Australia: Sparke Helmore's Sydney-based Workplace team nominated in the 2016 Justice Awards
Last Updated: 23 December 2016

Sparke Helmore Lawyers' Sydney-based Workplace team has been nominated in the Pro Bono Partnership Award category in the 2016 Justice Awards.

The firm was nominated in partnership with Marrickville Legal Centre, HWL Ebsworth, Minter Ellison and Santone Lawyers for establishing the Employment Law Advice Clinic at the Legal Centre six years ago.

As part of the initiative, legal practitioners from participating firms voluntarily attend the Legal Centre once a month to provide free legal advice on employment law matters, such as unfair dismissals, general protections, and bullying and discrimination complaints to visitors of the Clinic.

"This year, our Workplace team has dedicated more than 140 hours of legal assistance to the Clinic," said Hannah Rose, Sparke Helmore's Head of Pro Bono & Community. "We are very proud of what we have achieved working with Marrickville Legal Centre, HWL Ebsworth, Minter Ellison and Santone Lawyers in establishing and servicing the Employment Law Clinic. It's an added bonus that our collective contribution has been recognised through a Justice Awards nomination."

The Awards, which are an initiative of the Law and Justice Foundation of NSW, acknowledge individuals and organisations that have improved access to justice for socially and economically disadvantaged people. The awards ceremony will be held on Thursday 13 October at Parliament House.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Paul Tobin, Grant Parker
By Naomi Simmons, Alan McKelvey
By Wyn Davies
By Gillian Davidson
By Peter Charteris, Jonathan Doy
By Dianna Grant, Alan McKelvey
By Nick Christiansen
By Wyn Davies
By Andrew Ross
By Rani Aria Retnam
Font Size: