Australia: Sparke Helmore wins Insurance Specialist Firm of the Year for the second consecutive year
Last Updated: 22 May 2017

Sparke Helmore Lawyers' ongoing commitment to the insurance industry was acknowledged last night, when we were named Insurance Specialist Firm of the Year for the second consecutive year at the 2017 Australasian Law Awards. More than 650 people attended the awards ceremony at The Star in Sydney to celebrate excellence in the legal industry throughout 2016.

"It's a real honour to have received this award for a second year in a row. Our 300-strong insurance team is dedicated to working with all the major Australian insurers, brokers and intermediaries based in Australia and the UK, and this award is fantastic recognition of the world-class service the team is continuing to deliver to our clients," said Phillip Salem, Sparke Helmore's National Managing Partner. "Congratulations to our Insurance Group on this well-deserved win, and thank you to our clients for their ongoing support."

Law firms in this category were judged on the quantity, quality, importance and innovativeness of their work, as well as their level of client service to the insurance industry. Sparke Helmore's Insurance Group advised more than 300 insurers, insureds and underwriters on hundreds of significant and complex claims across the main lines of insurance in 2016.

We were also a finalist for Law Firm of the Year (101-500 lawyers), which recognised outstanding client service and leading expertise across a broad range of practice areas, and Property, Infrastructure & Projects Deal of the Year through our involvement in the Canberra Light Rail public-private partnership.

The firm sponsored the Sparke Helmore Insurance In-house Team of the Year on the night. We'd like to congratulate our client AIA Australia who won the award and AIG, Berkley Insurance Australia, Chubb, Dual, IAG, Steadfast, Suncorp – Vero and XL Catlin who were named as finalists.

Above: Insurance Partner Catherine Power accepted the Insurance Specialist Firm of the Year award.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Peter Charteris, Jonathan Doy
By Dianna Grant, Alan McKelvey
By Nick Christiansen
By Wyn Davies
By Andrew Ross
By Rani Aria Retnam
By Jason Lambeth
By Wyn Davies
By Stephanie Nevin, Alan McKelvey
By Laura Regan
Font Size: