Hong Kong: Conyers Receives Deal of the Year Award at ALB Hong Kong Law Awards
Last Updated: 16 September 2016

Conyers Dill & Pearman was awarded the M&A Deal of the Year at the 15th annual Macallan ALB Hong Kong Law Awards, for our work on Alibaba Group's acquisition of Youku Tudou.

"For more than 15 years in Asia, our Hong Kong office has acted in the majority of major offshore M&A deals", said David Lamb, an M&A specialist & Co-Chairman of the Firm based in Hong Kong. "This award affirms our leading position in this sector and recognises the depth and range of our expertise in advising on these high-profile transactions. It is a testament to the hard work of our talented team."

Youku, China's YouTube equivalent, will deliver US films and drama series to over one third of China's population. The acquisition will also give Alibaba access to over half a billion online video users, giving it a huge boost in its bid to dominate the Chinese digital media market.

It has been forecast that the PRC's online video market will be worth RMB90 billion by 2018, up from 23.97 billion last year.

Conyers is the longest established offshore firm in Asia, marking its 30th anniversary in 2015 and one of the most respected international offshore law firms worldwide. The Firm continues to the lead the way in providing offshore legal and corporate services to many of the region's largest companies and financial institutions.

The Macallan ALB Hong Kong Law Awards celebrate the achievements of Hong Kong's leading law firms and in-house legal teams, as well as the top deals and dealmakers of 2016.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Bernadette Carey, Erik Bodden, Paul Smith, Robert Lindley
By Julie McLean, Jason Piney, Alexandra Macdonald
By Nigel Meeson Q.C., Erik Bodden
By Norman Hau, Nigel Meeson Q.C., Paul Smith
By Nigel Meeson Q.C., Bernadette Carey, Erik Bodden, Paul Smith
By Norman Hau, Jerry Samuel, Mark Forte, Nigel Meeson Q.C., Richard Evans
By Kathleen Moniz, Ben Adamson, Donna Pilgrim
By Sheba Raza
By Richard Fear, Craig Fulton, Kevin Butler
By Anton Goldstein, Eric Flaye
Font Size: