Canada: The Timing Of Major Energy Project Reviews

In recent years the timeline to complete Canadian regulatory reviews of proposed major projects – and particularly environmental assessments which are the key part of the project review process – has become a major political issue. Over the last decade or so, project proponents have consistently raised concerns about the speed and unpredictability of the results of project review processes –principally at the federal level.1

Complaints have also been made, and lawsuits have been commenced, by opponents of those projects including environmental groups, First Nations bands, and other interested parties alleging procedural and other flaws in the project review process – again principally but not exclusively at the federal level.

In response to these concerns and complaints, and given the significant impact of these projects on the economy, the Canadian federal government, in June 2016, directed the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change to "immediately review Canada's environmental assessment processes to regain public trust and help get resources to market".

Motivated by many of the same concerns, we undertook a survey of the timelines to review major energy projects – those with estimated CAPEX of $1 billion or more (the "Project Survey") for a presentation to the Canadian Energy Law Foundation in 2016.2

The Project Survey covered the timelines for major energy project reviews at the federal and/or provincial levels which were completed from and after January 1, 2010 or which were substantially underway as of the effective date of the Project Survey, in June 2016. The Project Survey measured the time between the filing of a project description or equivalent and the issuance of a final decision to authorize a project – usually an environmental assessment certificate or equivalent approval. Our detailed results, together with applicable qualifications and disclaimers, are set out in the Project Survey.

We would note at the outset that our Project Survey necessarily involved a relatively small number of projects; that there are judgement calls about which projects should be included and how to measure both the starting and end points, as well as the effective duration, of specific project reviews. The Project Survey provides a set of useful data points to help analyze the timelines for conducting reviews of major energy projects – but at the end of the day it is suggestive and illustrative, not definitive.

Project reviews are complex undertakings and their timing reflects different values and political imperatives in the affected jurisdictions. While there is no clear and incontrovertible standard by which to judge or evaluate how long the review of a major project should take, our preliminary analysis showed some evidence that various Canadian provincial and US federal project review processes could reasonably be expected to conclude within a 24 (+/-6) month range – so a range of between 18 to 30 months – after the filing of a project description.3 Canadian federal project reviews have tended to take longer: some analysis has suggested between 24 to 36 months4 and at one point the Canadian federal government suggested their project review process generally lasted about four years.5

Our Project Survey did indeed support the view that there were distinct differences between the timelines for project reviews at the Canadian federal level and those at the provincial level.

Federal timelines for major energy project reviews were as follows:

Project Category Federal
Timeline
(months)
Range Average
Pipelines (4) 43-104 70
Oil Sands (2) 70-77 74
LNG (1) 42 42
Generation (5) 35-68 49
Transmission (2) 19-57 38

Provincial timelines for major energy project reviews were as follows:

Project Category Provincial
Timeline
(months)
Range Average
Pipelines (3) 17-24 21
Oil Sands (7) 20-50 33
LNG (2) 27-28 28
Generation (4) 14-30 22
Transmission (3) 14-21 18

The differences between federal and provincial timelines were thrown into even sharper contrast when we looked at the longest review processes, as shown below:

Project Project
Category
Timeline
(months)
Review
Process
Northern Gateway Pipeline 104 Federal (Review Panel)
Mackenzie Gas Pipeline 77 Federal (Review Panel)
Jackpine Expansion Oil Sands 77 Joint (Review Panel)
Joslyn North Mine Oil Sands 70 Joint (Review Panel)
Darlington New Nuclear Power
Generation
68 Federal (Review Panel)
Labrador-Island Link Transmission 57 Federal/Nfld
Energy East Pipeline 546 Federal (NEB)
Trans-Mountain Expansion Pipeline 436 Federal (NEB)

While we would be cautious about reaching firm conclusions from a relatively limited sample size, nonetheless the data from the Project Survey was at least consistent with the following:

  1. Federal timelines for major energy project reviews have generally been longer than 36 months and many have been substantially longer.
  2. The mandatory timelines introduced in the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 have not yet materially reduced federal timelines for major energy project reviews, at least not consistently down to a 24 (+/-6) month range – though the sample size for these types of project reviews is so far extremely limited.
  3. Provincial timelines for major energy project reviews appear both materially shorter and more predictable than federal timelines and fall generally within a 24 (+/-6) month range.

While caution should be exercised to avoid over-interpreting results from a limited number of case studies, the differences in timelines and predictability between the federal and provincial processes are pronounced enough to at least merit further review and consideration as the Canadian federal government weighs the future shape of its project review process.

Footnotes

1. See RIAS Inc. and Gartner Lee Limited; Comparative Analysis of Impacts on Competitiveness of Environmental Assessment Regulations; Ottawa; Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency, 2000); National Resources Canada, Evaluation of the Major Projects Management Office Initiative (Ottawa; NRC, 2012); and House of Commons, Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development; Statutory Review of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act: Protecting the Environment, Managing our Resources (March 2012).See RIAS Inc. and Gartner Lee Limited; Comparative Analysis of Impacts on Competitiveness of Environmental Assessment Regulations; Ottawa; Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency, 2000); National Resources Canada, Evaluation of the Major Projects Management Office Initiative (Ottawa; NRC, 2012); and House of Commons, Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development; Statutory Review of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act: Protecting the Environment, Managing our Resources (March 2012).

2. Kurtis Reed, Bradley Grant, Cameron Anderson and Jonathan Drance; Timing of Canadian Project Approvals: A Survey of Major Projects; (2016) 54:2 Alberta Law Review 311.

3. Selina Lee-Anderson; Peeling Back the Layers of LNG Development – A Primer on the Regulatory Framework; McCarthy Tetrault (November 28, 2013). The estimate for the BCEAO process was between 18 to 24 months, depending upon technical complexity and consultation requirements.

4. Paul Performak, Congressional Research Service (R43138); Interstate Natural Gas Pipelines: Process and Timing of FERC Permit Application Review (January 16, 2015). Prior studies of FERC project review of interstate natural gas pipelines took an average of 18.6 months from initial filing to completion and the longest had taken 30 months (p.8). Also, there are numerous deadlines in US federal legislation relating to project reviews of major energy projects. Most were consistent with a total regulatory review period of between 18 to 30 months; none was longer than 36 months. (Appendix 1).

5. Cabinet Directive on Improving the Performance of the Regulatory System for Major Resource Projects (Government of Canada; 2007) at 7: "Parties will strive to achieve the commitments in Budget 2007 to cut in half the average regulatory review period for large natural resource projects, from four years to about two years..."

6. Calculations of applicable timelines were all current as of the date of the Project Survey in June 2016. The timelines for certain specific projects, including Trans-Mountain Expansion and Energy East, were estimated and where the project review process was not complete those results are shown in the tables, all as set out in the Project Survey. Since the Project Survey, the Trans-Mountain Expansion review has in fact been completed substantially as estimated; there is currently no reliable basis to update the estimate with respect to Energy East.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.