United States: Supreme Court Provides for Judicial Review of Army Corps Determinations

On May 31, 2016, the Supreme Court of the United States held that final determinations by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers regarding the presence or absence of "waters of the United States" can be appealed to the courts. The case, Army Corps of Engineers v. Hawkes Co., 578 U.S. ____ (2016), is likely to lead to a profusion of lawsuits by affected parties, and also revealed a view among the Justices that the definition of "waters of the United States" reaches too far.

Background

The Clean Water Act (CWA) regulates discharges to "navigable waters," defined as "waters of the United States, including the territorial seas." 33 U.S.C. § 1362(7). In 1985, the Court established that the term "navigable waters" includes more than just waters that would be deemed "navigable" in the "classical" or traditional sense. United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc., 474 U.S. 121, 133 (1985). But, despite several related Court decisions since then, see, e.g., Rapanos v. United States, 547 U.S. 715 (2006), Solid Waste Agency v. United States Army Corps of Eng'rs, 531 U.S. 159 (2001), the scope of the terms "navigable waters" and "waters of the United States" remains "notoriously unclear." Sackett v. EPA, 132 S. Ct. 1367, 1375 (U.S. 2012) (Alito, J., concurring). The Corps and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) attempted to provide some clarity in May 2015 by issuing a new rule modifying the definition. But the new rule—commonly dubbed the WOTUS rule—remains mired in controversy, subject to challenges in federal district courts around the country and currently stayed nationwide. See In re EPA, 803 F. 804 (6th Cir. 2015).

Defining "navigable waters" and "waters of the United States" is important under several CWA programs, including those regulating discharges of dredged or fill material under Section 404 (administered jointly by the Corps and EPA), discharges of pollutants from "point sources" under Section 402 (delegated to most states for permitting under the National Pollution Discharge Elimination System, or NPDES), and spills of oil and other hazardous substances under Section 311.

Jurisdictional Determinations

While the terminology remains muddy, a project proponent can seek clarity by asking the Corps to determine whether "waters of the United States" exist within a specific project area. In response to such requests, the Corps can provide a preliminary jurisdictional determination (JD), which advises the proponent as to whether "waters of the United States" may be present, or an approved JD, which is a "definitive, official determination that there are, or that there are not, jurisdictional 'waters of the United States' on a site." Corps, Regulatory Guidance Letter, No. 08-02 (June 26, 2008). Under the Corps' regulations, preliminary JDs are non-binding and advisory in nature and cannot be appealed, see 33 C.F.R. § 331.2, while approved JDs "constitute a Corps final agency action" and can be administratively appealed, 33 C.F.R. §§ 320.1(a)(6), 331.2. Approved JDs can be relied upon for five years. Corps, Regulatory Guidance Letter No. 05-02 (June 14, 2005).

Judicial Review

In Hawkes, the Court concluded that approved JDs can be challenged in court under the Administrative Procedures Act (APA). The Court's analysis was based on a two-prong test set forth in Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154 (1997). Under that test, an agency action is final and judicially reviewable under the APA if it: (1) marks the consummation of the agency's decisionmaking process; and (2) causes rights or obligations to be determined, or legal consequences to flow. While there is no dispute that approved JDs satisfy the first prong, the Corps argued that approved JDs are just one step in a permitting process that ultimately provides for judicial review. The Corps also asserted that a project proponent could seek judicial review if it proceeded without a permit and eventually faced an enforcement action. Other courts have been convinced that these alternative remedies were adequate to counter the assertion of a right to judicial review of approved JDs under the APA. See, e.g., Belle Co., L.L.C. v. United States Army Corps of Eng'rs, 761 F.3d 383, 393-394 (5th Cir. 2014) (holding that a JD is not reviewable final agency action); Fairbanks N. Star Borough v. U.S. Army Corps of Eng'rs, 543 F.3d 586, 593 (9th Cir. 2008) (same); Nat'l Ass'n of Homebuilders v. EPA, 956 F. Supp. 2d 198, 209-212 (D.D.C. 2013) (explaining that a Corps determination that a property contains traditional navigable waters is practically indistinguishable from a JD and thus is not final agency action). But in Hawkes, the Court took a "pragmatic" approach and found the alternatives that the Corps proposed were inadequate in light of the resources required to navigate the permitting process and the potential liability that can arise in the CWA enforcement context. Accordingly, the Court concluded that an approved JD is a final agency action judicially reviewable under the APA.

Justice Roberts delivered the 8-0 opinion of the Court, affirming a decision by the Eighth Circuit. Justices Kennedy, Thomas and Alito added a concurrence to emphasize the need for certainty regarding "waters of the United States." Justice Kagan added a concurrence to clarify that the second prong of Bennett v. Spear is satisfied based on a memorandum of agreement (MOA) between the Corps and EPA—the two agencies authorized to enforce the CWA—establishing that JDs are binding. Justice Ginsburg added a concurrence stating that approved JDs can be considered final regardless of the MOA.

Implications

The Court's decision is likely to lead to an increase in litigation. Project proponents, landowners and other affected parties that are unhappy with an approved JD can now challenge it in court. Project opponents also are likely to rely on Hawkes to challenge the legitimacy of approved JDs. While at some point, the increased involvement of the courts may result in clearer rules for identifying and delineating waters of the United States, it seems likely in the coming years to unravel the Corps' efforts to develop consistent approaches and guidelines. See, e.g., EPA/Corps, Revised Guidance on Clean Water Act Jurisdiction Following the Supreme Court Decision in Rapanos v. U.S. and Carabell v. U.S. (Dec. 2, 2008); Corps, Jurisdictional Determination Form Instructional Guidebook (May 30, 2007).

The Hawkes decision also provides a glimpse into how the WOTUS rule may be treated, if challenges to that rule eventually reach the Court. While EPA and the Corps claimed that "the scope of jurisdictional waters will decrease" under the WOTUS rule, 80 Fed. Reg. 37054, 37101 (June 29, 2015), that claim does not seem to be getting much traction in the courts. For example, in an August 2015 decision, a federal judge blocked the implementation of the rule, calling it "exceptionally expansive." North Dakota v. United States EPA, 127 F. Supp. 3d 1047, 1053 (D.N.D. 2015). In Hawkes, the Court signaled that it shares that view, reciting statistics on the expansive area encompassed by the Corps' jurisdiction ("half of Alaska and an area the size of California in the lower 48 States") and expressing (in the concurrence of Justices Kennedy, Thomas and Alito) that "the reach and systemic consequences of the Clean Water Act remain a cause for concern." If it gets the opportunity, the Court seems poised to narrow the definition of "waters of the United States."

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.