Canada: University of Ottawa Law Alumni make Pro Bono Work Pay Off
Last Updated: June 14 2006

Borden Ladner Gervais & Heenan Blaikie lawyers create Pro Bono Award

Pro bono work is widely recognized as a fundamental part of the legal profession. Now, students in the Common Law Section of the University of Ottawa Faculty of Law are learning that pro bono work really does pay off. Starting this June, The Derek Smith and Alain Roussy Pro Bono Award will be given to a graduating Common Law student who has a proven commitment to pro bono work.

The award was created by Derek Smith and Alain Roussy. They are alumni of the University of Ottawa and lawyers with Borden Ladner Gervais LLP and Heenan Blaikie LLP.

In the past, students at the University of Ottawa have demonstrated exceptional commitment to improving access to justice and promoting the public interest. This award is part of the broader movement to promote pro bono work in Canada.

The award is partially funded by Borden Ladner Gervais LLP and Heenan Blaikie LLP and will be given out for the first time on June 5th. An award of $1000 will be given out each year for the next five years.

For further information or to schedule an interview, please contact:

Sarah Hall
Media Relations
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Scotia Plaza, 40 King Street West

Toronto Ontario, M5H 3Y4
(416) 350-2569

Marie Remillard
Director, Marketing & Communications
Heenan Blaikie
1250 René-Lévesque Blvd. West, Suite 2500
Montreal, ON  H3B 4Y1
514 846.1212

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Wendy Whelan, John McIntyre
By Shannon James, Nadia Effendi, Alessandra Nosko, Laurie A. Goldbach
By Luke Dineley, Ramsey Glass
By Graham Splawski
By Glenn Zakaib, Kelly Friedman, Edona Vila
By Alan Ross, Leanne Desbarats
By Éloïse Gratton, François Joli-Coeur
By Catherine Deslauriers
By Maude Longtin, Katherine Poirier CRHA
By Alan Ross, Denes Rothschild, Danielle Ridout
Font Size: