European Union: Antitrust/Competition & Marketing Group 2008 Year In Review: Developments In The U.K. And Europe

Last Updated: August 7 2009
Article by Stuart Richards

This article is the third in a series of bulletins on developments in competition and foreign investment review law in 2008.

  • Abuse of dominance developments – EU consultation, recent UK cases
  • UK/EU reaction to credit crunch/recession/banks mergers
  • Horizontal arrangements – EU consultation
  • Report on the European Commission Pharmaceutical Sector Inquiry

Abuse of dominance developments – EU consultation, recent UK cases

OFT decision in Cardiff Bus

On 18 November 2008, in its first finding of abuse since 2003, the Office of Fair Trading (OFT) found that Cardiff Bus abused its dominant position by charging below cost prices for its services. Cardiff Bus introduced a low-cost bus service in 2004 to compete with a "no frills" service offered by 2 Travel, a new entrant to the market. When 2 Travel went out of business in 2005, Cardiff Bus removed its low-cost service.

Although there was no fine due to the small market concerned, the case was important as it allows the possibility of private enforcement against Cardiff Bus and further it showed a return to consideration of abuse after a period in which many perceived the OFT's focus had shifted to cartel activity. The lack of abuse of dominance cases in the UK is contrasted with the situation in the EU; see below.

Follow up on Microsoft

The European Commission's investigations into whether Microsoft's behaviour amounts to an abuse of a dominant position continued with two new formal investigations; one in relation to interoperability disclosure and one in relation to software tying of Internet Explorer to its Windows operating system.

On 15 January 2009, the Commission sent Microsoft a Statement of Objection expressing its initial view that the latter practice does operate to limit competition and reduces consumer choice and market innovation because, according to the Statement, other browsers are foreclosed from competing because Windows includes Internet Explorer. The Statement of Objections also states that the remedies put in place by the U.S. courts in 2002 do not make the inclusion of Internet Explorer in Windows lawful under European Union law.

The Statement of Objections is based on the legal and economic principles established in the judgment of the Court of First Instance of 17 September 2007, upholding the earlier Commission decision that Microsoft had abused its dominant position in the PC operating system market by tying Windows Media Player to its Windows PC operating system.

Commission guidance on its enforcement of Article 82

The European Commission published a guidance paper on 3 December 2008 on its enforcement priorities on the application of Article 82 EC Treaty to abusive exclusionary conduct by dominant undertakings. Article 82 prohibits conduct by a dominant position which constitutes an abuse of such dominance. This is the culmination of a 3 year period of review by the Commission on its approach to dominance and abuse and is response to various criticisms about the Commission's handling of and reasoning in Article 82 cases. For the first time it sets out an economic and effects-based approach to exclusionary conduct (it does not deal separately with exploitative conduct). In a speech given in 2005 explaining the review of Article 82 as it applies to exclusionary conduct, Commissioner Neelie Kroes said that "We simply want to develop and explain theories of harm on the basis of a sound economic assessment for the most frequent types of abusive behaviour to make it easier to understand our policy, not only as stated in policy papers but also in individual decisions based on Article 82."

The guidance sets out the principles the Commission will apply when enforcing Article 82 and also applies those principles to specific abuses such as exclusive dealing, tying, predation and refusal to supply. It provides a framework for companies both to assess their own competitive behaviour, and to measure the strength of a case they are considering bringing against a dominant company that they believe to be acting abusively.

The Commission will focus its intervention under Article 82 on cases where the conduct in question is the most harmful to consumers. The emphasis is on safeguarding the competitive process in the internal market and to ensure that rivals are not excluded by a dominant undertaking by means other than competing on the merits of the goods and services they provide (it being made clear that the Commission is most concerned with the protection of an effective competitive process and not of competitors themselves).

The guidance provides that the Commission will consider a number of factors in relation to foreclosure, including the position of the dominant undertaking and its competitors, barriers to expansion or entry, the market position of customers and suppliers, significant investments and long-term contracts, the extent of the conduct in terms of time and its effects on sales, and any evidence of actual foreclosure. The Commission will also examine the dominant undertaking's exclusionary strategies to establish its intent.

The courts – both at the EU and national level – may take a harsher approach, which would result in a number of varying standards being applied across the Community. However, it may be that the Guidance will come to shape the views of other institutions notwithstanding that they are not bound by it.

UK/EU reaction to credit crunch/recession/banks mergers

In these unprecedented times, with the global economy in financial crisis, it seems that the UK government and the European Commission are willing to override established principles by intervening in an attempt to stimulate the economy.

Mergers

The UK Government demonstrated its willingness to effectively put competition law on hold in its decision on the proposed merger of Lloyds TSB and HBOS last year. There had been concerns, highlighted in a report published by the Office of Fair Trading (OFT) on 24 October 2008, that the merger of the banks would be anti-competitive and it may well have not escaped referral for further investigation in normal circumstances. The parties would have found it difficult to persuade the UK Competition Commission not to block the merger without agreeing to significant remedies to any competition concerns.

Under current legislation in England, there is a special regime allowing ministerial intervention and decision-making in matters of "public interest" (section 58 of the Act) and the UK Government introduced a new consideration to enable Lloyds TSB/HBOS to be considered as a public interest merger.

On the 31 October 2008 the Secretary of State for Business and Enterprise decided to clear the merger, arguing that the benefits in terms of preserving the stability of the financial system outweighed any anti-competitive concerns. This marked the first time that a merger has been cleared on financial stability grounds.

The European Commission has indicated that it would, in appropriate cases, be willing to take account of the "failing firm defense", and suspend the mandatory pre-notification requirement to allow deals to complete quickly where there were no a priori competition concerns. The failing firm defense permits the parties to a proposed merger to claim that, because one of the companies is failing, there is no causal link between the merger and the competitive harm that might result. Therefore, if such claim is successful, a merger that would otherwise be blocked because of its negative effect on competition will be permitted where an alternative merger is unavailable.

It is important to note that whilst the European Community Merger Regulation permits Member States to take measures to protect their legitimate interests, this is designed to allow Member States to block deals that do not raise competition concerns. A Member State is not entitled to clear mergers on public interest grounds if the Commission has prohibited it on competition grounds.

Horizontal arrangements – EU consultation

In 2008 the European Commission launched a public consultation on the current rules applicable to restrictions in horizontal agreements. Such agreements, between companies operating at the same level in the market, can lead to competition concerns when the parties agree to fix prices, share markets, or limit output. Certain horizontal agreements such as joint research and development, joint production and joint purchasing agreements can be pro-competitive if they enable companies to respond to increasing competitive pressures.

The instruments under consultation are the research & development block exemption regulation, the specialization block exemption (both due to expire at the end of 2010) and the Commission's Guidelines on the application of Article 81 to horizontal agreements.

European Commission Pharmaceutical Sector Inquiry

In January 2008 the Commission announced that it had launched the inquiry in response to concerns that competition in the sector may be stifled other than by parallel trade restrictions, highlighting the fact that there had been a decline in the number of new products reaching the market and instances of delays in the launch of generic medicines.

The Commission took the unusual step of conducting unannounced inspections ("dawn raids") at several pharmaceutical companies. This is the first time this instrument has been used in a Commission sector inquiry.

The Preliminary Report, published in November 2008, days after a second series of dawn raids, makes clear that it does not seek to identify wrongdoing, rather that it provides information for the Commission to decide what further steps might be taken. However, its findings caused concern that further action can indeed be expected. Competition Commissioner Neelie Kroes has said "the Commission will not hesitate to open antitrust cases against companies where there are indications that the antitrust rules may have been breached".

In addition, beyond the inquiry itself, it should be noted that, during her speech given when the report was presented, the Competition Commissioner read out quotes from a number of potentially damaging documents found in the course of the dawn raids, and specifically said that this type of evidence shows the importance of carrying out investigations in this way. This may well indicate that while this was the first sector enquiry to be started in this way, it is unlikely to be the last.

For more information on the subject of this article, please contact the author.

Please click on the links below to read Parts 1 and 2 in the series.

Part 1: Antitrust/Competition & Marketing Group 2008 Year In Review: Reviewable Practices And Marketing & Advertising Developments In Canada

Part 2:Antitrust/Competition & Marketing Group 2008 Year In Review - Criminal Matters And Other Competition Law Developments

www.fasken.com

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.