Canada: Deposit Insurance Review: Improving The Current Framework

On September 16, 2016, Canada's Department of Finance (Finance Canada) published for comment the Deposit Insurance Review (Consultation Paper). The Consultation Paper ensues from the Budget 2014 announcement of the launch of a comprehensive review of Canada's deposit insurance framework to ensure that the framework provides adequate protection for the savings of Canadians. The consultation period runs until November 30, 2016, and written comments can be submitted here.

The deposit insurance review is guided by three broad policy objectives:

  1. Protect depositors: The deposit insurance framework should protect depositors by ensuring that it provides an adequate scope and level of coverage
  2. Support financial stability: The deposit insurance framework should contribute to the stability of the financial system in Canada and act as a disincentive for bank runs to develop
  3. Promote efficient and competitive financial services: The deposit insurance framework should encourage market discipline and should not act as an impediment to competition

The Consultation Paper notes that, overall, the current framework administered by the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC) meets the above objectives and therefore no major changes are required. In particular, it concludes that the existing coverage limit of C$100,000 per eligible deposit category remains appropriate.

On August 26, 2016, Finance Canada published a consultation paper entitled Supporting a Strong and Growing Economy: Positioning Canada's Financial Sector for the Future, which is vague on specific proposals for amendments to the legislative or regulatory framework of the federal financial sector (see our August 2016 Blakes Bulletin: Canada's Financial Sector: Legislation for the Future). Unlike that consultation paper, this one contains a number of detailed proposals that could improve the current deposit insurance framework. The federal government is soliciting feedback on a number of specific questions relating to those proposals.

The three areas that the Consultation Paper has identified as meriting consideration are: streamlining deposit categories; updating the scope of eligible deposits; and addressing the complexity of trusts. The specific proposals in respect of each area are outlined below.


Mortgage Tax Accounts: Under the current framework, deposits held in mortgage tax accounts are classified as a distinct insured deposit category. However, given the decline in the use of mortgage tax accounts, the government is considering eliminating this category. Funds held in these accounts could still receive coverage under another eligible deposit category, but would no longer have a separate $100,000 coverage limit.

On this point, the Consultation Paper poses the following question: What are your views on removing the mortgage tax account as a deposit category?

Registered Products: Currently, only Registered Retirement Savings Plans, Registered Retirement Income Funds and Tax-Free Savings Accounts are treated as separate categories of eligible deposits, while other registered products such as Registered Education Savings Plans (RESPs) and Registered Disability Savings Plans (RDSPs) are included in the more general trust or individual coverage categories.

The government is considering adding two new eligible deposit categories for RESPs and RDSPs to ensure that each registered product is equally covered up to the C$100,000 limit. As an alternative, the government is considering creating a separate category with a higher limit that includes all registered products, however, the Consultation Paper notes that this introduction of multiple limits would add a layer of complexity to the existing framework.

On this point, the Consultation Paper poses the following question: What are your views on adding RESPs and RDSPs as new deposit categories or the amalgamation of all registered products into one deposit category?


Traveller's Cheques: Although traveller's cheques are currently classified as an eligible deposit, CDIC member institutions no longer issue these instruments and instead offer third-party traveller's cheques that are not covered by deposit insurance. The government is therefore considering simply removing traveller's cheques from the types of eligible deposits.

On this point, the Consultation Paper poses the following question: What are your views on removing traveller's cheques as eligible deposits?

Products with Terms Greater than Five Years: Under the current framework, only term deposits with original terms to maturity of five years or less are classified as eligible deposits. However, in recent years, the popularity of term deposits, including Guaranteed Investment Certificates, with periods longer than five years has risen. The government is considering removing the five-year limit for this type of deposit to better reflect current trends.

On this point, the Consultation Paper poses the following questions:

  • What are your views on extending deposit insurance coverage to term deposits with terms of maturity greater than five years?
  • Should there be a maximum term?

Foreign Currency Deposits: Under the current framework, only deposits held in Canadian currency are eligible deposits. However, given that foreign currency deposits are widely held by Canadians, the government is considering extending the scope of eligible deposits to include foreign currencies. The Consultation Paper notes that this would significantly increase CDIC's exposure.

On this point, the Consultation Paper poses the following questions:

  • What are your views on the inclusion of foreign currency as an eligible deposit?
  • Should only certain foreign currencies be insured? If so, which currencies should be covered and why?

Temporary High Balances: The government is considering extending coverage to temporary high balances that may result when a natural person transitions through a major life event (such as the sale of a home). The Consultation Paper notes several challenges in implementing this coverage that would increase the CDIC's exposure and add complexity to the current structure. These include differentiating between personal and corporate depositors and the necessity of adjusting coverage to meet shifting external factors.

On this point, the Consultation Paper poses the following questions:

  • What are your views on extending deposit insurance coverage to include temporary high balances?
  • If you would like to see coverage extended to temporary high balances, which transactions would you propose be covered (e.g. real estate, insurance settlement, inheritance)? How would these transactions be identified? What would be the appropriate definition of "temporary" (e.g. 45 days, 90 days, 180 days)?


Disclosure Requirements: Currently, trusts are a deposit insurance category that allows each beneficiary to receive separate coverage of up to C$100,000, subject to the trustee providing and updating specified information about the trust for inclusion on the CDIC member institution's records. However, trustees are not required to provide beneficiary information on a regular basis and the CDIC member institutions are not required to report this information to the CDIC. In addition, certain professional trusts are exempted from disclosing beneficiary information.

Given the importance of beneficiary information to the accuracy and speed of deposit insurance payouts, the government is seeking views on how to improve the quality of the information available to CDIC.

Brokered Deposits: The Consultation Paper considers two types of brokered deposits. The first is where the broker acts as agent and the amount deposited is considered part of the client's C$100,000 limit in the individual category of deposit insurance. The second is where the broker acts as trustee and the client is the beneficiary of the amount deposited. In the latter case, the broker may be reluctant to provide beneficiary information to the CDIC member institutions who are potential competitors of the broker. The government is considering ways to improve disclosure so that beneficiaries of brokered trustee deposits retain their coverage.

On the above two points, the Consultation Paper poses the following questions:

  • In your view, how can the quality of beneficiary information be improved?
  • In your view, how should brokered deposits be treated under the deposit insurance framework?
  • Are beneficiaries aware of the consequences of their broker not providing beneficiary information?
  • Are the reporting and record keeping requirements for professional trusts clear?


One important issue that the Consultation Paper fails to address is that, in order to qualify as an eligible deposit, the deposit must be received or held by the CDIC member institution "in the usual course of the deposit-taking business of the institution". This is one of the most difficult elements to interpret under the current framework and the Consultation Paper does not propose to clarify it. In particular, while the review aims to evaluate the types of financial products that are covered to ensure that Canada's deposit insurance framework remains relevant in today's marketplace, as we continue to move further away from deposits taken over the counter in a physical location, failure to address this issue may leave a gap in coverage that will not be clear to customers.


As noted above, the consultation period runs until November 30, 2016 and written comments can be submitted here.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Events from this Firm
27 Oct 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Please join members of the Blakes Commercial Real Estate group as they discuss five key provisions of a commercial real estate purchase agreement that are often the subject of much negotiation but are sometimes misunderstood.

1 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

What is the emotional culture of your organization?

Every organization and workplace has an emotional culture that can have an impact on everything from employee performance to customer or client satisfaction.

3 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Join leading lawyers from the Blakes Pensions, Benefits & Executive Compensation group as they discuss recent updates and legal developments in pension and employee benefits law as well as strategies to identify and minimize common risks.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.