Canada: The Great Debate, Part II: More People Appointed To Review Proposed Trans Mountain Expansion Project

In January 2016, I wrote an article about the commencement of the new federal government's promised review of its environmental assessment process. Given that the existing process has been an issue that has seriously divided Canadians — and is of clear national importance — a review seemed timely. Then, nothing happened. 

On May 17, 2016, the Minister of Natural Resources (Minister) announced the appointment of his long-awaited "Ministerial Representative" on the Trans Mountain expansion project. Unfortunately, this announcement doesn't provide much insight on the government's long-term plans. However, it appears that the government is content to continue its current approach of imposing additional requirements on project proponents on an interim and ad hoc basis.


On January 27, 2016, the new Liberal government announced its review of the existing statutory federal environmental assessment process. That process had been put in place by the previous Conservative government and became a lightning rod for a national debate that appears to have been one of the reasons that the Liberals won the election.

At the same time, the government announced the principles that would apply to projects that were then being assessed under the existing process.

Finally, the government announced particular measures for certain projects, including that it would appoint a "Ministerial Representative" for the Trans Mountain project to engage communities, including Indigenous communities potentially affected by the project, seek their views and report back to the Minister.  


The Minister has now appointed a "Ministerial Panel" as his representatives (rather than one representative as suggested in January), which includes Kim Baird, former chief of the Tsawwassen First Nation; Annette Trimbee, president and vice-chancellor of the University of Winnipeg; and Tony Penikett, a former premier of the Yukon.

The panel is supposed to create further opportunities for people from potentially affected communities close to the proposed pipeline and shipping route to provide their views on the project. The dialogue is to be guided by the priorities of those communities and is not intended to redo the National Energy Board's review of the project. Indigenous groups will be invited to engage with the panel; however, this engagement will not substitute the Crown's "deep and meaningful" consultations with Indigenous Peoples.

Officially, the panel's mandate is to complement the National Energy Board's environmental assessment and regulatory review, and to identify whether there are any additional views that could be relevant to the government's final decision. In order to provide the best advice, the panel is supposed to:

  • Review and consider input from the public via an online portal
  • Meet with local stakeholder representatives in communities along the pipeline and shipping route
  • Meet with Indigenous groups who wish to share their views with the panel
  • Submit a report to the Minister no later than November 1, 2016.

The Minister has committed to making this report public. The government must make a decision on the Trans Mountain project by December 2016, a date that has already been extended by the current government.


Don't Hold Your Breath for a New Federal Process

On December 4, 2015, the new government said in its speech from the throne that it would introduce new environmental assessment processes. Apparently, in hindsight, the introduction of new processes shouldn't be confused with the introduction of new laws that would be required to address and codify changes to the existing legislated environmental assessment process. For those waiting for any certainty on what the future Canadian environmental assessment process and requirements will be, you will have to continue to wait.

In the Meantime, There Will Be Increased Uncertainty

For now, the government appears content to continue imposing additional requirements on an interim and ad hoc basis. This may be expedient from a political perspective. From a policy perspective, it can be argued that some flexibility needs to be part of a robust environmental assessment process. However, the more measures that the government imposes on a project — measures that somehow have to work as a cohesive legal whole against the backdrop of an existing legislated process — have to create additional risk and uncertainty.

What the Government's Actions Tell Us About its Future Plans

At least two of the government's five principles to guide its review of the existing federal process are focused on a greater role of the public and Indigenous Peoples. Whether or not ministerial panels such as this one become part of the long-term changes to the existing process, the direction of greater involvement of communities and Indigenous groups seems certain; less certain is who these communities and Indigenous groups are. Is it just those located, for example, along the pipeline and shipping route, as appears to be the case here? Ultimately, the government will have to decide this issue as part of its broader review.  

Overall, it appears that I was wrong when I suggested in part I that talking about environmental assessments had become sexy. It appears that talking about environmental assessments during election campaigns is sexier than talking about them afterwards. Regardless, it may still be a good idea to start talking about these some more. 

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Events from this Firm
27 Oct 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Please join members of the Blakes Commercial Real Estate group as they discuss five key provisions of a commercial real estate purchase agreement that are often the subject of much negotiation but are sometimes misunderstood.

1 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

What is the emotional culture of your organization?

Every organization and workplace has an emotional culture that can have an impact on everything from employee performance to customer or client satisfaction.

3 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Join leading lawyers from the Blakes Pensions, Benefits & Executive Compensation group as they discuss recent updates and legal developments in pension and employee benefits law as well as strategies to identify and minimize common risks.

In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.