Isle of Man: New Chief Minister Of The Isle Of Man
Last Updated: 9 January 2007

TONY Brown has been appointed as the new Chief Minister of the Isle of Man, succeeding Donald Gelling as the leader of the Island’s Government.

Mr Brown, (56), has 25 years experience in Tynwald, the Manx Parliament, including a range of Ministerial posts. He was latterly Speaker of the House of Keys (Tynwald’s directly elected first chamber).

The new Chief Minister has chosen Allan Bell to continue as Treasury Minister after five years in the post which have seen the successful introduction of the Island’s zero tax strategy.

Mr Brown commented: ‘My government is committed to continuing the Isle of Man success story of the past two decades and to maintaining an environment where businesses and individuals can flourish. The task ahead is to build on the Island’s reputation as a competitive but responsible international business centre.’

Mr Bell said: ‘I am delighted to be reappointed as Treasury Minister and look forward to working with our business community to further develop the Island’s vibrant, diverse economy. The Isle of Man has an impressive track record as a quality international jurisdiction but we certainly won’t be resting on our laurels as we face up to the challenges and opportunities ahead.’

Mr Brown was elected as Chief Minister by Tynwald and formally appointed on behalf of the Crown by the Island’s Lieutenant Governor, Vice Admiral Sir Paul Haddacks.

Mr Brown is the longest serving Member of the House of Keys, having represented the town of Castletown since 1981. He served as Minister in charge of a number of government departments – Health and Social Security, Local Government and the Environment, Tourism and Leisure, and Transport – before becoming Speaker of the House of Keys in 2001.

He paid personal tribute to the outgoing Chief Minister Donald Gelling, describing Mr Gelling as someone who had ‘served the Isle of Man with dedication and distinction.’

The new Chief Minister’s appointment follows a recent general election to the House of Keys, which are held every five years. Mr Gelling did not seek re-election as Chief Minister and is retiring from Tynwald after 20 years service.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By John Spellman
By Malcolm Couch
By Richard Slee
Font Size: