UK: Asset Quality Review - European Central Bank Unveils Ambitious Plan

Last Updated: 28 October 2013
Article by Deloitte Financial Services Group

Most Read Contributor in UK, August 2017

Before the European Central Bank (ECB) formally takes responsibility for bank supervision under the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) – expected to be from November 2014 – it will conduct a thorough review of the assets of the banks that it will directly supervise.  The comprehensive assessment, as it is called, nominally has three goals: to deliver greater transparency on balance sheets; to prompt the repair of impaired balance sheets; and to rebuild confidence in banks.  More fundamentally though, the ECB considers the exercise essential, so that it can begin its supervisory confident in the knowledge that the major banks are on a sound capital footing. 

The ECB today (23 October 2013) published details of the assessment exercise and the banks affected. This is essential reading for anyone with an interest in the banks concerned. The exercise is significant in size and scope.  Banks will need to start preparing now and for many the exercise will consume significant management and financial resources.

Between November 2013 and October 2014, the ECB will conduct a comprehensive balance sheet assessment of the 124 most significant Eurozone banking groups (representing approximately 85% of Eurozone banking assets), working closely with National Competent Authorities (NCAs) and cooperating with the European Banking Authority (EBA) to conduct a stress test.

At the core of the exercise is an asset quality review. Based on balance sheets as at 31 December 2013, the assessment will cover credit and market, on and off balance sheet, domestic and non-domestic exposures.  The review will focus on the riskiest areas of the balance sheet.  It will use harmonised definitions and 'a conservative interpretation of IFRS'. It will include data integrity validation, sampling of target portfolios, an assessment of the adequacy of valuation, classification of non-performing exposures, collateral and provisioning; and possible adjustment of risk-weights.

On completion of the asset quality review, banks will be judged against a capital threshold of 8% based on CRD IV definitions as at 1 January 2014. Where necessary, the results of the exercise will be followed by corrective measures – for example, recapitalisation, deleveraging or improving funding resilience. The possible need to rely on public backstops is explicitly referred to (but interestingly the text is silent on bail-in).  The timelines for implementing such measures will be part of the outcome of the assessment. 

Next steps

Banks will be invited to a meeting in Frankfurt to hear further details about the process, and will also be asked to provide further information via their NCA. The process of portfolio selection will start in November 2013.  Information on the stress test methodology will be published at a later date.

Prior to SSM implementation in November 2014, outcomes aggregated at country and bank level will be revealed, together with any recommendations for supervisory measures.

This remainder of this blog post highlights the key points from each stage.  The full report from the ECB, including a list of the banks, can be downloaded here

The Comprehensive Assessment in a nutshell

The Comprehensive Assessment will have three stages: 

  1. Supervisory risk assessment: analysis based on backward and forward looking information of a bank's intrinsic risk profile, peer group positioning and vulnerability to exogenous factors. The ECB and NCAs are developing a risk assessment system for the SSM, which will also be used for this stage of the assessment, in parallel with national risk assessment systems.
  2. Asset quality review: based on end-2013 data, it will include credit and market exposures, on and off-balance sheet positions and domestic and non-domestic exposures.  All asset classes will be in scope.
  3. Stress test: the EBA and the ECB will perform the next EU-wide stress test in close cooperation across all 124 banking groups. Further details will be published at a later date.

The ECB will conduct the Comprehensive Assessment in close cooperation with NCAs.  The ECB will provide the blueprint for the assessment, monitor its execution and perform on-going quality assurance.  NCAs will execute the exercise, with the support of private-sector expertise.The exercise will be consistent with the EBA recommendation on the conduct of asset quality reviews.

Which banks are included?

The 124 banking groups have been selected based on criteria in the SSM Regulations for identifying 'significant' banks.  Notably, since the banks will be supervised and assessed at the highest level of consolidation in participating Member States, subsidiaries of Eurozone banking groups are not listed individually, unless they are one of the three biggest banks in any Member State.

This initial list underscores that the exercise is relevant to banks headquartered outside the Eurozone, including the UK, the US, Switzerland and Sweden.  For example, subsidiaries of Bank of New York Mellon, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, HSBC, State Street, UBS and RBS are on the list.

A full list of the banks can be found in the report.  The list of banks is preliminary. The final list will be compiled in 2014 when up-to-date statistics are available. Provisions in the SSM Regulations which allow for a supervisory judgement on which banks should be considered significant will also be made at a later stage, once the SSM framework regulation is published.

The ECB note that Eurozone countries currently engaged in similar bank review processes may benefit from those processes, but they are not a substitute for full participation in the comprehensive assessment.

Key asset quality review details

The asset quality review will focus on the elements of banks' balance sheets which are considered most risky or non-transparent, subject to minimum coverage and sampling requirements.  It will have three stages:

  1. Portfolio selection: NCAs will propose – and the ECB will review and challenge – the portfolios to be included the portfolios to be included in the assessment. There will be minimum coverage criteria at the banks and country level.
  2. Execution: This stage will include data integrity validation, assessment of the adequacy of banks' asset valuation, classification of non-performing exposures based on EBA
    definitions, collateral valuation and recalculation of provisions for risk-weighted assets.
  3. Collation: A final consistency check to ensure comparability of results across all banks.

While a full assessment of internal models used for the calculation of risk-weighted assets will not take place within the time frame of the exercise, the outcome of the exercise will lead to adjustments in the risk-weights, where justified.

The ambitions of the AQR exercise point to another issue of relevance to non-SSM countries and banks: should the assessment reveal valuation discrepancies for assets held elsewhere in the Group, the relevant supervisors may need to take note of these conclusions.  

Eurozone banks after the AQR

A capital benchmark of 8% Common Equity Tier 1 (CET1) will be set for the asset quality review, which the ECB explains as comprising the CRD IV 4.5% CET 1 minimum requirement and 2.5% Capital Conservation buffer, along with a 1% add-on to proxy for the systemic risk buffers.  The definition of capital will based on 1 January 2014 definitions.

Although the size of the benchmark is based on CRD IV requirements, it has the effect of foreshortening the transition period.  Under CRD IV none of the CET 1 minimum requirement, the Capital Conservation buffer or the systemically important institution buffers will be required in full by 1 January 2014. 

This accelerated pace may be challenging for some banks.  In its latest Basel III monitoring exercise, the EBA found that whilst 44 of the European Union's biggest banks (12 of which are not in the Eurozone) would hold 8.4% CET1 in aggregate on a fully-loaded CRD IV basis, the less well capitalised banks in the sample would in aggregate need to raise EUR 70.4 billion to meet a 7% threshold. This points to recapitalisation being a likely outcome for some banks once the comprehensive assessment is concluded. In fact, the ECB highlights this outcome and indicates that timelines for any "corrective measures" will be set as part of the exercise.

The ECB expects any capital shortfalls in banks that have "viable business models but are required to build additional capital for prudential reasons" to be made up from private sources, and if possible before the conclusion of the exercise.  If sufficient private capital is not available, public backstops might need to be drawn upon.  The ECB points out that European rules require Member States to have national backstops in place.  Interestingly, no explicit reference is made to bail-in.

For more information on the SSM, please see our lastest paper on the subject, or for more information about the EMEA Centre for Regulatory Strategy, please visit www.Deloitte.co.uk/Centre. 

Simon Brennan – Senior Manager, Deloitte EMEA Centre for Regulatory Strategy
Simon is a Senior Manager in the EMEA Centre for Regulatory Strategy, specialising in prudential regulation for banks. Simon joined Deloitte after 11 years at the Bank of England, where he worked in a number of areas covering macro and micro prudential policy, and financial institution risk assessment. LinkedIn.

Dea Markova - Assistant Manager, Deloitte EMEA Centre for Regulatory Strategy
Dea is an Assistant Manager in the EMEA Centre for Regulatory Strategy. Her primary areas of focus are the Single Supervisory Mechanism and international, EU and UK insurance regulatory initiatives. She joined Deloitte in 2012. She has past experience in financial journalism and an academic background in financial regulation

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.