United States: Seth Waxman Named A Litigator Of The Year By The American Lawyer
Last Updated: January 7 2016

Partner Seth Waxman, who argued his 75th case before the US Supreme Court on December 2, has been named a Litigator of the Year by The American Lawyer.

A former US Solicitor General, Waxman chairs WilmerHale's Appellate and Supreme Court Litigation Practice and has argued a stunning array of appellate matters in courtrooms across the country, scoring victories that changed the legal landscape on issues including patent infringement, the death penalty, election redistricting, false advertising and free speech. His four Supreme Court arguments in the 2014-2015 term were the most argued by any lawyer in private practice (tied with two others)-an honor Waxman has earned in several years.

The American Lawyer noted that for two consecutive Supreme Court terms, in 5-4 cases, Waxman "has successfully appealed to the better angels of our nature," highlighting 2014's Hall v. Florida, in which the Court shot down Florida's use of a clinically arbitrary IQ test cutoff for death penalty eligibility. The American Lawyer also recognized Waxman's work on 2015's Arizona State Legislature v. Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission, in which the Court affirmed the constitutional authority of the people, acting by initiative, to draw district lines and enact other time, place and manner regulations governing congressional elections, bypassing state legislatures.

Read The American Lawyer's profile on Waxman.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Press Releases from this Firm
Recent Content from this Firm
By Michael Connor, H. David Gold, Sarah Judkins, Andrew L. Spielman
By Lester Ross, Tingting Liu
By H. David Gold, Rachel Jacobson, Heidi K. Ruckriegle
By Joseph Mueller, Thomas Saunders, Leslie Pearlson
By WilmerHale
By Robert D. Burke, A. William Caporizzo, Julie Hogan Rodgers, Meghan Walsh
By WilmerHale
By Jamie Gorelick, William McLucas, Bruce M. Berman, Danielle Conley, Tania Faransso
By Ambassador Charlene Barshefsky, Naboth van den Broek, David Ross, Patrick J. McLain, David Horn
By David Gammell
Font Size: