Australia: Inaugural Amnesty International Australian Media Awards winners announced
Last Updated: 27 December 2014

In October 2014, Amnesty International held its first Australian Media Awards. The awards reflect upon reporting on human rights issues in Australia over the past year. The winners were awarded across four broad categories including print/online, photojournalism, Indigenous reporting and broadcast. The winners were:

  1. Print/Online – The Immigration Department Data Breach by Oliver Laughland, Paul Farrell and Asher Wolf from the Guardian Australian.
  2. Photojournalism – "Football in the Favelas" by Sam Ruttyn, shot for News Corporation – The Daily and Sunday Telegraph.
  3. Indigenous reporting – "Let's Talk Decolonisation" British Indigenous Media Association. [Not available online]
  4. Broadcast – "The Manus Solution" Four Corners ABC TV.

National Director, Clare Mallinson, said that "Our inaugural awards winners show that inspired and courageous journalism will never be silenced".

Imprisoned Australian Journalist Peter Greste and his Al Jazeera colleagues, Mohammed Fahmy and Baher Mohamed were also acknowledged at the awards, with attending journalist writing messages of support in a book presented to Peter's parents, Louis and Juris.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Selwyn Black, Nathan Gately
By Merryn Lynch, Josephine Heesh
By Nathan Gately, Josephine Heesh
By Nathan Gately, Josephine Heesh
By Mathisha Panagoda
By Nathan Gately, Josephine Heesh
By Josephine Heesh
By Andrina Lum, Paul Carroll
By Gillian Kirwan, Paul Carroll
By Matthew Rafferty
Font Size: