United States: A Review Of Recent Whistleblower Developments - 05 October 2015

Second Circuit Splits from Fifth Circuit on Whistleblower SEC Reporting Obligations

On September 10, 2015, the Second Circuit in Berman v. Neo@Ogilvy LLC, 2015 U.S. App. LEXIS 16071 (2d Cir. 2015), ruled that whistleblowers need not report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) in order to state a claim for unlawful retaliation under the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (Dodd-Frank Act) anti-retaliation provisions. The split with the Fifth Circuit's contrary decision in Asadi v. G.E. Energy (USA), LLC, 720 F.3d 620 (5th Cir. 2013), sets up a potential review by the U.S. Supreme Court. See September 14, 2015, Legal News: Whistleblower Developments.

SEC Issues Formal Interpretation of Whistleblower Rules Regarding "Whistleblower" Definition

On August 4, 2015, the SEC issued an interpretive rule to clarify that, for purposes of the anti-retaliation provisions of the Dodd-Frank Act, an individual's status as a whistleblower was to be determined solely by SEC Rule 21F-2(b)(1). The interpretive rule explains that Rule 21F-2(b)(1) provides expressly that, for purposes of the anti-retaliation protections, the whistleblower need not report information to the Commission. The interpretive rule focused on SEC Rule 21F-9(a), which specifies the specific procedures for reporting to the SEC that must be followed by an individual who seeks to qualify as a whistleblower under Rule 21F-2(a). The interpretive rule clarifies that Rule 21F-9(a) is "a procedural rule that applies only to help determine an individual's status as a whistleblower for purposes of Section 21F award and confidentiality provisions." In summary, the interpretive rule explains that the rules governing an individual's status as a whistleblower in the retaliation context are different from those for individuals seeking to recover an award and that those rules are not governed by Rule 21F-9(a). The SEC, of course, brought this interpretive rule to the attention of the Second Circuit during its consideration of the Berman case. The majority noted the SEC's interpretive rule, as did the dissenting judge, who was unimpressed and noted that the SEC issued its interpretive rule only after oral argument.

SEC Continues to Investigate Alleged Efforts to Impede Whistleblowers

On September 10, 2015, Barnes & Noble disclosed in a quarterly report on Form 10-Q that the SEC was investigating historical confidentiality provisions that it had in agreements with employees. The disclosure identified the investigation as relating to Rule 21F-17, the SEC rule implementing the Dodd-Frank Act whistleblower provisions, which prohibits an employer from taking steps to impede a whistleblower from reporting information to the SEC. The company noted that it is in the process of discussing a potential resolution of the issue. As we reported earlier this year, the SEC brought its first enforcement action for violation of Rule 21F-17 against KBR, Inc. in April.

SEC Pays More Than $3 Million to a Whistleblower

On July 17, 2015, the SEC announced a whistleblower award of more than $3 million to an individual that the SEC called a "company insider" in its press release. The SEC said the information provided by the whistleblower helped the SEC crack a complex fraud that would otherwise have been very difficult for investigators to detect. The SEC also noted that the whistleblower's initial tip led to related actions that increased the whistleblower's award. The SEC noted that this payout was the third highest award to date under the SEC's whistleblower program. The order, however, makes clear that the whistleblower's award was adjusted downward due to the whistleblower's delay in reporting the fraud.

Fifth Circuit Reinstates SOX Claim Alleging Protected Activity Regarding Accounting for Taxes

On July 31, 2015, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in Wallace v. Tesoro Corp., 796 F.3d 468 (5th Cir. 2015), reversed in part a decision dismissing a Sarbanes-Oxley Act (SOX) whistleblower claim for failure to allege protected activity. The plaintiff contended that he engaged in protected activity with respect to four types of impropriety, including that the defendant was improperly booking taxes as revenue. The magistrate judge and the district court dismissed the claim as to three counts of an amended complaint, including the claim regarding taxes, as not having sufficiently alleged protected activity.

With respect to a fourth claim regarding wire fraud, the court ruled that the alleged protected activity was outside the scope of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) complaint that the plaintiff had initially filed. The Fifth Circuit agreed that the district court correctly dismissed the plaintiff's wire fraud claim because it was outside the scope of the OSHA complaint or any investigation that it might have prompted. With respect to the plaintiff's report that the company was booking taxes as revenue, the Fifth Circuit reversed the district court and held that the plaintiff had sufficiently pleaded that he reasonably believed that the accounting practice violated SEC rules. The court rejected the district court's observation that the plaintiff was an accounting expert and therefore his inability to identify a specific rule that had been violated rendered his belief of a violation unreasonable, saying "the basis for that belief in this case, including the level and role of [plaintiff's] accounting expertise and how that should weigh against him, are grounded in factual disputes that cannot be resolved at this stage of the case." In rejecting the defendant's arguments, the court held that Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 9(b) does not apply to SOX complaints, citing SOX's "low hurdle of pleading a plausible case for relief."

District Court Rules That Accounting and Auditing Expertise Supported Reasonableness of Pro Se Plaintiff's SOX Claim

In Huang v. Harman, Int'l Indus. Inc., 2015 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 98594 (D. Conn. July 29, 2015), the United States District Court for the District of Connecticut found that a pro se plaintiff stated a claim by attaching his OSHA complaint to his federal court complaint. In the OSHA complaint, the plaintiff sufficiently alleged that he had uncovered accounting errors, including misstated inventory reserves, sales, and gross margins, that led to an overstatement of profits of $20 million. The court found that the plaintiff's training as an accountant and work as a SOX auditor supported plaintiff's reasonable belief that he was engaging in SOX-protected activity. Further, the plaintiff's supervisor had encouraged him to pursue his concerns. The court rejected the defendant's argument that the alleged accounting errors were "innocuous or trivial" because the errors were numerous, were in different departments at different times, amounted to tens of millions of dollars, and were reported to shareholders on SEC filings.

District Court Rejects SOX Claim on Multiple Grounds, Including That Plaintiff Would Have Been Terminated in Absence of Protected Activity

In Hill v. Komatsu America Corp., 2015 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 116611 (N.D. Ill. Aug. 26, 2015), the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois dismissed a SOX retaliation claim on summary judgment on several grounds. The plaintiff had raised concern to the defendant's CEO that the defendant's repair and maintenance program offered to distributors and end users of the defendant's products was insufficiently funded by reserves. A month or so later, the plaintiff was terminated after an unrelated investigation regarding improper expense reporting and taking his wife on company business without approval. The court granted the defendant's motion to dismiss on four separate grounds.

First, the court found that a concern that the repair and maintenance reserve was too low was not the same as suggesting securities fraud, and the plaintiff had never suggested a material misrepresentation was made to shareholders. Second, the defendant did not know that the plaintiff was engaged in protected activity because he had not reported that anything illegal was taking place. Third, the plaintiff had not shown that his expression of concern was a contributing factor in his termination. Finally, even if the plaintiff had established a prima facie case of retaliation, the summary judgment record showed that he would have been terminated in the absence of protected activity due to his violations of the defendant's travel and expense policy.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.