United States: Supreme Court To Consider Federal Circuit De Novo Review Of Claim Construction In Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. V. Sandoz Inc.

Last Updated: May 2 2014
Article by Martin L. Saad and Carly S. Levin

On March 31, 2014, the Supreme Court granted writ of certiorari in Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. v. Sandoz, Inc. to hear Teva's appeal of a Federal Circuit decision invalidating several patents on Teva's multi-billion dollar multiple sclerosis drug, Copaxone.  The Supreme Court will address the Federal Circuit's standard of review of district court claim construction.  On appeal, the standard of review determines the amount of deference an appeals court will give in reviewing a lower court's decision.  Typically, an appeals court will review the lower court's factual findings for clear error, under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a).  Under the "clearly erroneous" standard, an appeals court will not overturn the lower court decision unless definitely and firmly convinced that the lower court made a mistake.  However, after its 1998 Cybor Corporation v. FAS Technologies, Inc. decision, the Federal Circuit reviews claim construction de novo.  Under de novo review, the appeals court gives no deference to the lower court's findings, and will rule on the evidence and matters of law as if considering them for the first time.  In Cybor Corp., the Federal Circuit held that "as a purely legal question, we review claim construction de novo on appeal including any allegedly fact-based questions relating to claim construction."  138 F.3d 1448, 1456 (Fed. Cir. 1998). 

In the Teva case, the Federal Circuit reversed the district court's claim construction determination on appeal.  The district court had construed the term "molecular weight" to refer to the peak average molecular weight of the claimed synthetic polypeptide.  The district court rejected defendants' argument that the claim term could refer to three different average molecular weight measures, and was therefore indefinite.  Instead, the lower court credited Teva's expert's testimony that a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to use the peak average molecular weight.  Teva Pharm. USA, Inc. v. Sandoz, Inc., 876 F. Supp. 2d 295, 400 –01 (S.D.N.Y. 2012) aff'd in part, rev'd in part, 723 F.3d 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2013) cert. granted, 13-854, 2014 WL 199529 (U.S. Mar. 31, 2014). 

On appeal, the Federal Circuit overturned the district court's finding of indefiniteness, noting that "[i]ndefiniteness is a question of law that we review de novo."  Teva Pharm. USA, Inc. v. Sandoz, Inc., 723 F.3d 1363, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2013) cert. granted, 13-854, 2014 WL 199529 (U.S. Mar. 31, 2014).  Accordingly, the Federal Circuit considered Teva's expert's testimony along with the patent-in-suit's prosecution history, and found "[o]n de novo review of the district court's indefiniteness holding...[the expert] testimony does not save Group I claims from indefiniteness."  Id. at 1369.

Claim construction is a critical issue in almost every patent case.  The Federal Circuit's de novo review of claim construction may add a level of uncertainty to patent litigation, as a change in the way the court construes asserted patent claims can completely reverse the outcome of infringement and validity analyses. 

As Teva noted in its petition to the Supreme Court, the standard of review for claim construction is ripe for consideration after the Federal Circuit doubled down on de novo review by refusing to overturn the Cybor Corp. decision in Lighting Ballast Control LLC v. Philips Electronics North AmericaSee Reply Brief for Petitioners, Teva Pharms. USA, Inc. v. Sandoz, Inc., 723 F.3d 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (No. 13-854), 2014 WL 768707, at *1.  In Lighting Ballast, after a jury trial, the district court entered judgment of infringement and validity.  On appeal, the Federal Circuit reversed, holding the claims invalid for indefiniteness.  Plaintiffs petitioned for rehearing en banc, and the Federal Circuit granted the petition in order to address whether the de novo standard for appellate review of district court claim construction decisions from Cybor Corp. should be overturned. 

In Lighting Ballast, both parties argued that the Cybor Corp. de novo standard of review is not appropriate for all aspects of claim construction in light of its fact-dependent nature.  Lighting Ballast advocated for the Federal Circuit to abandon de novo review completely because claim construction is a mixed question of fact and law.  Rehearing En Banc Response Brief of Plaintiff-Appellee, Lighting Ballast Control LLC v. Philips Elecs. N. Am. Corp., 744 F.3d 1272 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (No. 2012-1014), 2013 WL 3423281, at *24–25.  Universal Lighting argued that claim construction is a matter of law, and therefore de novo review is appropriate except where there are "disputed historical facts (if any)."  Rehearing En Banc Reply Brief of Defendant-Appellant, Lighting Ballast Control LLC v. Philips Elecs. N. Am. Corp., 744 F.3d 1272 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (No. 2012-1014), 2013 WL 3816455, at *5.  The Federal Circuit heard oral argument on September 13, 2013, to determine whether it should overrule Cybor Corp. and afford deference to any aspect of a district court's claim interpretation. 

On February 21, 2014, the Federal Circuit reconfirmed the de novo review standard for claim construction under Cybor Corp. in a fractured 6-4 decision.  The Federal Circuit provided several reasons in support of upholding Cybor Corp., noting that neither the Supreme Court nor Congress has provided authority post-Cybor Corp. to undermine its reasoning.  See Lighting Ballast Control LLC v. Philips Elecs. N. Am. Corp., 744 F.3d 1272, 1283 (Fed. Cir. 2014).  In addition, the Federal Circuit found no evidence in the fifteen years since Cybor Corp. was decided that the de novo standard of review is "unworkable." Id.  Furthermore, the Federal Circuit cited that the policy on uniformity concerns which underlies its Cybor Corp. decision remains in force, and no uniform proposal or alternative standard of review has been provided.  Id. at 1286.  The Federal Circuit stated that there is no evidence that deferential review would lead to "improved consistency" or "increased clarity" or that Cybor Corp. increased the burdens on the courts or litigants conducting claim construction.  Id.

Given these reasons, the Federal Circuit upheld Cybor Corp. and the de novo standard of review.  In dissent, Judge O'Malley, joined by Chief Judge Rader and Judges Reyna and Wallach, warned that "[c]onsiderations of stare decisis...do not justify adhering to precedent that misapprehends the Supreme Court's guidance, contravenes the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and adds considerable uncertainty and expense to patent litigation." Lighting Ballast, 744 F.3d at 1297 (O'Malley, J., dissenting).  Instead, "[w]hen a district court makes fact-findings needed to resolve claim construction disputes, Rule 52(a) requires us to defer to those findings unless they are clearly erroneous."  Id. at 1317. 

While the parties in Lighting Ballast have yet to petition for writ of certiorari, the Supreme Court will hear the same issues in the Teva case next term in October or November 2014.  In the meantime, Chief Justice John Roberts denied Teva's application for an order staying the Federal Circuit's ruling. Despite Teva's offer to post a $500 million bond if the Supreme Court would temporarily restore the district court's injunction, Chief Justice Roberts was "not convinced...that [Teva] has shown a likelihood of irreparable harm from denial of a stay" because Teva would be able to recover damages from the defendants for past patent infringement should it prevail in its appeal before the Supreme Court.  Teva Pharms. USA, Inc. v. Sandoz, Inc., No. 13A1003, 2014 WL 1516642 (U.S. Apr. 18, 2014).  Chief Justice Roberts' order clears the way for drug makers to launch generic versions of Copaxone in May.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Registration
Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:
  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.
  • Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.
    If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here
    If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq you may opt out by clicking here

    Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

    Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

    Use of www.mondaq.com

    You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

    Disclaimer

    Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

    The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

    Registration

    Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

    • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
    • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
    • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

    Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

    Information Collection and Use

    We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

    We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

    Mondaq News Alerts

    In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

    Cookies

    A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

    Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

    Log Files

    We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

    Links

    This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

    Surveys & Contests

    From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

    Mail-A-Friend

    If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

    Emails

    From time to time Mondaq may send you emails promoting Mondaq services including new services. You may opt out of receiving such emails by clicking below.

    *** If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of services offered by Mondaq you may opt out by clicking here .

    Security

    This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

    Correcting/Updating Personal Information

    If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

    Notification of Changes

    If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

    How to contact Mondaq

    You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

    If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.

    By clicking Register you state you have read and agree to our Terms and Conditions