United States: Second Circuit Denies Petition For En Banc Review Of Fairfield Decision

On January 13, 2015, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit denied a petition for en banc review of the Second Circuit's September 2014 panel decision holding that bankruptcy courts are required to review the propriety of a Chapter 15 debtor's transfers of property interests within the territorial jurisdiction of the U.S., even if such a transfer has already been approved in the debtor's foreign proceeding.  This decision represents a departure from prior cases, in which U.S. judges often enforced foreign court orders based on principles of comity and prohibited challengers from "re-litigating" such disputes in the U.S.  Absent consideration and reversal by the U.S. Supreme Court, the Second Circuit's opinion and subsequent denial of en banc review could signal a paradigm shift in Chapter 15 jurisprudence and is sure to be cited with fervor by litigants in future Chapter 15 proceedings.  The decision may also create new burdens or requirements for foreign liquidators using estate property located in the U.S.

Procedural History and Second Circuit's Panel Decision

Fairfield Sentry, Ltd. ("Fairfield") is a British Virgins Islands ("BVI") investment fund that invested approximately 95% of its assets with Bernard L. Madoff Investment Securities LLC ("BLMIS") prior to the financial crisis.  Following exposure of the Madoff fraud and commencement of BLMIS's liquidation in December 2008 under the Securities Investor Protection Act, Fairfield entered into a settlement with the BLMIS trustee fixing its claims against BLMIS at $230 million (the "Fairfield Claims"). 

In July 2009, Fairfield voluntarily initiated liquidation proceedings in the BVI.  Then, in 2010, the Fairfield foreign representative filed a Chapter 15 petition in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York (the "Bankruptcy Court") requesting recognition of the BVI liquidation as a "foreign main proceeding," which was granted.  Fairfield's foreign representative thereafter agreed to sell the Fairfield Claims to Farnum Place, LLC ("Farnum") for 32.125% of the claims' value, which was conditioned upon approval of the sale in both the BVI court and the Bankruptcy Court.  

However, three days after the sale agreement was executed, the BLMIS trustee agreed to a massive settlement in the BLMIS proceeding that increased the value of the Fairfield Claims by approximately $40 million dollars.  The Fairfield foreign representative, believing that the deal with Farnum was no longer in the estate's best interest, sought to unwind the sale of the Fairfield Claims in the BVI court.  The BVI court rejected Fairfield's arguments, approved the sale, and directed the Fairfield foreign representative to bring the issue before the Bankruptcy Court, as required in the sale agreement.  The Fairfield foreign representative requested that the Bankruptcy Court disallow the sale on the basis that it did not comply with Section 363 of the Bankruptcy Code, which is made applicable in Chapter 15 cases by virtue of Section 1520(a)(2) of the Bankruptcy Code.

The Bankruptcy Court rejected the foreign representative's arguments and approved the sale, reasoning that (a) principles of comity dictated that it defer to the BVI court and thus approve the sale,1 and (b) a common sense appraisal indicated that the Fairfield Claims were located in the BVI and not "within the territorial jurisdiction of the United States" as set forth in Section 1520, because the BVI court had a principal role in overseeing Fairfield's liquidation, and therefore the sale was not subject to review under Section 363.2  The Fairfield foreign representative then appealed to the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York (the "District Court"), which affirmed the Bankruptcy Court's decision, finding that it appropriately considered principles of comity.3

However, following another appeal by the Fairfield foreign representative, on September 26, 2014, the Second Circuit vacated the decisions by both the District Court and Bankruptcy Court and held that (a) under Section 1502(8) of the Bankruptcy Code, the Fairfield Claims were intangible properties subject to attachment or garnishment by the BLMIS trustee in New York, and therefore the situs of the Fairfield Claims was New York,4 and (b) a plain reading of Section 1520(a)(2) of the Bankruptcy Code "required" a bankruptcy court to conduct a Section 363 review of any transfer of an interest of a debtor in property within the U.S.5

Petition for Rehearing En Banc

On October 10, 2014, Farnum filed a petition in the Second Circuit for rehearing en banc, arguing, among other things, that (a) the Fairfield Claims were interests located in the BVI, and (b) Section 1520 did not preclude application of comity principles to a Section 363 review, and certainly did not "evince any [Congressional] intent to overrule the centuries of international-relations law that formed the backdrop for Congress's enactment of Chapter 15."6

Notably, Farnum argued the situs of the Fairfield Claims was in the BVI because Fairfield was a BVI company undergoing liquidation in the BVI under the supervision of a BVI court pursuant to a BVI liquidator (who was himself a BVI resident).7  Furthermore, any distribution on account of the Fairfield Claims would be subject to supervision by the BVI court.  Consequently, Farnum argued that in light of Chapter 15's purpose of facilitating foreign proceedings, a "common sense appraisal" dictated that the situs of the Fairfield Claims was the BVI.

Farnum further argued that the Fairfield foreign representative was incorrect in his contention that principles of comity could not apply with respect to Section 1520.  Specifically, Farnum argued that although Section 1520 provided that various provisions of the Bankruptcy Code, including Section 363, "apply" to a Chapter 15 ancillary proceeding, the use of the word "apply" was an example of "general words" that the Second Circuit had previously held, in a different but factually similar case, were "insufficient to express [a Congressional] intent to override the background rules of international comity . . . ."8  Consequently, Farnum argued, "mere 'general words' " could not overcome "centuries of court-developed international law."9

In contrast, the Fairfield foreign representative argued that New York was the proper situs of the Fairfield Claims because (a) the BLMIS trustee was located in New York and was subject to garnishment under New York law, (b) New York courts had jurisdiction over the BLMIS property from which the Fairfield Claims would be satisfied, and (c) the Fairfield Claims would be paid from BLMIS property located in New York.10

The Fairfield foreign representative challenged the applicability of comity, arguing that Congress intended Section 363 to be "automatic" and "nondiscretionary" in its application to a recognized foreign main proceeding.11  Reaching into the legislative history of both Section 1520 and the Model Law on Cross-Border Insolvency, upon which Chapter 15 is based, the Fairfield foreign representative argued that while certain provisions of Chapter 15 were discretionary, Section 1520 was an express Congressional command that could not be limited by the principle of comity, and had "no application where Congress has indicated otherwise."12

On January 13, 2015, the Second Circuit denied, without analysis, Farnum's petition for a rehearing en banc,13 thereby reaffirming the Second Circuit panel and sending the matter back to the Bankruptcy Court to issue a ruling consistent with the Second Circuit's September 26, 2014 decision. 

Impact of Second Circuit's Decision on Chapter 15 Cases

The Fairfield decision represents a directional shift from case law under Chapter 15 and its predecessor, Section 304 of the Bankruptcy Code.  Prior to Fairfield, orders issued in a foreign proceeding were routinely viewed by U.S. bankruptcy judges as having res judicata effect in the U.S. and thus, challenges were permitted only if a creditor demonstrated that it did not receive adequate notice in the foreign proceeding or did not otherwise have an opportunity to participate in the foreign proceeding.14  Now, parties seeking an independent review of a foreign order permitting a transfer or other actions affecting U.S. property may have a powerful new basis on which to object in the U.S. court.  In Fairfield, the foreign representative sought such a review, but in the future such requests may be more likely to come from U.S. creditors, who are usually the parties that request Chapter 15 courts to override orders entered in a foreign proceeding.  In addition, the Fairfield decision may give foreign representatives more requirements to satisfy and a higher burden to meet in the U.S. court before they can take actions with respect to the foreign debtor's U.S. property.  In light of this, and other recent case law in the Second Circuit,15 foreign representatives may carefully consider whether to seek Chapter 15 relief in the Second Circuit, where about 40% of all Chapter 15 cases have been filed.   


1 See In re Fairfield Sentry Ltd., 484 B.R. 626–28 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 2013).

2 Id. at 615 and 623. 

3 See Krys v. Farnum Place, LLC (In re Fairfield Sentry Ltd.), No. 13 Civ. 1524 (AKH) at 1, 2 (S.D.N.Y. July 3, 2013) [ECF No. 15]. 

4 See In re Fairfield Sentry Ltd., 768 F.3d 239, 244–45 (2d Cir. 2014).

5 Id. at 246. 

6 Brief for Rehearing of Appellee at 16–17, In re Fairfield Sentry Ltd., No. 13-3000-bk (2d Cir. 2014) [ECF No. 96].

7 Id. at 24–25.

8 Id. at 37 (citing In re Maxwell Commc'n Corp. plc ex rel. Homan, 93 F.3d 1036, 1048–49 (2d Cir. 1996)). 

9 Id.

10 Brief for Rehearing of Appellant at 29, In re Fairfield Sentry Ltd., No. 13-3000-bk (2d Cir. 2014) [ECF No. 99].

11 Id. at 33.

12 Id. at 34–37.

13 Kenneth Krys v. Farnum Place, LLC (In re Fairfield Sentry Ltd.), No. 13-3000-bk (2d Cir. Jan. 13, 2015) [ECF No. 102] (denying petition for rehearing en banc). 

14 See, e.g., In re Daewoo Motor of Am. v. Gen. Motors, 459 F.3d 1249, 1258–59 (Korean court judgment elevated to status of sister-state judgment based on comity); In re Telecom Argentina, No. 06 Civ. 2352, 2006 WL 3378687, at **5–6 (S.D.N.Y. 2006) (holding that a foreign court judgment was entitled to comity under Section 304, and therefore the matter was res judicata with respect to a creditor's objection in the U.S. court); In re Bd. of Dirs. of Hopewell Int'l Ins., 238 B.R. 25, 58–59 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1999) (same). 

15 See Drawbridge Special Opportunities Fund LP v. Barnet (In re Barnet), 737 F.3d 238, 247–51 (2d Cir. 2013) (holding that a foreign representative is precluded from obtaining Chapter 15 recognition if the relevant foreign debtor does not have a residence, place of business, or property in the U.S.) 

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Emails

From time to time Mondaq may send you emails promoting Mondaq services including new services. You may opt out of receiving such emails by clicking below.

*** If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of services offered by Mondaq you may opt out by clicking here .

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.