Australia: CSIRO's Concentrated Solar Thermal technology heats up in China
Last Updated: 12 January 2017

CSIRO's Solar Thermal Technology team in Newcastle has developed exciting new technology which will be used by Chinese company, Thermal Focus, in developing new clean energy generation systems. The technology includes heliostat hardware and software to be used in concentrated solar thermal (CST) systems. These systems utilise a field of controllable mirrors to focus the sun's energy onto a central energy collector to cleanly generate electricity through thermal energy conversion processes.

The commercial partnership with Thermal Focus will assist China to reach their stated renewal energy goals while providing a revenue stream back to Australia to enable the CSIRO team to continue their important research into this promising green energy technology. CSIRO's Energy Centre in Newcastle, New South Wales, contains the only high-temperature solar thermal research facility of its type in Australia, and houses the largest high concentration solar array in the Southern Hemisphere.

In addition to the exciting new partnership with Thermal Focus, CSIRO also has successful partnerships for heliostat commercialisation with Japan's Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems, the Cyprus Institute, and Heliostat SA in Australia.

Shelston IP is proud to be assisting CSIRO in their ongoing IP protection in this technology space. For drone footage of CSIRO's Energy Centre in Newcastle, including the CST facility, follow this link –

Click on the following links for further detail:

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Allira Hudson-Gofers, Russell Davies
By Gareth Dixon
By Gareth Dixon
By Grant Shoebridge
By Andrew Lowe, Russell Davies
By Serena White DPhil, Charles Tansey
By Michael Deacon, Natasha Faigenbaum, Amber McKenna-Hill, Chris Bevitt
By Duncan Longstaff, Natasha Faigenbaum, Jacinta Flattery-O'Brien
By Grant Shoebridge
By Gareth Dixon
Font Size: