Italy has started to reopen its borders, allowing travellers from the EU and Schengen area to enter without being required to quarantine.

From 3 June 2020, it is possible to travel from one Italian region to another, with no restrictions, while complying with social distancing rules.

From the same date, travellers from EU countries and the Schengen area (plus UK, Northern Ireland, Andorra, Monaco and Vatican City) are generally allowed to enter the country, with no quarantine requirement.

Borders will continue to be closed, at least until 15 June 2020 to non-EU travellers, who are only allowed to enter the country in specific cases (for work needs, health reasons, or to return to their residence or domicile).

Firm: Toffoletto De Luca Tamajo e Soci

Originally published 17 Jun 2020

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.