Canada: Report Of Competition Policy Review Panel, July 2008

On June 26, 2008, the Competition Policy Review Panel delivered its 134-page report entitled Compete to Win to the Honourable Jim Prentice, the federal Industry Minister. The contents of the Report are thorough - the recommendations in the Report are far-reaching. If the Canadian government has the political will to enact these recommendations, the results will seek to raise Canada's overall economic performance through greater competition [which] will provide Canadians with a higher standard of living.


Canada's position in a competitive world has been slipping. In the last ten years or so, Canada's true competitive performance has been masked by strong economic performance measured by budget surpluses, falling unemployment, significant job creation, low rates of inflation, falling interest rates and the like. Yet, Canadians have been worried about the current economic outlook and, on balance, are less confident about the future.

Against this backdrop, the so-called Competition Policy Review Panel was created on July 12, 2007 by the federal Ministers of Industry and Finance. The Panel, formed by five prominent members of Canada's business community, was instructed to review Canada's competition and foreign investment policies and to make recommendations to the Industry Minister with a view to making Canada more competitive in the global marketplace. The panel distributed a consultation paper entitled Sharpening Canada's Competitive Edge in October 2007 in which many questions were posed and to which submissions were invited. The Panel received in excess of 150 submissions and reviewed international best practices with officials of the United States, Australia, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and the European Union. In addition, leading officials from many stakeholders met with the Panel during the first quarter of 2008. The Report synthesizes the views of many Canadians and draws upon the considerable experience of the Panel members.


The Report contains 65 recommendations for change. A number of these recommendations deal with removing legislative barriers contained within the Investment Canada Act (the "IC Act") and the Competition Act (Canada) (the "Competition Act").

IC Act

By way of background, the Foreign Investment Review Act (Canada) ("FIRA") is federal legislation which was enacted in part on the premise that the control of Canada industry, trade and commerce ...acquired by [non-] Canadians a matter of national concern. FIRA came into force in 1974 during the Trudeau government, the economic policies of which favoured protectionism as a paternalistic umbrella to foster economic growth. FIRA was replaced by the IC Act in 1985 following years of arbitrary and lack of transparent decision-making by the Canadian Cabinet with respect to proposals by foreign investors to acquire Canadian businesses or to establish new Canadian businesses. While the IC Act heralded change, change was gradual and dependent in part in the succeeding years on the adoption by Canada of the Free Trade Agreement with the United States (1989), the North American Free Trade Agreement with the United States and Mexico (1993) and the adherence to the principles of the World Trade Organization (1994). Still, the claim that Canada was open for business was profoundly criticized by foreign investors and the OECD alike.

Further changes to the IC Act are coming. The Industry Minister announced on October 9, 2007 that the IC Act will be amended to create a review for transactions that raise national security concerns. This change will reintroduce the national security concept which first appeared in Bill C-59 (June 20, 2005), legislation which died when Parliament was later prorogued. The Report builds on this proposal and recommends a further set of changes to the IC Act which will further reduce barriers to foreign investment by:

  • easing the review threshold (currently set at $295 million respecting a target's gross assets) to an enterprise value test beginning at $1 billion, with further indexation to account for inflation;

  • treating the transportation sector, non-federally regulated financial services and the uranium mining sector in the same fashion as other Canadian businesses (to date, these sectors have been protected by lower thresholds under the IC Act);

  • changing the review standard from net benefit to Canada by shifting the onus to the relevant minister to prove that a transaction would be contrary to Canada's national interest before disallowing any transaction;

  • no longer requiring a notification process to Industry Canada for non-reviewable investments;

  • while cultural businesses would generally not receive the benefit of the proposed changes, allowing cultural business activities that are ancillary to a core business (revenues equal to the lesser of $10 million or 10% of gross revenues of the overall business) not be considered as a separate cultural business to be subjected to mandatory review by the Department of Canadian Heritage.

Competition Act

In 1986, Canada welcomed the Competition Act as an overhaul to the Combines Investigation Act, many of the provisions of which had their origins in the Criminal Code. The then legislative change recognized that, in a modern economy, many business behaviours were better handled through a civil, review process rather than by enforcing criminal sanctions to all such behaviour. Gone were the criminal sanctions attaching to monopolies and mergers. The cornerstones of the new legislation became conspiracy, mergers and abuse of dominance, the latter two provisions of which would be handled in a civil fashion. In 1987, a merger notification regime was adopted, a process which currently allows the Commissioner of Competition and the Competition Bureau to be given sufficient opportunity to consider the anti-competitive effects of various classes of large transactions. A number of changes have been made since 1986 and 1987 which have further modernized the Competition Act. However, concern has been expressed about the barriers which the size and time parameters of the notification process create for businesses to effect transactions, especially against the backdrop of how other countries deal with the same issues. In addition, there have been widespread views expressed that the criminal provisions of the Competition Act dealing with conspiracies and pricing issues should be further modernized to bring Canada's response to these issues more into line with those of the U.S. and other countries.

As a result, the Report recommends changes to the Competition Act including the following:

  • changing the time process for merger notification to require the Competition Bureau to review any notified merger within 30 days or, at worst, within a second stage 30-day period following the submission of second request information, not unlike the U.S. process;

  • changing the post-closing limitation period from 3 years to 1 year within which the Commissioner may challenge a completed merger;

  • repealing the current criminal provisions relating to price discrimination, promotional allowances and predatory pricing (as was proposed by Bill C-19 introduced on November 2, 2004, which legislation died when Parliament was prorogued);

  • replacing the existing conspiracy sections which contain a competitive effects test (unduly preventing or lessening competition) with a per se criminal test to deal with hard core cartels (as originally recommended in April 2002 by the House of Commons Standing Committee in a report entitled A Plan to Modernize Canada's Competition Regime);

  • replacing the existing criminally sanctioned resale price maintenance provisions with a civil, reviewable process;

  • allowing the Competition Tribunal to order administrative monetary penalties not exceeding $5 million for violations of the abuse of dominant position provisions;

  • requesting that the Industry Minister should examine whether to increase the financial thresholds requiring merger notification;

  • requesting that the Industry Minister should examine the creation of additional classes of transactions to be exempt from merger notification.


The above recommendations by the Panel represent good suggestions for change. Clearly Canada must continue to reduce legislative and non-legislative barriers alike to allow business to flourish in a more competitive landscape. The true test however will follow: does Canada's minority government have the political will to effect these much-needed changes?

Time will tell.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.