Canada: Antitrust/Competition & Marketing Group 2008 Year In Review: Reviewable Practices And Marketing & Advertising Developments In Canada

Last Updated: July 8 2009
Article by Leslie J. Milton and Mark D. Magro

This bulletin is the first in a series of bulletins that cover developments in competition and foreign investment review law during 2008.

Reviewable Practices

  • Investigation Of ICBC
  • Information Bulletin On The Application Of The Abuse Of Dominance Provisions To The Telecommunications Industry
  • Refusal To Deal – Nadeau Poultry Farm
  • Dismissed Applications for Leave

Marketing and Advertising

  • Environmental Claims Guidelines
  • Draft Multi-Level Marketing And Scheme Of Pyramid Selling Information Bulletin
  • Enforcement
  • "Made In Canada" Guidelines For Food Labelling


Investigation Of ICBC

In August, 2008, the Competition Bureau announced that it had closed its investigation of certain practices of the Insurance Corporation of British Columbia. The Bureau had commenced an inquiry in February, 2007, to determine whether certain ICBC policies regarding affiliated brokers and access to ICBC's online customer database constituted an abuse of dominance under section 79 of the Canadian Competition Act. The Bureau concluded that ICBC held a dominant position in the BC market for optional auto insurance, but that the evidence did not establish that the alleged anti-competitive practices were, are or are likely to have a substantial effect on competition in light of the large number of unaffiliated brokers in BC and the evidence that ICBC's database policy (which prohibited brokers from using customer data from ICBC's online database for use in preparing quotes and processing transactions for optional insurance offered by private insurers) represented an "inconvenience" but did not have a substantial impact on competition. The Bureau did not make a determination on whether or not ICIB's policies qualified as anti-competitive acts holding that although the policies were potentially exclusionary, further investigation of possible business justifications would be required to determine if the policies had the requisite anti-competitive purpose to constitute anti-competitive acts.

Information Bulletin On The Application Of The Abuse Of Dominance Provisions To The Telecommunications Industry

In June, the Bureau released an Information Bulletin on the application of the abuse of dominance provisions of the Competition Act to the telecommunications industry. An earlier version of the Bulletin had been released in draft form for comment. The Bulletin tracks the approach set out in Bureau's general Enforcement Guidelines on Abuse of Dominance. However, the discussion of the abuse provisions has been updated to reflect the decision of the Federal Court of Appeal in Canada Pipe and includes some specific guidance on the Bureau's likely approach to market definition issues for telecommunications services and to specific conduct, such as denial of access, predatory and targeted pricing, and bundling, which the Bureau considers are more likely to be the subject of inquiry in the telecommunications industry.

Readers should also note that in January, 2009, the Bureau released for comment revised draft guidelines on its general approach to enforcement of the abuse of dominance provisions. The draft amends the Bureau's existing guidelines to reflect the Canada Pipe decision and other case law that has developed since the existing guidelines were issued in 2001 and to reflect developments in economic thinking, among other things.

Refusal To Deal – Nadeau Poultry Farm

In March, 2008, the Competition Tribunal granted Nadeau Poultry Farm leave to bring an application for refusal to deal against four companies that had announced their intention to cease supplying live chickens to Nadeau's processing plant in New Brunswick. In June, 2008, the Tribunal granted an interim order requiring the respondents to continue to supply live chickens to Nadeau, pending a decision by the Tribunal on Nadeau's refusal to deal application. On June 8, 2009, the Competition Tribunal dismissed the application and issued its Confidential Reasons for Order and Order. A public version of the reasons will be issued by the Tribunal sometime after July 10, 2009. The case raises interesting issues related to the interplay between Federal-Provincial agricultural supply management systems and the elements of the refusal to deal provision of the Competition Act.

Dismissed Applications For Leave

The Tribunal dismissed four applications by private parties seeking leave to bring proceedings under the Competition Act. In Annable v. Capital Sports and Entertainment, the Tribunal dismissed an application for leave to challenge the respondent's practice of offering multi-game ticket packages for Ottawa Senators games holding that the applicant had failed to provide any evidence of the effect of the alleged tied selling on the applicant's business or with respect to the anti-competitive effects described in section 77(2) of the Act. In Canadian Standard Travel Agent Registry v. International Air Transport Association, the Tribunal dismissed CSTAR's request to commence a proceeding under the refusal to deal provision in respect of IATA's elimination of paper ticketing, on grounds that CSTAR had failed to provide evidence that its business would be directly and substantially affected by the alleged conduct. In Swenson Inc. v. Trader Corporation, the Tribunal dismissed Swenson's request for leave to bring a refusal to deal application (without prejudice to re-filing in the future) as Swenson had not made its affiant available for cross-examination by the respondent within a reasonable period of time. Finally, in Steven Olah v. Her Majesty the Queen as represented by the Correctional Service of Canada et al., the applicant sought leave to challenge a requirement that inmates purchase certain merchandise exclusively from a Home Hardware store under section 77 of the Act. The Tribunal dismissed the application against the Crown given the limited application of the Act to commercial activity of agents of the Crown; in this case the application was made directly against the Crown and did not involve commercial activity. The Tribunal also dismissed the application as against Home Hardware holding that conduct did not qualify as exclusive dealing and further that there was no evidence that the applicant would be directly and substantially affected in his business or that the elements of exclusive dealing could be satisfied.


Key marketing/advertising law developments in 2008 included the following:

Environmental Claims Guidelines

In June 2008, Environmental claims: A guide for industry and advertisers (the "Guide"), developed by the Canadian Standards Association in partnership with the Competition Bureau, was released. The Guide is a "best practices" guide intended to help businesses interpret ISO 14021 (international standard on environmental labelling adopted by the Canadian Standards Association) and comply with the laws administered by the Bureau (including the Competition Act and the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act). It will be used by the Bureau when considering whether an environmental claim is false or misleading.

The Guide contains many examples of "preferred" and "discouraged" claims. The Guide contains a detailed discussion of 18 specific requirements applicable to "self-declared environmental claims" that are set out in CAN/CSA-ISO 14021. Among them, self-declared environmental claims: "shall be accurate and not misleading", "shall be substantiated and verified", and "shall be true not only in relation to the final product but also shall take into consideration all relevant aspects of the product life cycle in order to identify the potential for one impact to be increased in the process of decreasing another" (the Guide states that "environmental claims should consider the entire life cycle of the product to ensure there is a net environmental benefit").

Among other things, the Guide discourages "vague and non-specific" claims such as "environmentally friendly", "ecological (eco)" and "green", noting, among other things, that such vague claims "should be reserved for products/services whose life cycles have been thoroughly examined and verified". The Guide also discusses when it is appropriate to make claims that a product is "free" of certain ingredients or substances, and provides guidance respecting the use of symbols (including the Mobius loop) and respecting certain specific claims (such as "recyclable", "recycled content", "compostable", etc.).

There is a one year transition period (ending June 2009) to allow companies to reassess their advertising and labeling in light of the Guide. It is also important to note that, according to an Interpretation Guideline issued by Advertising Standards Canada, the Guide may be taken into account when environmental claim complaints are considered under the ASC process.

Draft Multi-Level Marketing And Scheme Of Pyramid Selling Information Bulletin

In April 2008, the Competition Bureau released for public comment its Draft Multi-level Marketing and Scheme of Pyramid Selling Sections 55 and 55.1 of the Competition Act information bulletin. The final bulletin was released in April 2009.


In the enforcement area, we saw, among other things, activity relating to performance claims. Under the Competition Act, performance claims must be based on adequate and proper tests conducted prior to the making of the representations. Competition Tribunal proceedings in 2008 relating to performance claims included:

  • The Commissioner of Competition v. Imperial Brush Co. Ltd. and Kel Kem Ltd. (C.O.B. as Imperial Manufacturing Group) – decided by the Tribunal. Note that, in this case, paragraph 74.01(1)(b) of the Competition Act (which deals with statements, warranties or guarantees of performance, efficacy or length of life of a product, not based on adequate or proper tests), was upheld as constitutional (as a justifiable limit on infringement of freedom of expression) and the respondents were found to have failed to conduct proper and adequate tests and thus to have engaged in reviewable conduct.
  • The Commissioner of Competition v. Premier Career Management Group Corp. and Minto Roy - decided by the Tribunal. In this case, the Tribunal held that oral representations made one-on-one to many people were not representations "to the public" (as representations were not accessible to the marketplace); and thus the Commissioner's application was dismissed. The Commissioner has appealed the Tribunal's decision to the Federal Court of Appeal.

"Made In Canada" Guidelines For Food Labelling

Last year, the Government released a discussion paper proposing new guidelines to redefine what the terms "Product of Canada" and "Made in Canada" mean when used in food labelling and advertising. The guidelines are, among other things, primarily intended to avoid misleading claims and used by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency to ensure compliance with laws against false and misleading representations. For further information on these guidelines, see our previous bulletins Changes Proposed to "Made in Canada" Food Advertising Guidelines, online:, and New "Made in Canada" Labelling Rules Effective January 1, 2009, online: The revised guidelines became effective on December 31, 2008.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.