China: MOFCOM Issues New Rules On National Security Review

Last Updated: 4 October 2011
Article by David A. Livdahl, Henry Li and Jenny Sheng

China's Ministry of Commerce ("MOFCOM") issued on August 25, 2011 the "Rules on the Implementation of the National Security Review Mechanisms" (the "New SR Implementation Rules"《商务部实施外国投资者并购境内企业安全审查制度的规定》). 1 The New SR Implementation Rules became effective on September 1, 2011 and replaced the Temporary Rules on Several Issues Related to the Implementation of the National Security Review Mechanisms (the "Temporary Rules"《商务部实施外国投资者并购境内企业安全审查制度有关事项的暂行规定》) which were effective from March 4, 2011 to August 31, 2011. The Temporary Rules implemented the State Council's 3 February 2011 Circular on the Establishment of Security Review Mechanisms for Mergers and Acquisitions of Domestic Enterprises by Foreign Investors (《国 务院办公厅关于建立外国投资者并购境内企业安全审查制度的通知》) (the "NSR Circular").

The New SR Implementation Rules retain most of the provisions in the Temporary Rules, but also contain following major changes:

  1. The scope of national security review of merger and acquisition ("M&A") transactions has been explicitly extended to include acquisition of domestic enterprises by a foreign invested enterprise ("FIE").

    Under the Temporary Rules, the local offices of MOFCOM can initiate national security review only when they review M&A transactions submitted under the Regulations on Acquisition of Domestic Enterprises by Foreign Investors (《关于外国 投资者并购境内企业的规定》) and the Several Provisions on Changes of Investors' Equity Interests in Foreign Invested Enterprises (《外商投资企业投资者股权变更的若干规 定》). The New SR Implementation Rules added the Interim Regulations on Domestic Investment by Foreign-Invested Enterprises (《关于外商投资企业境内投资的暂行规定》) 2 as an additional basis for initiating security review of M&A transactions by the local offices of MOFCOM. This means that beginning on September 1, 2011, any acquisition of a domestic enterprise by an FIE is theoretically subject to national security review.
  2. Foreign investors are prohibited from evading national security review of M&A transactions by structuring around the requirement, such as holding equity via trusts, using multiple investment vehicles, moving the acquisition offshore, or by using leasing, lending and contractual arrangements.
  3. Subsequent changes to an M&A transaction, including changes to the transactional documents, changes in business activities and/or changes of offshore ultimate controlling entity, may trigger national security review if a subsequent change causes the transaction to fall within the scope of national security review, regardless of whether such transaction was submitted to the joint committee (which was established under the NSR Circular as the national security review enforcement authority) for review or was reviewed and approved by the joint committee in the first place. It is unclear whether a security review might retroactively unwind a completed transaction if any subsequent change to such transaction triggers the national security review.
  4. According to the Temporary Rules, an applicant may apply to MOFCOM to have a pre-filing consultation with MOFCOM with respect to procedural issues concerning the applicant's acquisition of domestic enterprises. The New SR Implementation Rules clarify that the pre-filing consultation is not a compulsory process and the results thereof will not be legally binding and cannot be relied upon as the basis for a formal filing.
  5. The New SR Implementation Rules also provide for confidentiality obligations on the relevant personnel and divisions of MOFCOM as well as their local offices during national security review work with regard to state secrets, trade secrets and other confidential information.

We believe that most open issues under the NSR Circular and the Temporary Rules remain unanswered in the New SR Implementation Rules. For instance, the specific types of industries for national security review have yet to be clarified, and at what stage and with what type of submissions an applicant can apply for pre-filing consultation is still unclear. With the New SR Implementation Rules that became effective on September 1, 2011, China is set to tighten up its national security review of M&A transactions, which foreign investors and M&A practitioners should not overlook.


1 The Chinese version of this document can be accessed at:

2 It was promulgated by the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation (the predecessor of MOFCOM) and the State Administration for Industry and Commerce on July 25, 2000, and mainly regulates establishment of a new enterprise in China or acquisition of a domestic enterprise by an FIE.

The content of this article does not constitute legal advice and should not be relied on in that way. Specific advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.