Canada: Province Releases Public Consultation Document For OMB Review

On October 5, 2016, the Province released its Public Consultation Document setting out the key themes that will guide its review of the Ontario Municipal Board. The intent of the OMB Review is to consider the scope and effectiveness of the OMB within the land use planning system. The release of the Public Consultation Document responds to the Premier's direction to the Minister of Municipal Affairs in making the OMB Review a top priority, with the intent of introducing legislation to implement reform by spring 2017.1

The Province has identified five key themes to the OMB Review in the Public Consultation Document:

  1. OMB's jurisdiction and powers
  2. Citizen participation and local perspective
  3. Clear and predictable decision-making
  4. Modern procedures and faster decisions
  5. Alternative dispute resolution and fewer hearings

The purpose of this article is to highlight some of the proposed changes under each of these five themes. We will also examine how each of the themes may respond to certain comments received to date from public and stakeholder consultations.

In addition to the Public Consultation Document, the Province intends to host a series of town hall meetings across the Province. Comments on the OMB Review can be submitted to the Province for consideration until December 19, 2016.2

Theme 1: OMB's jurisdiction and powers

One of the most common concerns raised by the public in respect of the OMB relates to the scope of its jurisdiction and powers. The OMB's broad powers, while unusually extensive compared to other jurisdictions, are consistent with the wording of its enabling legislation.3 The concerns raised generally fall into two categories: the degree of deference to be granted to local-decision making and the scope of planning disputes to be brought before the OMB.

The Province has already limited the scope of appeals that the OMB may consider through changes to the Planning Act under Bill 73.4 However, the Public Consultation Document suggests that the Province will be considering additional measures to further limit the OMB's jurisdiction and powers:

  • Limiting appeals on matters which the Province has deemed are of public interest (e.g. prohibiting certain appeals to Provincial decisions on new official plans or proposed official plan amendments) and that support provincially funded transit infrastructure;
  • Limiting the type of appeals and nature of evidence that can be considered by the OMB (e.g. by imposing a two-year moratorium to appeals of new secondary plans, prohibiting appeals to interim control by-laws and directing the OMB to send significant new information back to municipal council for re-evaluation);
  • Giving more weight to municipal and provincial decisions by requiring the OMB to test such decisions on a standard of reasonableness, or by raising the "threshold test" that must be met before the OMB can overturn such decisions; and
  • Providing further direction as to when planning decisions should be based on provincial/municipal planning documents in effect at the time of the decision, as opposed to when the application was made (e.g. abolishing the Clergy principle).

The proposed changes appear to respond in part to comments raised by municipalities that have identified the dangers of allowing a single appellant to hold back a comprehensive municipally-initiated planning process. For example, the Final Report issued by the Regional Planning Commissioners of Ontario (RPCO) noted that "considerable weight" should be given to municipal decisions in determining any matters under appeal and that there should be circumstances where appeals to municipally-initiated official plans should not be permitted.5

Theme 2: Citizen participation and local perspective

OMB hearings are becoming more complex and costly for its participants. To encourage citizen engagement at the local level, the Province will be considering additional public resources to assist unrepresented parties in land use planning disputes.

Examples being canvassed by the Province include:

  • Expanding the Citizen Liaison Office (CLO) with additional staff to respond to public requests for information, or reconfiguring the CLO (i.e. moving it out of the Environmental and Land Tribunals Ontario) so that it may include in-house planning experts and lawyers; and
  • Exploring funding tools to help citizens retain planning experts and/or lawyers.

The cost of OMB proceedings, particularly the threat of cost orders, is obviously a concern that may cause a "chilling effect" to local participation. However, cost awards are rarely imposed by the OMB.6 In this author's view, it is the multi-layered and multi-faceted nature of planning law and the lack of readability of planning documents that act as the initial barrier against local participation. Complexity in process demands parties to retain planners, lawyers and other consultants to interpret Provincial policy. To this end, the Province's attempt at making Provincial plans more consistent and readable through the Co-ordinated Land Use Planning Review may arguably serve as a more effective solution in reducing such costs.

Theme 3: Clear and predictable decision-making

Another issue that the Province intends to address is the consistency and predictability of OMB decisions. The potential solutions identified require significantly greater public funding and resources than that currently allocated to the land use planning system. Such examples include:

  • Increasing the number of OMB adjudicators and expanding the training required for adjudicators; and
  • Requiring multi-member panels to conduct complex hearings, or possibly all hearings.

The need for more OMB adjudicators is echoed in earnest by the municipal law bar. This request is particularly timely given the number of seasoned adjudicators that will be forced to retire due to the ten-year appointment limitation this year.7 Increased compensation for highly qualified adjudicators is also required to attract top-tier private planning consultants, senior municipal planners and respected legal counsel to serve as future members of the OMB.8

Theme 4: Modern procedures and faster decisions

The Province has identified that it intends to shift the focus from adversarial OMB hearings towards adjudication that will be less complex, more accessible to the public and may result in faster decision-making.

To address this theme, the Province has identified the following potential measures:

  • Promoting "active adjudication" to encourage adjudicators to scope issues, question witnesses and in cases address inequalities between parties;
  • Allowing hearings (and not just motions) to be conducted in writing;9 and
  • Setting clear rules for both the hearing process and the decision-making itself (e.g. limiting the maximum days for hearing, setting clear rules for issues lists and time limits for when decisions must be issued).

Both the public and private sectors have called for more effective case management tools and faster decision making. The OMB has responded in part by requiring appellants to scope appeals and requiring non-appellants to shelter under a valid appeal. However, such concepts are not based on legislative requirements but case law. Accordingly, they may be subject to challenge and interpretation on a case-by-case basis. To respond to the request for faster decisions, the OMB must also be provided with (or encouraged to include in its Rules of Practice and Procedure) robust procedural tools to achieve timely results.

Theme 5: Alternative dispute resolution and fewer hearings

Finally, the Province intends on avoiding a formal appeal process where possible. Bill 73 already permits municipalities to initiate a mediation process for certain appeals in advance of forwarding the record to the OMB; likewise, mediation is championed by the Province as an alternative approach to resolve land use planning disputes.

To this end, the Province will be considering the following changes:

  • Requiring mandatory mediation prior to scheduling a hearing;
  • Allowing government mediators to be available at all times during an application process (e.g. even before an application arrives at municipal council); and
  • Setting timelines and targets for case management including mediation.

Mandatory mediation is a concept that has been requested by both the public and private sectors, although the recommended implementation measures may differ.10 From this author's perspective, the promotion of mediation and alternative dispute resolution must not undermine (or replace) the OMB's ability to adjudicate effectively and arrive at timely decisions. As noted by Associate Chair Wilson Lee, "the mediation and adjudicative wings of the Board are the two wings of a healthy eagle. If the adjudicative wing is broken, such a bird will not be able to soar above the surly bonds of earth."11

From a practical perspective, and recognizing that OMB hearings are becoming more litigious, the requirement for mandatory mediation brings this practice in line with the Rules of Civil Procedure as they apply to most civil actions in Toronto, Ottawa and Windsor. However, the mandatory mediation process is highly structured under the Rules and is implemented through the local mediation coordinator and the Mandatory Mediation Program.12 It is important to note that such measures, if implemented at the OMB level, are not without cost (both in time and money) to the land use planning system and its participants.

Note: This article was originally published in the Ontario Bar Association's Municipal Law Section Newsletter on October 12, 2016.

Footnotes

1. Premier Kathleen Wynne, "September 2016 Mandate letter: Municipal Affairs" issued to Minister Bill Mauro on September 23, 2016.

2. For details see the Province's webpage on the OMB Review.

3. See Sections 34 to 38 of the Ontario Municipal Board Act. Also refer to the numerous appeal rights for various planning instruments under the provisions of the Planning Act.

4. See p. 16 of the Public Consultation Document for a brief summary of matters that cannot be appealed to the OMB, including those matters that can no longer be appealed following Bill 73.

5. The RPCO have requested that the Province remove the right to appeal all municipal-initiated official plans or official plan amendments in defined circumstances — for example, a land owner should not be permitted to appeal policies as they apply to the full geographical area of the municipality (or a substantial area of the municipality for a secondary plan). See the Final Report issued by the Regional Planning Commissioners of Ontario, "Reforming the Ontario Municipal Board: Five Actions for Change" dated August 31, 2016 ("RPCO Final Report") at p. 14 and 20.

6. See Kimvar Enterprises Inc. v. Innisfil (Town), [2009] O.M.B.D. No. 33, 55 M.P.L.R. (4th) 305 at para 43.

7. Section 3.2.2 of the Province's Agencies & Appointments Directive (effective September 1, 2006) limits the term of appointment for an adjudicative tribunal to a maximum of ten years in total. Re-appointment to a further additional term beyond the maximum of ten years in total may only be made in "exceptional circumstances in the public interest."

8. As noted in the RPCO Final Report, "the current remuneration offered to Board members does not reflect the impact that Board decisions have on the planning system in the Province." See the RPCO Final Report at p. 25.

9. Rule 36 of the OMB Rules of Practice and Procedure (last amended September 3, 2013) permit parties to bring a motion before a hearing in writing and the OMB to direct certain motions to be held in writing.

10. See the RPCO Final Report at p. 27 and the Ontario Home Builders' Association, "Land Use Planning and Appeals System: Response to the Consultation Document" dated January 2014 at p. 24.

11. Associate Chair S. Wilson Lee, "Mediation and the OMB", The Six Minute Municipal Lawyer 2016 as presented on May 4, 2016.

12. See Rule 24.1 of the Rules of Civil Procedure.

About BLG

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.