With David Livdahl, Jenny Sheng
On August 1, 2012, the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission ("CIETAC") headquartered in Beijing, the leading arbitration institution in China, posted an announcement on its website ("Announcement"), declaring that CIETAC’s authorization to two of its branches, i.e., the CIETAC Shanghai Sub-Commission and the CIETAC South China Sub-Commission (located in Shenzhen), for accepting and administering arbitration cases has been suspended since the same date.