Australia: Sparke Helmore expands Government team with former Judge of the Federal Circuit Court of Australia
Last Updated: 26 July 2014

Sparke Helmore Lawyers is pleased to announce that Kenneth Raphael, a former Judge of the Federal Circuit Court of Australia, has joined the firm as a consultant.

Kenneth was one of the original 12 appointments to the Federal Magistrates Court when it was created in 2000. He undertook the general federal work of the Court in Sydney, with circuits to Adelaide, Perth and Darwin. He retired as a Judge of the Federal Circuit Court of Australia in July 2014.

Before his appointment to the bench, Kenneth was a senior litigation and insolvency partner at predecessor firms of Ashurst. His expertise in commercial litigation spanned banking, construction, insolvency, insurance, partnerships and joint ventures, shipping, takeovers and mergers, taxation, trade practices and representation at tribunals of inquiry.

"We are delighted to have Kenneth join the firm. Kenneth's wealth of experience, both as a Judge and as a former partner of firms in Australia and the UK, will enhance the insights our Government team provides to our clients," said Richard Morrison, Sparke Helmore's Government National Practice Group Leader.

About Sparke Helmore

Sparke Helmore Lawyers is a firm of 600 people working from eight offices across Australia, serving the needs of the insurance, government, financial services, mining, construction and property sectors. Our expertise spans corporate and commercial to construction, workplace to insurance, IP to IPOs, mining to manufacturing, and property to procurement.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Paul Tobin, Grant Parker
By Naomi Simmons, Alan McKelvey
By Wyn Davies
By Gillian Davidson
By Peter Charteris, Jonathan Doy
By Dianna Grant, Alan McKelvey
By Nick Christiansen
By Wyn Davies
By Andrew Ross
By Rani Aria Retnam
Font Size: