United States: Doing Business With The Government? DOJ’s Pursuit Of Fraud And Corruption Prosecutions In The Wake Of Mcdonnell v. United States
Last Updated: August 3 2016

At the end of its most recent term, the US Supreme Court vacated the honest services fraud and extortion convictions of former Virginia Governor Bob McDonnell because the lower courts had interpreted the term "official act," as used in the federal bribery statute, in an overbroad manner. The facts underlying Mr. McDonnell's convictions were "no doubt ... distasteful"—with "tawdry tales of Ferraris, Rolexes, and ball gowns" given to the governor by a constituent who was hoping for favorable treatment by state agencies. But the government's loss will result in a clarification—not a defanging—of its authority to pursue corruption involving government officials.

In the wake of the McDonnell case, companies, particularly government contractors and other companies and individuals interacting with government officials, must remain vigilant and ensure that their personnel do not violate the complex criminal, regulatory and ethics rules regarding interactions with government officials. This webinar will provide specific guidelines to minimize risk when doing business with the government. In particular, we will explain the background of the honest services fraud and bribery statutes, recent Supreme Court and key appellate court precedent, DOJ's enforcement trends and the manner in which those trends may change following the McDonnell decision.

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

United States
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EDT
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CDT
10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. MDT

6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CEST
5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. BST

CLE credit is pending.

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.



(If you decline we will not send you
reminders for this event.)

For additional information, please contact Annie Leger at aleger@mayerbrown.com.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Archis Parasharami, Kevin Ranlett
By Elizabeth Espín Stern
By Kristie D. Kully, Elyse S. Moyer
By Stephanie B. Vasconcellos
By Marcia Madsen, David Dowd, Roger V. Abbott
By Paul W. Virtue
By Samuel D. Block, Nancy G. Ross
By Evan Tager
By Kristie D. Kully
By David Burton
Font Size: