Nigeria's President has presented a bill to the lawmakers to enact a law that will give effect to the avoidance of double taxation agreements (DTAs) entered into at different times between Nigeria and Sweden, South Korea and Spain.

The federal government of Nigeria signed the DTA with Sweden in 2004, with South Korea in 2006 and with Spain in 2009. However, these agreements are yet to become effective in Nigeria on the basis of the constitutional provision which requires such treaties to be domesticated through ratification by the National Assembly.

It should be noted that the more recent DTAs signed with Mauritius, the UAE and Qatar are yet to be presented for ratification.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.