United States: What Proxyconn Means For Future Inter Partes Reviews

On June 16, 2015, the US Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit decided Microsoft Corp. v. Proxyconn Inc., which is the Federal Circuit's first decision reversing an inter partes review determination by the US Patent and Trademark Office's Patent Trial and Appeal Board. Given the increased filing of IPR petitions, the intellectual property community has closely watched to see how much deference the Federal Circuit will accord the PTAB's decisions.

The Proxyconn case is thus historic insofar as it's the first time that the court has reversed a PTAB decision invalidating claims in an issued patent. This decision also provides some insights into how the Federal Circuit will review appeals from PTAB decisions in future IPR proceedings, including how to apply the "broadest reasonable interpretation" and the propriety of the judge-made rules for amending claims.

Background: The Federal Circuit's recent review of IPR decisions

By way of background, an IPR is a recently created trial proceeding created by the America Invents Act. Congress created IPR proceedings for the purpose of "providing quick and cost effective alternatives to litigation."1 In an IPR, the PTAB will consider grounds of unpatentability under §§ 102 or 103, and only based on prior art patents or printed publications. Issuance of a final written decision will normally estop a petitioner again challenging validity of patent claims in district court based on grounds that were raised or reasonably could have been raised in the IPR.

IPRs began on Sept. 16, 2012, and have grown rapidly in popularity as an alternative to district court litigation. Reasons for their popularity include the PTAB's use of the broadest reasonable interpretation ("BRI") standard for construing patents claims, which many perceive to be broader than the Phillips standard used in US district courts. The PTAB also reviews patentability under a "preponderance of the evidence" standard, which is lower than the "clear and convincing evidence" standard used in US district courts. These factors, combined with the significantly lower cost and speedier resolution of IPRs, as compared with litigation in district courts, have made IPRs attractive. So far, the Federal Circuit has decided fewer than 20 appeals from PTAB's AIA trials. This has consisted of just three precedential opinions, 15 summary affirmances, and one nonprecedential affirmance.

To date, Proxyconn, GTNX and Cuozzo are the only precedential decisions reviewing the PTAB's decisions in these recently created post-grant trials conducted by the PTAB. In Cuozzo, the Federal Circuit ruled that the PTAB correctly uses the BRI standard in construing patent claims in IPR proceedings, rather than a Phillips claim construction analysis used in district court.2 In GTNX, the Federal Circuit made clear that the court will not review the PTAB's decision whether to institute an IPR.3 Rather, the Federal Circuit will confine its review to the PTAB's final written decisions as to patentability. Id.

Until the Federal Circuit's recent decision in Proxyconn, all of the court's other decisions had affirmed the PTAB's rulings. This pattern of uniform affirmances by the Federal Circuit, at least before Proxyconn, contributed to the widely held perception that IPRs are a more favorable forum for challengers than for patent owners. In Proxyconn, the Federal Circuit provided some guidance regarding how to apply BRI and the requirements for motions to amend.

Proxyconn's observations about how to apply "broadest reasonable interpretation"

First, in Proxyconn, the Federal Circuit, citing Cuozzo, once again confirmed that the broadest reasonable interpretation standard applies to AIA trials.4 It also shed some light on how BRI should be applied in IPRs and when the PTAB's claim construction under BRI goes too far such that its constructions are unreasonable under general claim construction principles.

In Proxyconn, the Federal Circuit made clear that it will not uphold unreasonably broad constructions that are inconsistent with the proper scope of a claimed invention.5 First, in construing claims under BRI, the court explained that "claims should always be read in light of the specification and teachings in the underlying patent."6 Second, "[t]he PTO should also consult the patent's prosecution history in proceedings in which the patent has been brought back to the agency for a second review."7 Third, the Federal Circuit stated that any construction under BRI "must be consistent with the one that those skilled in the art would reach."8

In several different ways, the Federal Circuit warned that a construction under BRI can be too broad if it doesn't follow the principles above. For example, the PTAB may not "construe claims during IPR so broadly that its constructions are unreasonable under general claim construction principles."9 Further, the PTAB's construction "cannot be divorced from the specification and the record evidence" and "must be consistent with the one that those skilled in the art would reach."10 Finally, "[a] construction that is 'unreasonably broad' and which does not 'reasonably reflect the plain language and disclosure' will not pass muster."11

In applying these principles, the Federal Circuit determined that a claim that generically recited "two other computers" was limited to sender/receiver computers when read in view of the specification. The court similarly held that the claim required sender/receiver computers distinct from gateway and caching computer intermediaries. On their face, the claims did not necessarily contain these requirements, but when read in light of the specification, the Federal Circuit determined they did under the BRI standard.

It is worthy of note that the Federal Circuit's criteria for construction under BRI, at least in this case, resemble those under Phillips.12 Interestingly, in Proxyconn, the Federal Circuit explained that it would have reached the same result if it had applied "the traditional claim construction framework set forth in Phillips."13 This implies that, at times, the meaning of claim terms could be the same under BRI and Phillips.

The similarity between the BRI construction discussed by the Federal Circuit in Proxyconn and traditional Phillips construction raises many questions about the use of BRI in the future. For example, will the Proxyconn decision act to narrow the gap between a BRI construction and a US district court construction. Does the Proxyconn decision open the door for the Federal Circuit to decide later that the PTAB should use the analysis found in Phillips to determine the BRI of claim terms? Should practitioners and the PTAB use Phillips as a framework to support its claim construction analysis under BRI? Given the number of appeals at the Federal Circuit and the growing interest in using AIA proceedings to invalidate patents, there will likely be future decisions providing guidance on the application of BRI in IPR proceedings.

The Proxyconn decision issued during a time in which some criticize using BRI to construe claims in these quasi-judicial proceedings. The policy behind BRI is to ensure that claims have justifiable breath over newly applied prior art through an amendment process. The PTAB regularly denies motions to amend claims in AIA trials. This has led to legislative efforts to mandate statutorily the PTAB to use the same analysis as district courts since Phillips. This should provide another reason for both the Federal Circuit and PTAB to provide guidance on how to analyze a claim under the BRI rubric.

Proxyconn's observations about amending claims in an IPR

The Federal Circuit's decision in Proxyconn also provides some guidance as to whether the PTAB's current stern reluctance to permit claim amendments in IPRs will continue.

While there are other appeals before the Federal Circuit that requested review of the PTAB's amendment process, Proxyconn was the first to receive an opinion. Notably, in Proxyconn the Federal Circuit asked for supplemental briefing on the administrative procedure surrounding the amendment process. In particular, the Federal Circuit asked for briefing regarding the PTAB's authority to apply Idle Free Systems Inc. v. Bergstrom Inc.14 and its requirements when the rule governing motions to amend includes no such requirements.

Idle Free is an informative opinion that outlines what the PTAB requires in a motion to amend claims. First, the motion to amend should include one substitute claim for one challenged claim. Second, the substitute claim must be responsive to an alleged ground of unpatentability, must narrow the claim it replaces, and must not introduce new matter. The third condition is that the PTAB expects the patent owner to provide a showing of patentable distinction over the prior art for each substitute claim.

In Proxyconn, the Federal Court agreed with the PTO that the amendment rule "is not an exhaustive list of grounds upon which the Board can deny a motion to amend." The court agreed with the PTO that the agency, like other federal agencies, may use rulemaking or adjudication to shape the contours of its rules.

The Federal Circuit stopped short of approving the complete set Idle Free requirements. It agreed with the PTO that the PTAB may require a patent owner to show a patentable distinction over the prior art of record, which in this case was limited to the prior art that "was very much a part of the entire [IPR]."15 Because this was the issue before it in Proxyconn, the Federal Circuit dropped a footnote that the court was not addressing whether the patent owner needed to show a patentable distinction over all the prior art known to the patent owner — a major complaint of patent owners. So it remains unclear whether the "prior art of record" includes more than what was used to challenge the patent claims. It also remains unclear whether the PTAB may require a showing of patentability under §§ 101 and 112 in the motion to amend.


This article was first published in Law360 on July 13, 2015. Co-authored by Robert Kramer, Michael O'Neill, Russell Tonkovich, Peter Su and Kevin Greenleaf, Dentons.


Conclusion

Proxyconn further clarifies the BRI analysis and requirements for motions to amend. BRI will remain the standard of claim construction in IPRs. Motions to amend will likely be restricted to one-for-one substitutions. Motions to amend will also have to show at least a patentable distinction over the prior art in the petition and the petitioner's opposition to the motion to amend.

1 H.R. Rep. No. 112-98, pt. 1, at 48 (2011), 2011 U.S.C.C.A.N. 67, 78.

2 In re Cuozzo Speed Technologies LLC, 778 F.3d 1271 (Fed. Cir. 2015).

3 GTNX Inc. v. INTTRA Inc., Nos. 15-1349, -1350, -1352, -1353 (Fed. Cir. June 16, 2015).

4 Proxyconn, at 6.

5 Id.

6 Id. at 7.

7 Id.

8 Id.

9 Id. at 6.

10 Id.

11 Id. at 7.

12 Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2005).

13 Id. at 15, FN1.

14 IPR2012-00027, 2013 WL 5947697 (PTAB June 11, 2013).

15 Idle Free at 27.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
Events from this Firm
16 Jan 2018, Seminar, New York, United States

Dentons is pleased to offer a full day of California CLE-approved classes, just in time to meet the California MCLE compliance period deadline of February 1, 2018.*

17 Jan 2018, Seminar, Los Angeles, United States

Dentons is pleased to offer a full day of California CLE-approved classes, just in time to meet the California MCLE compliance period deadline of February 1, 2018.*

18 Jan 2018, Conference, Washington, DC, United States

Please join us for the Dentons Forum for Women Executives luncheon featuring Rebecca Boggs Roberts, NPR journalist and author of Suffragists in Washington, D.C.: The 1913 Parade and the Fight for the Vote.

 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Registration
Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:
  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.
  • Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.
    If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here
    If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq you may opt out by clicking here

    Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

    Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

    Use of www.mondaq.com

    You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

    Disclaimer

    Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

    The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

    Registration

    Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

    • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
    • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
    • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

    Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

    Information Collection and Use

    We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

    We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

    Mondaq News Alerts

    In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

    Cookies

    A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

    Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

    Log Files

    We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

    Links

    This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

    Surveys & Contests

    From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

    Mail-A-Friend

    If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

    Emails

    From time to time Mondaq may send you emails promoting Mondaq services including new services. You may opt out of receiving such emails by clicking below.

    *** If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of services offered by Mondaq you may opt out by clicking here .

    Security

    This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

    Correcting/Updating Personal Information

    If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

    Notification of Changes

    If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

    How to contact Mondaq

    You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

    If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.

    By clicking Register you state you have read and agree to our Terms and Conditions