United States: Senate Adopts Iran Nuclear Agreement Review Act

Bill Heads To House

On May 7, 2015, the US Senate voted 98-1 to adopt the Iran Nuclear Agreement Review Act of 2015 (the "Act").1 The Act is the culmination of months of legislative maneuvering and a debate over foreign policy and separation of powers issues that has cut across ordinary political and partisan lines—notwithstanding the final vote. Legislative focus on the Act—and the underlying debate about a potential nuclear agreement between the "P5+1"2 and Iran—now turns to the House of Representatives. We analyze below the key elements of the Act.

Key elements of the Act

Submission to Congress for review

The Act3 requires the President to submit to Congress, no later than 5 days after the US reaches an agreement with Iran4 on its nuclear program: (1) the agreement itself; (2) a verification assessment report; and (3) a certification.

In the verification assessment report, the Secretary of State must assess the extent to which the US will be able to verify Iran's compliance; the adequacy of safeguards ensuring Iran will not be able to "further any nuclear-related military or explosive purpose"; and the capabilities of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) to verify Iran's compliance.5

The certification is two-part. By its terms, the Act requires that the President certify that the agreement:

  • includes "the appropriate terms, conditions, and duration of the agreement with respect to Iran's nuclear activities", as well as "provisions describing any sanctions to be waived, suspended, or otherwise reduced" by the United States and any other nation or entity, including the UN; and
  • meets US non-proliferation objectives, does not "jeopardize" common defense and security, provides an "adequate framework" ensuring Iran's nuclear activities will not present an "unreasonable risk" to the common defense and security and ensures Iran's permitted nuclear activities will not "further any nuclear-related military or explosive purpose".

Congressional review and freezing of statutory sanctions

After the President has submitted the agreement, Congress will have 30 calendar days to review it.6 This window is extended to 60 calendar days, however, if the President transmits the agreement anytime between July 10, 2015, and September 7, 2015. This additional 30 days is noteworthy because under the current Joint Plan of Action, the P5+1 has until June 30, 2015 to reach an agreement with Iran. But the P5+1 may once again require additional time, just as it did when the "headline agreement" was reached a few days after its original deadline of March 30, 2015.7

During the congressional review period, the Act prohibits the President from waiving, suspending, limiting or otherwise refraining from applying statutory sanctions with respect to Iran.8 There are two express exceptions. First, the Act permits the President to impose statutory sanctions relief during the period of congressional review if Congress adopts a joint resolution stating in substance that it favors the agreement. Second, the Act permits the President to impose statutory sanctions relief, if after the period of congressional review, Congress has not adopted any joint resolution.

If Congress adopts a joint resolution expressly disapproving of the agreement, however, then the prohibition on sanctions relief automatically extends for potentially up to 22 calendar days. After a joint resolution of disapproval, the President is prohibited from waiving, suspending, limiting or otherwise refraining from applying Iran sanctions for 12 calendar days. The prohibition is then further extended for 10 calendar days following a Presidential veto of such joint resolution of disapproval. After that 10-day period, however, there are no further extensions of the prohibition provided under the Act, meaning that the President would then be free to provide sanctions relief.

Ongoing certification; Reinstatement of statutory sanctions

The Act requires the President to keep Congress informed of "all aspects of Iranian compliance" and any breach of the agreement. Specifically, the President must inform Congress within 10 calendar days of receiving "credible and accurate information" relating to a "potentially significant" breach or "compliance incident." Within 30 calendar days after submitting such a report, the President must determine whether the breach or incident constitutes a "material breach" and whether Iran has since "cured" that breach.9 While "material breach" and "noncompliance" are both defined under the Act, "compliance incident" is not; this may result in some disagreement as to what constitutes a reportable event.

The President must then certify every 90 days whether Iran is "transparently, verifiably, and fully implementing" the agreement, that no material breaches have occurred or have otherwise been cured, that Iran has not advanced its nuclear weapons program, and that sanctions suspensions are proportional to Iran's compliance and vital to US security. If the President does not provide the 90-day certification, or in the event of a breach, the Act enables Congress to expedite legislation reinstating statutory sanctions.10

Implications

As passed by the Senate, the Act would temporarily bind the President from enacting any sanctions relief under an agreement with Iran, during which time Congress could review and pass judgment on the agreement by means of a joint resolution. But the Act ultimately does not bar the President with going ahead with an agreement and related sanctions relief. Moreover, although the Act has a number of provisions regarding what Congress expects from any change to the sanctions regime under an agreement—i.e., that sanctions on Iran for terrorism, human rights abuses and ballistic missiles will remain in place—the Act does not impose conditions on an agreement.

The House may make amendments, which in turn would require adoption by the Senate before the Act goes to the President. But even if the House passes the Act as it stands now, and even if the Act becomes law, the tussle between legislative and executive prerogatives with respect to the Iranian sanctions regime will require active monitoring. This is not only because of the potential for further changes without advance notice, but also because the Act as it stands now contains a number of ambiguous terms and accords significant discretion to the President. Further changes could occur, moreover, in light of the details that emerge from the ongoing negotiations between the P5+1 and Iran.

Footnotes

1Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR) voted against the bill; Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA) did not vote.

2 The P5+1 comprises China, France, Germany, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.

3 The Act amends the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (42 USC 2011 et seq.) by adding new Section 135.

4 Although it is the six countries of the P5+1 that are negotiating an agreement with Iran, the Act defines "agreement" to be any agreement that makes commitments on the US, not commitments on the P5+1.

5 The Act provides that in preparing the verification report, the Secretary of State "shall" assume that Iran could "use all measures not expressly prohibited" by the agreement to conceal violations and "alter or deviate from standard practices" to impede verification.

6 The Act provides that the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and the House Foreign Affairs Committee will hold hearings.

7 See Dentons' Client Alert "Parameters on Iran nuclear deal reached, offers path for sanctions relief".

8 Although "statutory sanctions" is not a defined term, it appears they refer to those sanctions imposed by the President pursuant to specific authorization under laws such as the Iranian Sanctions Act, the Comprehensive Iran Sanctions, Accountability, and Divestment Act, the Iranian Threat Reduction and Syrian Human Rights Act, the National Defense Authorization Act of FY2012 (Section 1245), and the Iranian Freedom and Counterproliferation Act.  "Statutory sanctions" would thus seem to exclude those sanctions adopted by the President solely pursuant to the President's authority under the International Economic Emergency Powers Act (IEEPA) and under the Constitution."

9 The President must also submit a semi-annual report to Congress on Iranian compliance with any agreement, detailing among other things any delays or other acts of noncompliance, the military aspects of Iran's nuclear program, Iranian financial institutions' engagement in money laundering or terrorist finance activities and human rights violations.

10 The Act would expedite by, among other things, limiting the motions which may be made, and significantly restricting the time for debate.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
Events from this Firm
24 Jan 2018, Seminar, San Francisco, United States

Dentons will host our Fourth Annual Courageous Counsel Leadership Institute in January, centered on the theme "Cultivating Innovation."

24 Jan 2018, Seminar, New York, United States

Dentons will host our Fourth Annual Courageous Counsel Leadership Institute in January, centered on the theme "Cultivating Innovation."

31 Jan 2018, Seminar, Singapore, Singapore

Dentons Rodyk Academy is pleased to present a series of Breakfast Seminars covering various domains of IP, IP in tax planning, as well as Data Privacy.

 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Registration
Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:
  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.
  • Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.
    If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here
    If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq you may opt out by clicking here

    Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

    Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

    Use of www.mondaq.com

    You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

    Disclaimer

    Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

    The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

    Registration

    Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

    • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
    • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
    • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

    Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

    Information Collection and Use

    We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

    We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

    Mondaq News Alerts

    In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

    Cookies

    A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

    Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

    Log Files

    We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

    Links

    This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

    Surveys & Contests

    From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

    Mail-A-Friend

    If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

    Emails

    From time to time Mondaq may send you emails promoting Mondaq services including new services. You may opt out of receiving such emails by clicking below.

    *** If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of services offered by Mondaq you may opt out by clicking here .

    Security

    This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

    Correcting/Updating Personal Information

    If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

    Notification of Changes

    If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

    How to contact Mondaq

    You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

    If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.

    By clicking Register you state you have read and agree to our Terms and Conditions