On November 2, 2004, Florida voters approved a constitutional
amendment that created Florida's minimum wage. The minimum wage
applies to all employees in the state who are covered by the
federal minimum wage. Florida law requires a new minimum wage
calculation each year on September 30, based on the Consumer Price
Index. If that calculation is higher than the federal rate (which
is currently $7.25 per hour), the state's rate then would take
effect the following January.
Florida's minimum wage is currently $7.67 per hour,
effective January 1, 2012. According to our discussions with state
officials, beginning January 1, 2013, Florida's minimum wage
will be $7.79 per hour, which is a 1.5% (or $0.12) increase from
last year due to the change in the Consumer Price Index.
Employers of "tipped employees" who meet eligibility
requirements for the tip credit under the Fair Labor Standards Act
(FLSA) may count tips actually received as wages under the FLSA.
However, the employer must pay "tipped employees" a
direct wage. Effective January 1, 2013, the new minimum wage for
tipped employees should become $4.77 per hour plus tips.
The state is scheduled to issue a press release today,
confirming the rates. In deciding whether the federal or state
minimum wage applies, federal law directs that businesses must pay
the higher of the two. The Florida minimum wage will prevail over
the federal rate until (and unless) the federal minimum wage
becomes higher than the state rate.
Employers must pay their employees the hourly state minimum wage
for all hours worked in Florida. The definitions of
"employer," "employee," and "wage"
for state purposes are the same as those established under the
An employee who has not received the lawful minimum wage after
notifying his or her employer and giving the employer 15 days to
resolve any claims for unpaid wages may bring a civil action in a
court of law against an employer to recover back wages plus damages
and attorneys' fees. The state attorney general may also bring
an action to enforce the minimum wage.
Note: This article was published in the
October 15 2012 issue of the Florida eAuthority.
The content of this article is intended to provide a general
guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought
about your specific circumstances.
To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.
Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.
On January 23, 2017, the Mine Safety and Health
Administration (MSHA) issued its Final Rule for
Examinations of Working Places in Metal and Nonmetal
Mines, amending in large part the existing workplace
The rule, which goes into effect on
May 23, 2017, imposes substantial administrative burdens
on mine operators. It also creates new risks of heightened
enforcement against operators and supervisors in the
event inspectors allege noncompliance with the myriad
requirements of the new standard. Join us for a webinar
that will describe in detail the rule’s requirements, provide
practical guidance for compliance, and offer tips for avoiding
heightened legal liability under the rule’s mandates.
Don't miss Ogletree Deakins' 2017 Workplace Strategies seminar, on May 3-6, 2017, at the Grand Hyatt San Diego. Ogletree Deakins’ annual Workplace Strategies seminar is the premier event of its kind for sophisticated human resources professionals, in-house counsel, and other business professionals.
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).