Canada: 2015 Securities Year In Review

Insight And Analysis On Key Securities Law Developments In 2015
Last Updated: March 24 2016
Article by Amandeep Sandhu and Andjela Vukobrat


Through our annual Securities Year in Review publication we seek to highlight key changes in the capital markets sector, particularly with respect to significant changes in securities laws.

In this respect, 2015 was a notable year for capital markets in Canada with important developments in several areas, including a continuing march towards a national securities regulator, numerous reforms to the exempt market system and notable changes to public disclosure requirements. Although most of the amendments were evolutionary rather than revolutionary, they are nonetheless significant for issuers and other stakeholders and hold promise for certain landmark changes in the future.

As we move into 2016, we continue to regularly monitor securities laws developments. Updates on issues relating to capital markets and corporate law are routinely published by McMillan lawyers on our website.


Move Towards a National Securities Regulator

2015 was marked by a number of noteworthy developments in Canadian securities laws, including a continued push forward by a number of the provinces and the federal government to create a common securities regulatory regime and a uniform Capital Markets Act (CMA). The past year saw various revisions to the draft CMA, including amendments to the regulatory and criminal enforcement provisions, significant proposed amendments to the Canadian takeover bid regime, revisions to the provisions of the CMA pertaining to civil liability for insider trading, and changes to the draft derivatives regulations.

Reforms to Exempt Market System

The past year also saw a number of noteworthy revisions to the exempt market system in Canada, including the introduction of a new existing security holder exemption and a revised rights offering regime designed to streamline and facilitate the rights offering process. Other developments include a series of amendments to the exemptions available to accredited investors and to the minimum amount investment prospectus exemption, as well as changes in Ontario intended to harmonize the exemptions relating to offering memorandums and family, friends and business associates with those of other jurisdictions.

Changes to Disclosure Requirements

Significant changes were announced to disclosure and record keeping requirements with the aim of streamlining disclosures rules for venture issuers as well as improving accountability and transparency in the extractive sector. For venture issuers, changes were made to the disclosure requirements relating to executive compensation, business acquisition reports, and prospectuses. For issuers in the extractive sector, the Extractive Sector Transparency Measures Act came into force. Changes were also made to the TSX Manual to give security holders a vote before their securities were voluntarily delisted.

We also witnessed the introduction of certain proposed legislative changes to disclosure requirements, including the CSA's proposal for a single, harmonized exempt distribution reporting form for all provinces, as well proposed changes to National Instrument 41-101 General Prospectus Requirements pertaining to the disclosure requirements for mutual funds and exchange-traded mutual funds.

Rules for Foreign and Interlisted Issuers

A number of revisions were also made to securities laws applicable to foreign and interlisted issuers. The TSX Company Manual was amended to expand the exemptions available to TSX interlisted issuers, and blanket orders issued in certain Canadian provinces resulted in enhanced relief for certain issuers in connection with obligations under Multilateral Instrument 51-105 Issuers Quoted on the U.S. Over-the-Counter Markets. Additional relief for foreign issuers followed in the form of amendments that reduce the disclosure burden on foreign issuers privately placing securities in Canada by reducing the type of disclosure typically required in a Canadian "wrapper" to an offering document.

The Arrival of Crowdfunding in Canada

Another notable amendment included the creation of a crowdfunding prospectus exemption adopted by certain provinces in the form of Multilateral Instrument 45-108 – Crowdfunding. This exemption provides a legal framework for crowdfunding as a means for early-stage companies to raise capital by balancing the need for fewer disclosure requirements with a continuing commitment to investor protection.

TSX Company Manual – Requirements for Non-Corporate Issues

On September 17, 2015, the TSX amended the TSX Company Manual (the Manual) to codify existing practices of the TSX with respect to listing and other requirements for certain types of non-corporate issuers, namely closed-end funds, exchange traded products (ETPs) and structured products. It also introduced certain which are generally consistent with current Ontario Securities Act requirements for these types of issuers.

Amendments to OTC Derivative Trade Reporting Rules

In late 2015, the Ontario Securities Commission published proposed amendments relating to the regulation of the over-the-counter (OTC) derivatives market in Ontario, Manitoba and Quebec (the MOQ Authorities). In January of 2016, the provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, the Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Nunavut, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan adopted their own rules relating to the regulation of the OTC derivatives market which are substantively harmonized with the OTC derivative trade reporting rules adopted by the MOQ Authorities.

Judicial and Administrative Decisions

The past year witnessed several noteworthy decisions from the courts and securities regulators dealing with a number of interesting subject matters relevant to regulation of the capital markets - from the scope of the public interest authority of securities regulators to the fairness of a plan of arrangement. These notable developments should be of interest to capital markets participants and are discussed below.

Noteworthy Proposed Amendments

In addition to the above noted proposed amendments to disclosure requirements, the past year also witnessed a number of noteworthy proposed amendments, including a proposed Whistleblower Policy by the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC). The Whistleblower Policy is designed to encourage reporting to the OSC of misconduct or possible breaches of Ontario securities laws and would if implemented be the first of its kind among Canadian securities regulators. In early 2015, the CSA also published an update on the proposal for a comprehensive regulatory framework for publicly offered alternative investment funds.

Guidance from Regulatory Authorities

In the past year, several securities regulatory authorities provided useful guidance relating to various matters of importance to capital markets participants, including the following:

CSA: Corporate Governance Disclosure

The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) released a report discussing its review of compliance with the new corporate governance disclosure rules introduced in October 2014, and provided further guidance for issuers on improving compliance.

OSC: Related Party Transaction Reporting

In February 2015, the OSC released a report based on a review of related party transaction disclosure in which it identified disclosure issues and provided guidance to issuers preparing required related party disclosure. While financial and MD&A disclosure met most key disclosure requirements, a number of deficiencies were identified.

IIROC: Underwriting Due Diligence

In December 2014, the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) issued its final guidance regarding due diligence conducted by underwriters on public offerings of securities in Canada. The proposed guidance was originally published by IIROC in March 2014 and was amended to address a number of comments. The final guidance promotes consistency and enhanced standards by setting out the elements of the underwriting due diligence process as well as the types of policies and procedures dealer members need to follow.

CSA: Proxy Voting

The CSA have been engaged in a review of the Canadian voting infrastructure since August 2013. In January of 2015, the CSA issued a report that discusses the progress made to date in their review and outlines next steps. The progress report confirms that the CSA believes the current system to be fragmented and requiring modernization and improvement.

IIROC: Priorities for Upcoming year

In April 2015, IIROC published a Notice setting out its key priorities for the upcoming year, including a list of strategic goals and a comprehensive list of activities and projects it plans to undertake. The Notice is a result of IIROC's efforts to adjust its strategic objectives and priorities in order to better fulfill its regulatory mandate.

ISS: Proxy Voting Guidelines

Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS) released its 2016 Proxy Voting Guidelines Updates for shareholder meetings held in 2016. The Guidelines are a product of ISS' 2015 global policy survey, which solicited the views of investors, companies, and other interested parties with respect to corporate governance issues. Among the topics considered are director overboarding, proxy access, compensation programs and compensation disclosure at externally-managed issuers.

To read this Review in full, please click here.

The foregoing provides only an overview and does not constitute legal advice. Readers are cautioned against making any decisions based on this material alone. Rather, specific legal advice should be obtained.

© McMillan LLP 2016

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Amandeep Sandhu
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.