United States: Doing Business With The Government? DOJ’s Pursuit Of Fraud And Corruption Prosecutions In The Wake Of McDonnell v. United States
Last Updated: July 22 2016

At the end of its most recent term, the US Supreme Court vacated the honest services fraud and extortion convictions of former Virginia Governor Bob McDonnell because the lower courts had interpreted the term "official act," as used in the federal bribery statute, in an overbroad manner. The facts underlying Mr. McDonnell's convictions were "no doubt ... distasteful"—with "tawdry tales of Ferraris, Rolexes, and ball gowns" given to the governor by a constituent who was hoping for favorable treatment by state agencies. But the government's loss will result in a clarification—not a defanging—of its authority to pursue corruption involving government officials.

In the wake of the McDonnell case, companies, particularly government contractors and other companies and individuals interacting with government officials, must remain vigilant and ensure that their personnel do not violate the complex criminal, regulatory and ethics rules regarding interactions with government officials. This webinar will provide specific guidelines to minimize risk when doing business with the government. In particular, we will explain the background of the honest services fraud and bribery statutes, recent Supreme Court and key appellate court precedent, DOJ's enforcement trends and the manner in which those trends may change following the McDonnell decision.

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

United States
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EDT
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CDT
10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. MDT
9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. PDT

Europe
6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CEST
5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. BST

CLE credit is pending.

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

Key Event Information

Date & Time
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EDT

Register here >>

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

 
Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Kristie D. Kully
By David Burton
By Rebecca Davenport
By Donald Falk
By Ori Lev, Anjali Garg
By David Burton, Anne Levin-Nussbaum
By Melanie Brody, Ori Lev, Tori K. Shinohara
By Phillip Schulman, Holly Spencer Bunting, Ori Lev
By Ori Lev, Christa Bieker
By Stephanie B. Vasconcellos
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels