United States: Recent N.Y. Ethics Opinions: February 2016

Last Updated: February 16 2016
Article by Tyler Maulsby

Here are summaries of ethics opinions issued October and December 2015. The opinions were issued by the NYSBA Committee on Professional Ethics and the NYC Bar Association Committee on Professional Ethics. NYLER will continue to provide updates on new ethics opinions issued by these and other ethics committees in New York State.

For information about how to obtain an ethics opinion from the NYS Bar Association Committee on Professional Ethics, please visit http://www.nysba.org/Ethics/.

For information about how to obtain an ethics opinion from the NYC Bar Association Committee on Professional Ethics, please visit http://www.nycbar.org/ethics/informal-ethics-opinions/


NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION OPINIONS

NYSBA Ethics Op. 1070 (Oct. 2015)
Obligations to Joint Clients

Opinion 1070 analyzes a lawyer's duty when representing multiple clients in the same matter, where one client requests that the lawyer withhold information from the other joint clients. The inquiring lawyer (Lawyer A) represents several clients in a real estate litigation. In the course of the representation, one of the lawyer's clients directs Lawyer A to provide a copy of the client's file to Lawyer B. The client also directs Lawyer A not to disclose the request to the other joint clients. The retainer agreement between the joint clients and Lawyer A does not address confidentiality of communications from any joint client vis-à-vis the others. The Opinion concludes that while a client generally is entitled to full access to his or her file, if Lawyer A believes that the client's request for the file is material to the other co-clients, the lawyer may not comply with the client's request. The Opinion reasons that in a joint representation, there is a "presumption that the lawyer will share material information" between co-clients absent some agreement to the contrary. Similarly, a lawyer is required to keep all clients informed about any "material developments" in the representation. Thus, the Opinion reasons, Rule 1.15(c)(4)'s requirement that the lawyer promptly deliver client property is not applicable where the client's request would "cause a breach by the lawyer of duties to the other co-clients." As a result, the Opinion instructs the inquiring lawyer to inform the requesting client that "if he or she does not withdraw the request for confidentiality, the lawyer will not be able to provide a copy of the file, but that, if the client authorizes the lawyer to disclose the requesting client's request for the file to the co-clients, the lawyer will provide the file to the requester."

The full opinion is available at: http://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=60194

NYSBA Ethics Op. 1071 (Oct. 2015)
Partisan Political Activities by Municipal Attorney

In Opinion 1071 the inquiring lawyer works for the Civilian Complaint Review Board (CCRB), a municipal agency tasked with investigating claims of police misconduct and referring any substantiated claims for administrative and/or criminal prosecution. The Opinion addresses whether the inquiring lawyer may engage in partisan political activity. The Opinion first cites a number of earlier ethics opinions which concluded that state prosecutors and attorneys that work for state investigative agencies may not engage in partisan political activities without violating Rule 8.4(d) ("conduct prejudicial to the administration of justice"). Opinion 1071 reaches a similar conclusion. The Opinion reasons that even though the CCRB may have limited jurisdiction, the agency "plays a critical role in influencing the judgments of those with the final say" on whether charges are brought against a police officer. As a result, if the attorney were to engage in partisan political activities, it could create the "perception that political attitudes may affect the decision-making of attorneys who have within their power the ability to instigate (or not) further investigations and to affect (whether adversely or not) the careers and reputations of individuals they are charged with monitoring."

The full opinion is available at:http://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=60196


NEW YORK CITY BAR ASSOCIATION OPINIONS

N.Y. City Formal Eth. Op. 2015-7 (Dec. 2015)
Attorney Advertising and LinkedIn

Opinion 2015-7 addresses two questions: (1) under what circumstances does a lawyer's LinkedIn profile constitute attorney advertising; and (2) if a lawyer's LinkedIn profile does constitute attorney advertising, what are the lawyer's obligations under the advertising rules? The Opinion concludes that a lawyer's LinkedIn profile does not constitute attorney advertising unless it meets five criteria. Specifically, (1) it is a communication made by or on behalf of the lawyer; (2) the "primary purpose" of the LinkedIn profile is to attract new clients to "retain the lawyer for pecuniary gain"; (3) the lawyer's profile relates to the legal services offered by the lawyer; (4) the lawyer intends for her profile to be viewed by potential clients; and (5) the content of the LinkedIn profile does not fit within any of the recognized exceptions to attorney advertising. The Opinion's conclusion is based largely on the definition of attorney advertising in Rule 1.0(a), which is "any public or private communication made by or on behalf of a lawyer or law firm about that lawyer or law firm's services, the primary purpose of which is for the retention of the lawyer or law firm." Owing to that definition, the Opinion concludes, "it should not be presumed that a lawyer who posts information about herself on LinkedIn necessarily does so for the primary purpose of attracting paying clients." However, if a lawyer's LinkedIn profile or content posted on the lawyer's profile does meet the definition of attorney advertising, the lawyer must comply with the various requirements in the New York Rules that govern attorney advertising. This includes: labeling the content on the profile "Attorney Advertising" (Rule 7.1(e)); including the lawyer's name, principal law office address and telephone number on the advertisement (Rule 7.1(h)); ensuring that the lawyer pre-approve any content before it is posted (Rule 7.1(k)); and preserving a copy of the advertisement for at least one year (Rule 7.1(k)). Also, Rule 7.1(a)(1) prohibits the lawyer from posting any false, deceptive or misleading statements in any advertising. The Opinion advises that before disseminating any advertisements on LinkedIn or any other social media, the attorney should ensure that the advertisements comply with all the requirements in Article 7 of the Rules of Professional Conduct.

The full opinion is available at: http://www.nycbar.org/ethics/ethics-opinions-local/2015opinions/2350-formal-opinion-2015-7-application-of-attorney-advertising-rules-to-linkedin

N.Y. City Formal Eth. Op. 2015-8 (Dec. 2015)
Fee-Sharing with Law Firms with Nonlawyer Owners

Opinion 2015-8 addresses whether a New York lawyer may share fees with a law firm with nonlawyer owners that is located in a jurisdiction that authorizes nonlawyer ownership of law firms. Rule 5.4(a) of the New York Rules prohibits lawyers from sharing legal fees with nonlawyers. Similarly, Rules 5.4(b) and (c) prohibit lawyers from entering into partnerships with nonlawyers for the purpose of providing legal services. However, the Opinion recognizes that the District of Columbia and several foreign jurisdictions allow lawyers to practice in firms with nonlawyer owners. The Opinion concludes that a New York lawyer may divide legal fees with such firms without violating New York's prohibition on fee-sharing with nonlawyers. The opinion reasons that such an arrangement "presents little risk that a nonlawyer would impair a New York lawyer's independent professional judgment."

The full opinion is available at: http://www.nycbar.org/ethics/ethics-opinions-local/2015opinions/2351-formal-opinion-2015-8-fee-sharing-with-law-firms-that-permit-nonlawyers-to-have-a-financial-interest-or-managerial-authority-where-such-law-firms-are-located-in-jurisdictions-tha

Originally published by the New York Legal Ethics Reporter, February 2016

www.fkks.com

This alert provides general coverage of its subject area. We provide it with the understanding that Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz is not engaged herein in rendering legal advice, and shall not be liable for any damages resulting from any error, inaccuracy, or omission. Our attorneys practice law only in jurisdictions in which they are properly authorized to do so. We do not seek to represent clients in other jurisdictions.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
Tyler Maulsby
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.