UK: A Review Of Employment Law Reform In 2013 And 2014

Last Updated: 3 February 2014
Article by Clare Gilroy-Scott

As with 2013, there will be no rest for employment law advisers, employers and HR practitioners in 2014, with further legislative change on the agenda.  Many of the changes hail from the government's Red Tape Challenge following its publication of the report "Progress on Reform" on 14 March 2013, which detailed the intended timetable for the introduction of its self-proclaimed "ambitious schedule" of employment law reforms.  Much has been anticipated in relation to the proposed reform, the aim of which has been to review policies and regulation that place requirements on employers, asking whether they are still necessary and appropriate, whether they could be simplified, or better implemented and enforced.  Some legislative change has been implemented but the impact and, indeed, a good part of the implementation timetable, still remains uncertain. This is a review of the changes in 2013 and 2014 which are probably of the most immediate practical interest for employers and HR practitioners.

2013 – A reminder of the main changes

  • Parental Leave

March 2013 saw the right to unpaid parental leave increased from 13 weeks to 18 weeks for all eligible parents.

  • Fit notes

March 2013 also saw the publication of new "fit note" guidance and this can be viewed here.

  • Collective Consultation

In April 2013 the minimum period for collective redundancies involving 100 or more employees was reduced from 90 to 45 days.  Employees on fixed term contracts which expire naturally are excluded from collective consultation requirements.

  • Whistleblowing

In June 2013 changes to whistleblowing legislation included adding a "public interest" element as a requirement of the disclosure, removing the "good faith" requirement (although where Tribunal retains the discretion to reduce any compensation awarded by up to 25%) and the introduction of vicarious liability for employers of employees who victimise colleagues because of whistleblowing.

  • Unfair dismissal

In July 2013, the maximum compensatory award for an unfair dismissal was capped at the lower of 52 weeks' pay or the statutory maximum award (currently £74,200 but expected to be increased for dismissals which are effective on or after 1 February 2014).  The 2 year qualifying period was removed in June 2013 for an unfair dismissal claim based upon political opinion or affiliation.

  • Settlement Agreements and Confidential Pre-termination Negotiations

Also in July 2013, compromise agreements were renamed "settlement agreements" and provisions were introduced into the Employment Rights Act 1996 to make some negotiations about the possible termination of an employee's employment inadmissible in unfair dismissal claims.  The protection only applies to ordinary unfair dismissal claims not claims of automatic unfair dismissal, discrimination, whistleblowing or breach of contract.  Furthermore, a Tribunal can decide, in an ordinary unfair dismissal claim, to allow such evidence if there is an allegation of "improper behaviour" during the negotiations (including harassment, discrimination and undue pressure, amongst others).  ACAS has produced a Code of Practice including template letters and settlement agreement.

  • Fees in the Employment Tribunal

Further change in July 2013 was the introduction of fees for Claimants to bring a claim in the Employment Tribunal of either £160 or £250, depending on the type of claim. Fees are also now payable at other stages of the Tribunal process, including a "hearing" fee of either £230 or £950.

  • Employee Shareholders

September 2013 saw the introduction of employee shareholders.  This is a new type of contract where an employee takes shares in the business (between £2,000 and £50,000) and in return gives up certain statutory employment rights, including unfair dismissal, redundancy payment and the right to request flexible working.  There is no income tax payable on the first £2,000 and no capital gains tax on the first £50,000.  Employees must take independent legal advice prior to entering into such a contract, the reasonable cost of which is payable by the employer.

  • Discrimination

On 1 October 2013, the provisions in the Equality Act 2010 which made employers liable if an employee was subjected to harassment by a third party on three or more occasions were repealed. However, this does not mean that employers will never be liable as other anti-harassment provisions may be sufficiently wide to cover this situation.

  • National minimum wage

From 1 October 2013, the hourly rates of national minimum wage were increased to £3.72 for those aged 16 and 17 years old, £5.03 for those who are 18 to 20 and £6.31 for those aged 21 or over.

2014 – What is on the agenda?

  • Changes to TUPE

January 2014 sees the introduction of changes to TUPE which were reported in our December edition of GD online and the article can be viewed here.

  • Increase in Statutory Awards

We are currently awaiting an announcement in relation to the annual increase in the maximum compensatory award for unfair dismissal and a "week's pay" for statutory redundancy pay and calculation of the basic award for unfair dismissal. In general these statutory limits increase each year on 1 February.

  • Mandatory ACAS pre-claim conciliation

As reported in our December edition of GD online, 6 April 2014 sees the introduction of mandatory ACAS pre-claim conciliation.  The article can be viewed here.

  • Discrimination questionnaires

The provisions in the Equality Act 2010 relating to discrimination questionnaires are to be repealed on 6 April 2014 with a more informal approach to be followed.  ACAS guidance is expected.

  • Tribunal penalties for employers

6 April 2014 also sees the introduction of financial penalties for employers who have not been successful in their defence of tribunal claims where the employer's conduct or breach has "one or more aggravating features".  The amount will be a minimum of £100 and a maximum of £5000.  If a financial award has been provided to the claimant, the penalty must be 50% of the claimant's award, subject to the maximum cap.  The employer will only have to pay 50% of the penalty if it is paid within 21 days. 

  • Equal Pay Audits

If an employer is found guilty of gender pay discrimination Employment Tribunals are to be given the power, in October 2014, to order equal pay audits.

2014 – What further change is anticipated?

  • Health & Work Advisory and Assessment Service

This is a proposed new service which will: deliver a state-funded assessment by occupational health professionals for employees after four weeks on sick leave; provide employers and employees with advice on overcoming the barriers that prevent them from returning to work; and provide case management for the minority of employees with complex needs who require on-going support to enable their return to work.

  • Right for all employees to request flexible working

At present, employers are obliged to consider requests reasonably and in accordance with a statutory procedure.  The statutory procedure will be repealed and replaced by aduty to consider requests in a reasonable manner.  The right to request flexible working will be extended to all employees who have worked for their employer for 26 weeks or more, whatever their reason for asking.  Employers should still be able to judge requests on whether they can be accommodated on business grounds. 

ACAS will produce a Code of Practice to help businesses manage this new right. 

2014 – On-going and Proposed Consultations

  • Zero-Hours Contracts

The aim of this consultation, launched on 19 December 2013, is to ensure that employees get a fair deal under these types of contract and to identify and address any abuses in this type of arrangement.  The issues highlighted include: (i) the lack of a legal definition and lack of clarity about the individual's rights; (ii) the common inclusion of provisions preventing individuals from working elsewhere even though hours, and consequently earnings, are not guaranteed under such contracts; and (iii) the pressure on the employee to accept hours offered, even when offered at short notice, out of fear that they will not be offered further work.   

  • Modern Workplaces

The Government is due to respond to the annual leave aspects of this on-going consultation process.  Proposals include, but are not limited to, providing that workers who are unable to take annual leave during a holiday year for reasons of long-term sickness, or because of absence on maternity or other family-related statutory leave, can carry the unused period over to the next year.

  • Onshore Employment Intermediaries: False Self-Employment

The main proposals under this consultation are as follows:

  • If a worker personally provides or is personally involved in providing services to an end user client, and receives pay in any form, the worker will be treated as employed.
  • If the worker is supplied to a client by an agency, the agency must account for the workers tax and NICs and report to HMRC unless the worker is on the payroll of another.
  • Agencies must submit quarterly electronic returns with details of workers from whom tax has not been deducted and the reason for the non-deduction.
  • If a worker is not subject to control or supervision by any person the PAYE obligations will not apply (examples are given in the consultation document).
  • Agency Workers Regulations and Regulation of the Recruitment Sector

The government has expressed its commitment to reviewing the Agency Workers Regulations and the Conduct Regulations, with the aim of simplifying and streamlining the recruitment sector so that businesses can use agency workers as flexibly as possible.

The proposal is to have the "simplest regulatory framework possible" but one which will restrict charging fees to agency workers, clarifies who is responsible for paying workers, does not prevent agency workers moving between jobs, regulates the use of transfer fees for temp to perm, and gives agency workers the ability to assert their rights.  Further consultation on draft legislation is anticipated.

  • Discipline and Grievances: the right to be accompanied

This consultation, which closes on 7 January 2014, aims to address what constitutes a "reasonable request" to be accompanied at disciplinary and grievance hearings.

  • Small businesses and the ACAS Code

In relation to dismissal processes, the government has expressed the need for clarity about the requirements of the ACAS Code on small businesses.  It announced that it would work with ACAS to produce an online guidance tool through the disciplinary process, focussing on the needs of the small business.  This is awaited.

  • Caste Discrimination

It is anticipated that consultation on legislation to make caste discrimination unlawful will be published in February or March 2014 with implementation in Autumn 2014.

  • Resolving Workplace Disputes

The government has stated that it intends to consult on a "rapid resolution scheme" to resolve low value and simple claims, such as holiday pay, quickly and at a lower cost. This is awaited.

Finally, employers are reminded about pensions auto-enrolment obligations.  See here for more information.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.