Pattern or Design: Forney Industries, Inc. v. Daco of Missouri, Inc., No. 15-1226 (10th Cir. Aug. 29, 2016)
Hartz, J. In a case involving packaging for metalworking parts and accessories, the Tenth Circuit affirmed the district court's summary judgment dismissing trade dress claims, holding that color in product packaging can be inherently distinctive only when specific colors are used in association with shapes, patterns or designs, and that plaintiff's red, yellow, white and black color scheme was insufficient because it was used inconsistently. The court also affirmed the district court's finding that there was not sufficient evidence to show that the trade dress had acquired secondary meaning based on its determination that the CEO's affidavit regarding advertising, sales data and exclusive use over a 20-year period was lacking.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.