Canada: Performance Reviews: Check-Ups Keep Regulators Running In Top Condition

Last Updated: October 10 2016
Article by Jason Kully

What is a performance review?

A "performance review," also known as a "third-party review," is a rigorous, in-depth assessment of the regulatory performance of an organization by an independent and objective outside body. A performance review can be conducted on all of an organization's regulatory processes or, alternatively, a more targeted process can be used to review selected regulatory processes such as discipline or registration.

In essence, a performance review is a "regulatory check-up" focusing on what is working well in the organization, what is not working well, and where improvements can be made. A performance review typically culminates in a number of recommendations that can be implemented by the regulatory organization to improve performance.

How is a performance review conducted?

The general approach used for a performance review is for the reviewer to identify a specific set of criteria, which are believed to be indicators of "good regulation," and then to work with the organization in gathering a substantial amount of information and evidence on the organization's practices. Depending on the scope of the review, this could include all of the information publicly available including on the organization's website, sample complaint investigations, registration decisions, complaint hearing documents and processes, and all of the organization's policies and procedure manuals. The available evidence and information is then compared to the criteria to determine if the criteria have been met by the organization.

An alternative approach sometimes used is for the reviewer to look at the evidence and information it has gathered and to assess if any problems can be identified based on an analysis of the information, which is performed while keeping general concepts of good regulation, such as fairness and transparency, in mind.

A variety of different indicators, assessment criteria, "best practices," or concepts of good regulation have been used to measure the performance of a regulatory organization. Although there are different methodologies used in performance reviews and each methodology offers its own strengths and weaknesses, what is common to any review is that it provides the regulatory organization the benefit of assessing its performance in relation to an established and objective benchmark.

Where have performance reviews occurred and who has been engaged in them?

Performance reviews are common in the United Kingdom where the Professional Standards Authority, the initial promoters of "right touch regulation," provides oversight of nine statutory bodies that regulate health and social care professionals in the United Kingdom. The Professional Standards Authority regularly reviews the performance of each of the regulators, providing recommendations for improvement where appropriate.1

In Canada, although performance reviews have been used in a few different contexts, they remain relatively rare. On occasion governments have ordered performance reviews where there have been potential concerns about regulatory performance and governments want an objective source of information before considering policy decisions that could affect the regulator.2 There are also some statutorily mandated reviews such as the oversight provided by the Fairness Commissioner in some provinces.

Finally, there have been a few regulatory organizations that have initiated reviews as a performance enhancement tool. For example, the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario, the College of Registered Nurses of British Columbia, and the Ontario College of Teachers have had regulatory reviews conducted.3 Similarly, the Real Estate Council of Alberta recently engaged Field Law to conduct a review of its regulatory performance.4

Why is a performance review valuable?

Performance reviews reflect a commitment by an organization to continuous learning and improvement, things which are fundamental to any regulated individuals practice. A review also assists in ensuring that regulatory organizations are fully protecting and promoting the public interest.

There is value in an organization being able to measure itself against objective criteria. This includes identifying the criteria that are being met. This helps regulatory organizations, their members and the public recognize that while perceived deficiencies are a matter of concern, they are typically the exception rather than the norm. A review that indicates that an organization is performing well in the majority of its roles and duties promotes confidence from its members, the public, and other interested stakeholders.

Similarly, there is value in pro-actively identifying areas in which improvement is needed or in which substantial overhaul is necessary. Risk assessment is becoming of increased importance for regulatory organizations and a performance review is an unmatched risk assessment tool.

When an issue that needs improvement is identified, the regulatory organization can take steps to address the issue before a member of the public or a member of the profession suffers negative consequences as a result. Confidence in the organization is promoted when an issue is identified and corrected without complaint. Even if the issue is corrected without public notice, any potential loss of confidence in the organization due to a negative consequence is pro-actively eliminated. There is real benefit in identifying and eliminating an ailment prior to the appearance of symptoms.

Further, if a substantial concern such as regulatory non-compliance is identified, the organization can take immediate steps to address the concern. This would eliminate the potential for decisions or processes to be challenged due to non-compliance and would eliminate the potential need to repeat the process or to make the decision again, thereby preventing the wasting of time and resources.

More to come in the future

Although some performance reviews have been initiated in Canada, they remain uncommon. However, we predict that in the years to come, such reviews will become much more common as regulatory organizations and governments come to appreciate the benefits of a rigorous review of regulatory performance and the pro-active identification of issues and concerns.

For more details on what a performance review looks like, what kind of information is gathered, and what kind of recommendations are made, the performance review carried out by Field Law for the Real Estate Council of Alberta can be reviewed by clicking here.


1. Professional Standards Authority, "Annual Report and Accounts and Performance Review Report 2014/2015".

2. For example, see Donald J. Avison, "A College Divided: Report of the Fact Finder on the BC College of Teachers", October 2010; PWC, "Operational Review and Audit of the College of Denturists of Ontario", March 8, 2012; Dr. Dennis Kendel, "For the Sake of Students: Current and Future Teacher Regulation in the Province of Saskatchewan", September 2013.

3. Professional Standards Authority, "A review conducted for the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario", June 2013; Professional Standards Authority, "A review conducted for the College of Registered Nurses of British Columbia", April 2016; The Honourable Patrick J. LeSage, "Review of the Ontario College of Teachers Intake, Investigation, and Discipline Procedures and Outcomes and the Dispute Resolution Program", May 2012.

4. Field Law, "Regulatory Performance Review of the Real Estate Council of Alberta", April 4, 2016.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.